Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-10-2015, 04:52 PM   #1
Van.harrison
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 56
Default Edius Media Manager

Hey everyone,

Is there a function within Edius to create a new project with only the footage I'm currently using and back it up the way Apple Media Manager does it with FCP?

More info here: Clicky

I know I could make a new project and import sequences and then add the footage to the bin that way, but I'd like to create backups on the HD without having to manually sift through hundreds of files.

Many thanks in advance :)
__________________
Van Harrison
The World's Most Interesting
*Assistant* Video Editor
Van.harrison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 05:14 PM   #2
Rusty
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 3,399
Default

You can try File > Consolidate Project...
While imperfect, it may be worth a try.
__________________
Rusty Rogers | Films
>TYAN S7025 - 32GB RAM, 2 x Xeon X5690's, 4 x 10k video HD's, Win10 x64, BM DecklinkHD, nVidia TITAN, 12TB DroboPro w/iSCISI connection
>RAZER BLADE - QHD+ - 16GB RAM, i7-6700HQ Quad, 512GB SSD, Win10 x64, GeForce GTX 1060 6GB

An inglorious peace is better than a dishonorable war.
Twain - "Glances at History" 1906
Rusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 06:11 PM   #3
Van.harrison
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 56
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rusty View Post
You can try File > Consolidate Project...
While imperfect, it may be worth a try.
That seems to do it. Thank you, sir!
__________________
Van Harrison
The World's Most Interesting
*Assistant* Video Editor
Van.harrison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 08:08 PM   #4
Andreas_Gumm
Senior Member
 
Andreas_Gumm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Germany, Berlin
Posts: 2,940
Default

Please be carefully!
Some guys reported that when they consolidated the project again they lost projects integrity.
Since the specification has changed without a note it becomes unusable for some workflows.
No one can say for sure what Edius is doing in that process.
Media assets are getting new names, so please keep this in mind & backup the project & test more than one consolidate process.
Some guys here would like to see this option greyed out until it works safe.

Andreas
Andreas_Gumm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 08:49 PM   #5
Van.harrison
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 56
Default

I really appreciate the looking out, Andreas. Thank you.
__________________
Van Harrison
The World's Most Interesting
*Assistant* Video Editor
Van.harrison is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Edius Product Manager? X-trem production Editing with EDIUS 2 09-04-2013 12:24 AM
License Manager Edius 6.5 Walter Emg Editing with EDIUS 2 02-22-2013 10:43 PM
Edius License Manager tony Editing with EDIUS 6 08-28-2012 11:30 AM
Edius License Manager Bluetongue Editing with EDIUS 10 08-26-2012 12:54 AM
EDIUS License Manager antonsvideo Editing with EDIUS 9 08-27-2011 02:02 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:34 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.