Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-03-2018, 12:26 PM   #1
noafilm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Belgium
Posts: 742
Default window hides behind edius interface

I just received a error message (I heared the "error beep") when I wanted to export but that message is most likely hiding behind the edius interface and I can't get it to the front so I can click on it, meanwhile the edius interface is completely locked and I can only force quit through ctrl alt del, is there keyboard combo I can use to get a active window that goes into hiding back on top of the edius interface? Thx for any suggestion.
noafilm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2018, 12:37 PM   #2
Barrymore
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 236
Default

Try Alt F4?
Barrymore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2018, 12:40 PM   #3
noafilm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Belgium
Posts: 742
Default

A window popped up but it was a window to shutdown windows, it didn't affect edius.
noafilm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2018, 03:43 PM   #4
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,606
Default

Try Task Manager. You should be ably to identify the error window and close it there.
__________________
Edius WG 9.51.5619, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8.0.5, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2018, 04:09 PM   #5
scroogie
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: italy
Posts: 57
Default

I cannot replicate it with Edius but, generally, Ctrl+Tab shows hidden panels
__________________
_____________________________
sauro
_____________________________
Asus Prime X370-PRO, RYZEN 1800X liquid cooled, 32GB DDR4, Nvidia Dual-GTX1060-O6G, O.S. disk Samsung M.2 250GB, Media disk 1TB SSD, Temp disk 500GB, Edius 8 Pro
on field rough cut: LapTop ASUS N580GD 15,6", i7-8750H (Quick Sync), 16GB DDR4, GTX1050 4GB, 512GB SSD PCIe M.2 + 1TB HD, Edius 8 Pro
scroogie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2018, 05:54 PM   #6
noafilm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Belgium
Posts: 742
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BernH View Post
Try Task Manager. You should be ably to identify the error window and close it there.
But there should be a way to move the active window on top of edius, in this case it was just a warning that it couldn't save the file because it was in use by edius. It is a error message generated by edius but for one or the other reason it sometimes happens that it moves below the edius interface instead of staying active on top.

Quote:
generally, Ctrl+Tab shows hidden panels
I"ll try that next time it happens
noafilm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2018, 10:45 PM   #7
NakedEye
Senior Member
 
NakedEye's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,571
Default

You can try Alt+Tab and work through all open windows.
__________________
Main Editor - Edius 8.53 AdobeCC Mini Monitor 4K Intel X99P SLI Intel Core i7 6800K CPU Gigabyte GTX980 SanDisk Ultra Video SSD 1XINTEL System SSD 16GB Kingston DDR4 2400 RAM VisTitle 2.8 Onboard Sound 10GBE LAN WIN10Pro 64bit

Encoding - Gigabyte Z97X Gaming GT Intel 4790K CPU Gigabyte GTX550Ti Gigabyte GTX980 Western Digital HDD's LG Blu-ray drive, 16GB Kingston DDR3 1600 RAM BMD Mini Monitor 4K Edius 8.53 Creative Cloud Win 10 64bit Pro
www.nakedeyedv.com
NakedEye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2018, 11:51 PM   #8
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,606
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by noafilm View Post
But there should be a way to move the active window on top of edius, in this case it was just a warning that it couldn't save the file because it was in use by edius. It is a error message generated by edius but for one or the other reason it sometimes happens that it moves below the edius interface instead of staying active on top.


I"ll try that next time it happens
Alt-TAB witl cycle programs, CTRL-TAB will often cycle windows of an active program, but you stated that Edius was completely locked up. When a program is completely locked up, terminating it in the task manager or ALT-F4 as Douglas suggested, is often the only soultion. So the question is, Is Edius completely locked up or not?
__________________
Edius WG 9.51.5619, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8.0.5, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2018, 12:36 AM   #9
noafilm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Belgium
Posts: 742
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BernH View Post
Is Edius completely locked up or not?
I explained it wrong, easiest way to explain is if you open edius and export a timeline, when you press f11 you get the "print to file" dialog window on top of the edius interface, when that is open you can click where ever you want on edius, nothing will happen as edius expects you to first close the print to file window, you also will see a small lock icon right next to the mouse Arrow.

That print to file window, or in my case a error message is not visible anymore but still active and I assume it's below the edius interface, because i cannot close that error window the edius interface stays "locked", it has not crashed but it's waiting for me to close the error message which I cannot see or reach.
noafilm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2018, 02:26 AM   #10
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,606
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by noafilm View Post
I explained it wrong, easiest way to explain is if you open edius and export a timeline, when you press f11 you get the "print to file" dialog window on top of the edius interface, when that is open you can click where ever you want on edius, nothing will happen as edius expects you to first close the print to file window, you also will see a small lock icon right next to the mouse Arrow.

That print to file window, or in my case a error message is not visible anymore but still active and I assume it's below the edius interface, because i cannot close that error window the edius interface stays "locked", it has not crashed but it's waiting for me to close the error message which I cannot see or reach.
I can not purposely replicate that situation. The print to file window does not slip behind any other windows, so I am unable to try the standard windows CTRL-TAB approach, or anything else. If it does happen to me I will try to figure it out but at this point I can't cause the problem.
__________________
Edius WG 9.51.5619, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8.0.5, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:21 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.