Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-03-2007, 03:51 PM   #1
Luby
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Edius vs. Prem CS3

Hi Gals/Guys,

On the same machine, would Edius be better than Prem. CS3 (or not) and by how much, in:
1. Real time preview
2. Real time output to Firewire (if they can do this)
3. Rendering effects/transitions
4. Importing and working with 1440/1080 footage from Sony Z1
5. Importing and working with upcoming 1920/1280/1080 Sony EX1 camera footage.
6. Being able to provide video output to a standard or HD TV/monitor
7. Other features I have missed to ask.

I will be using PhotoShop CS3 and most likely After Effects.

Thank you much,

Luby
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 01:43 AM   #2
Martin_Gleeson
Senior Member
 
Martin_Gleeson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 227
Default

1. Real time preview

Edius is much better. It give full quality relatime preview to external monitor. PPro has a "draft" preview of unrendered footage. Maybe it was my system (see below), but I though it was dreadfull!

2. Real time output to Firewire (if they can do this)

Both allow this. But as above, PPro will show draft preview if a clip needs to be rendered. Edius will show full quality preview. How much realtime preview you get from Edius depends on you system.

3. Rendering effects/transitions

Unless you really pile on lots of effects onto multi layered video tracks, Edius generally doesn't need rendering. But this depends on your system. When it does render, it's quite fast.
Premiere Pro, any effects or transitions must be rendered.

4. Importing and working with 1440/1080 footage from Sony Z1

With edius, you can import this footage as either MPEG2 files and edit straight on the Edius timeline. However, your realtime is seriously reduced. It's better to capture as Edius HQ AVI file (hi def) without loss of quality. You can then edit this on the timeline with much better realtime.
My experience with SD footage in PPro wasn't great, so I guess HD would be a bit poorer. But I have never tried it.

5. Importing and working with upcoming 1920/1280/1080 Sony EX1 camera footage.

I don't think Edius supports this camera at the minute (has it been released yet?). It does support the P2 cameras, and the concept is the same. I presume they will support the EX1 at some stage.
PPro: No idea.

6. Being able to provide video output to a standard or HD TV/monitor

You need an NX Express hardward card (two of them) to get HD output from Edius. With this you do get full realtime (without OHCI delay) to your monitor. That is what I have and am very pleased with it. Always seems a shame to downconvert to SD for the DVD.
You can also use you OHCI (Firewire) connection from Edius to camera to monitor. Same with PPro.

7. Other features I have missed to ask.

I'm sure there are :)
IMHO Multicam in Edius is the best implementation I have seen. But this may only be because of my off multi-cam workflow.


will be using PhotoShop CS3 and most likely After Effects.

No plug-ins for these from Edius. You need to export / import you assets.
PPro obviously does integrate with these products.

Thank you much,

You're welcome

Luby

Martin
__________________
Windows 10 Pro. Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming mainboard, Intel i7-8700K processor, 32GB DDR4 3200MHz RAM, Radeon R9 270 2GB DDR5 Graphics.
Samsung SSD Drives for system and mixture of SSD and 7200 SATA for video storage.

Edius 9.50. Blackmagic Intensity Pro 4k
Dublin, Ireland. PAL.
Martin_Gleeson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 04:17 AM   #3
mattmatt
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 587
Default

What an in-depth and pretty response, thanks Martin :)

I agree about all you have said. IMHO though, I reccon the ability to have intergrated programs (like AE with PP) is barely worth worrying about.

All in all, if premiere pro was as "real-time" as edius for the same cost, and if it had multicam, I would prefer it, but its not. So Edius wins - especially in conjunction with After Fx.
__________________
When I go out, I wear my EDIUS T-Shirt.
mattmatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 05:22 AM   #4
Luby
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hey, Martin,

I deeply appreciate your nice post. It had helped me steer towards Edius. I even watched some of the tutorials. When you say "you need two of Express cards" does this mean that with those I will be able to export to DVCam tape (via Firewire) without rendering? If I have only dissolves, occasional title, some stills and color correction on two tracks, would you say this will play in real time, without the Express cards?

Thanks again,

Luby
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 05:42 AM   #5
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,756
Default

I agree about all you have said. IMHO though, I reccon the ability to have intergrated programs (like AE with PP) is barely worth worrying about.


If you have the previous version of these applications you can grab the plugins and manually place them into the proper folder within each of the respective programs.
I have output for AE and Photoshop with Edius. I also have those two outputs through my decklink card as well.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 06:21 AM   #6
mattmatt
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 587
Default

Cool! Nice one :)
__________________
When I go out, I wear my EDIUS T-Shirt.
mattmatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 06:37 AM   #7
Rusty
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 3,399
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luby View Post
Hey, Martin,

I deeply appreciate your nice post. It had helped me steer towards Edius. I even watched some of the tutorials. When you say "you need two of Express cards" does this mean that with those I will be able to export to DVCam tape (via Firewire) without rendering? If I have only dissolves, occasional title, some stills and color correction on two tracks, would you say this will play in real time, without the Express cards?

Thanks again,

Luby
Edius will operate as software only with continuous 1394 output of DV projects from any OCHI device. (with lag)

For RT w/no lag get NX with the Expansion for HDV. It pays for itself on your first job. DV projects also benefit with the component output.

Rusty
__________________
Rusty Rogers | Films
>TYAN S7025 - 32GB RAM, 2 x Xeon X5690's, 4 x 10k video HD's, Win10 x64, BM DecklinkHD, nVidia TITAN, 12TB DroboPro w/iSCISI connection
>RAZER BLADE - QHD+ - 16GB RAM, i7-6700HQ Quad, 512GB SSD, Win10 x64, GeForce GTX 1060 6GB

An inglorious peace is better than a dishonorable war.
Twain - "Glances at History" 1906
Rusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 05:35 PM   #8
alias
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I agree with what has been posted thus far. Edius can out put back to OHCI in true RT but Premiere Pro is not a bad program. The intergration with AE, PhotoShop and Audition is very handy. In a nut shell if you only use a few titles, CC and a few transitions Premiere Pro will give you very good previews but not true RT with OHCI (using Dual Core P4 or Core 2 Dual CPU and DV-25) . If you out put to DV tape then Edius might be your best bet. If your going ot out put to DVD then Premiere might work best. Premiere Pro comes with Encoreand can also authorize DVDs from within Premiere Pro. Edius now does DVD authoring so Edius is still a good choice for out put to DVD. I think you should test drive both programs and decide which GUI you like best. If Premiere Pro was true RT then I would use it over Edius. Both are good programs but the integration of Adobe products can not be over looked.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 10:13 PM   #9
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 4,053
Default

Of Premiere pro, Vegas 8 and Edius 4.5, Edius has by far the best multicam editing. So if you do a lot of multicam Edius is the choice. The others create a single multicam timeline which makes corrections difficult. For audio, Vegas 8 is the best by a long way ( it did start as an audio editing program!!)
Ron Evans
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 10:45 PM   #10
mark_m
Member
 
mark_m's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 55
Default

I must disagree with Ron here about Premiere's multicam ability. I much prefer Premiere Pro's multicam, and use it in preference. This is, of course, probably a case of each to his own!


(It is actually very easy to change the camera angle on PPro's single timeline. You just double click the clip you want to change, all camera angles open in the source monitor, and you click the one you want. Or right click the clip and choose the camera by number from there.)
mark_m is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Edius NX ADVC + Premiere Pro CS3 ? strikemercury Editing with EDIUS 7 04-14-2008 04:55 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:59 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.