Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ProCoder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-08-2009, 01:04 PM   #1
LUCI5R
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Earth:\USA\NY\Latham
Posts: 12
Default Can I add Subtitles to video?

I'm encoding an h.264/AC3 file to a WMV-HD (VC-1) file. I have .srt subtitles for the video. Is there any way to add the Subtitles to the WMV-HD? I don't mind hard-coding them (which I know is the only way with WMV's). But I didn't see an option.

Thanks.
LUCI5R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2009, 06:44 PM   #2
GrassValley_CP
Grass Valley
 
GrassValley_CP's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Jose
Posts: 358
Default

Unfortunately, ProCoder does not have this ability.
GrassValley_CP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2009, 05:39 AM   #3
STORMDAVE
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 2,804
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LUCI5R View Post
I'm encoding an h.264/AC3 file to a WMV-HD (VC-1) file. I have .srt subtitles for the video. Is there any way to add the Subtitles to the WMV-HD? I don't mind hard-coding them (which I know is the only way with WMV's). But I didn't see an option.

Thanks.
If you want to hard code it, you could do this in EDIUS (using QuickTitler) and just export a new WMV file straight from the timeline via ProCoder3's advanced options.

You could open your .srt file and copy and paste the text into QuickTitler.
STORMDAVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2017, 03:42 PM   #4
Cadesto
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: New York
Posts: 1
Default

You can try to add subtitles to video if there's no subtitle with the following tips: https://www.wikihow.com/Add-Subtitle...wnloaded-Video
https://www.techsmith.com/blog/add-c...btitles-video/
http://www.videoconverterfactory.com...subtitles.html
Cadesto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2017, 09:42 AM   #5
DigitalDave
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Basildon UK
Posts: 1,854
Default

ROTFL
One would hope that after EIGHT YEARS and 3 months the o/p had already found a solution.
Yes the original post is from 2009 but welcome to the forums.
DigitalDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2017, 04:32 PM   #6
SoundFreak_HD
Senior Member
 
SoundFreak_HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2,260
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by LUCI5R View Post
I'm encoding an h.264/AC3 file to a WMV-HD (VC-1) file. I have .srt subtitles for the video. Is there any way to add the Subtitles to the WMV-HD? I don't mind hard-coding them (which I know is the only way with WMV's). But I didn't see an option.

Thanks.
Use a standalone app called Subtitle Edit

Using it since years and is pretty good, getting timely updates and bug fixes.
Stable, capable and free....
__________________
Tony D.

EDIUS WG 8.53 /WIN10 Pro for Workstations / LENOVO P71 / XEON E3-1535M v6 / QUADRO P3000 6GB / M.2 PCIe Toshiba 512GB / 32GB RAM.

EDIUS WG 8.52
/ HDRX-E1 + HDBX-1000 H / WIN10 PRO X64 / DUAL XEON X5470 / SUPERMICRO X7DWA-N / SUPERMICRO SUPERCHASIS SC745TQ-920B / INTEL 520 SSD 240GB / WD CAVIAR BLACK's 2 & 4TB / 32GB RAM / GTX 770 4GB / 2x MOTU 896HD.


wavearts / neatvideo / tmpgenc / hitfilm / imaginate
SoundFreak_HD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2017, 04:36 PM   #7
SoundFreak_HD
Senior Member
 
SoundFreak_HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2,260
Default

Oh, sorry, you want to add them...
Just disregard my post above
...
__________________
Tony D.

EDIUS WG 8.53 /WIN10 Pro for Workstations / LENOVO P71 / XEON E3-1535M v6 / QUADRO P3000 6GB / M.2 PCIe Toshiba 512GB / 32GB RAM.

EDIUS WG 8.52
/ HDRX-E1 + HDBX-1000 H / WIN10 PRO X64 / DUAL XEON X5470 / SUPERMICRO X7DWA-N / SUPERMICRO SUPERCHASIS SC745TQ-920B / INTEL 520 SSD 240GB / WD CAVIAR BLACK's 2 & 4TB / 32GB RAM / GTX 770 4GB / 2x MOTU 896HD.


wavearts / neatvideo / tmpgenc / hitfilm / imaginate
SoundFreak_HD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ProCoder
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do you add a video track on top of another video track GuyS Editing with EDIUS 14 11-25-2008 04:22 PM
subtitles in Edius Sean Editing with EDIUS 0 11-08-2008 09:34 PM
Subtitles george Editing with EDIUS 6 06-18-2008 09:16 AM
Subtitles with Edius JTE48 Editing with EDIUS 2 07-29-2007 10:58 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:38 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.