Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-07-2007, 09:52 PM   #1
mark_m
Member
 
mark_m's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 55
Default What's Edius 4.5 done to my AVI files??

OK, I installed 4.51 as an update to 4.24.
I opened an old Edius DV project, put some footage on the timeline, played with the multicam, saved and closed the project and went back to working on a Premiere Pro CS3 native DV project using the same footage, and this is what I saw:



My footage was upside down and had these stripes running through it!!!
The .avi file now won't open in MS Media Player, or any other media player I have installed. The programs just hang when I try and open the affected footage.

Other Premiere Pro projects utilising footage unlooked at in Edius 4.51 seem unaffected.

Any idea why updating Edius and opening .avi files in it should have such a disastrous effect on my AVI files?
And more importantly, what can I do to recover these files?
mark_m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2007, 09:54 PM   #2
GrassValley_KH
Mr Sparkle
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 3,748
Default

Are my eyes deceiving me or do the thumbnails on the timeline also have these colourful stripes?
GrassValley_KH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2007, 09:59 PM   #3
mark_m
Member
 
mark_m's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 55
Default

Yep, the thumbnails of the affected clips only have the stripes running through them.
Clips which were never opened in Edius 4.51 are fine.
mark_m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2007, 10:01 PM   #4
GrassValley_KH
Mr Sparkle
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 3,748
Default

Ok, what format was the source clip you placed onto the v4.51 timeline and then reopened in CS3?

Canopus DV or MS DV? Something else?
GrassValley_KH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2007, 10:22 PM   #5
mark_m
Member
 
mark_m's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 55
Default

Thanks for your prompt attention Kennealy. They would have been Canopus DV files captured from within Edius.

OK, I have now tried to export these files from Edius, and when I right click the file in the bin and go "convert" and make a DV file it fails to finish the conversion giving me an error message, and when I put the clip (note that the footage looks just fine in Edius) in a sequence and try and export that Edius freezes with the export box open.

I'm having a bit of a panic attack here.

Here's a screenshot showing the timeline and the difference between the clips which were opened in Edius (the ones with the lines through) and those which were not (the ones which look as they should)



The clips without the lines will have been captured as Canopus DV type 2 files with Scenalyzer.
mark_m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2007, 10:43 PM   #6
GrassValley_KH
Mr Sparkle
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 3,748
Default

What happens if you capture some new footage now that the system has been upgraded - is it glitched too?

This is the first I've seen this issue.

Also, if you do a reboot and then go straight to Windows Media Player, will the funky files play properly again?
GrassValley_KH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2007, 10:59 PM   #7
mark_m
Member
 
mark_m's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 55
Default

I rebooted, went straight to Edius, successfully exported the files from Edius as MS DV AVIs, relinked in Premiere and am back to work. And I need to finish this project. As soon as I am done I will do as you request and let you know the outcome. Thanks for your help.


Oh, and I used the Batch Export feature to export these files with. Very nice, thank you!

Cheers

Mark

Last edited by mark_m; 08-07-2007 at 11:06 PM. Reason: added a bit...
mark_m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2007, 12:23 AM   #8
mark_m
Member
 
mark_m's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 55
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrassValley_KH View Post
What happens if you capture some new footage now that the system has been upgraded - is it glitched too?
Yes it is glitched too. Looks exactly the same: inverted and imprisoned behind coloured bars.
I am using using the DVStorm and have tried in the DVStorm RT mode and in the OHCI mode.
Again, the files look fine in Edius, but not anywhere else EXCEPT in Scenalyzer, which sees everything quite happily and as it should.

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrassValley_KH View Post
This is the first I've seen this issue.
And I hope the only time you see it!

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrassValley_KH View Post
Also, if you do a reboot and then go straight to Windows Media Player, will the funky files play properly again?
Nope, they just crash Windows Media Player.

What's your verdict Dr K? Or at least your next suggested course of action?
mark_m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2007, 12:23 AM   #9
STORMDAVE
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 2,812
Default

If you're working with Premiere Pro and Edius, I recommend that you capture to MSDV...both support the files without problems.
STORMDAVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2007, 12:42 AM   #10
GrassValley_KH
Mr Sparkle
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 3,748
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_m View Post
What's your verdict Dr K? Or at least your next suggested course of action?
I'd be interested in getting a sample of the pristine scenalyzer-captured Canopus DV footage.
GrassValley_KH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EDIUS v4.6 Update Now Available GrassValley_KH Editing with EDIUS 1 02-26-2008 12:24 AM
EDIUS v4.6 Update Now Available GrassValley_KH Editing with EDIUS 1 02-26-2008 12:24 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:35 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.