Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-14-2013, 02:50 PM   #1
Alpha Video
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kinallen, Northern Ireland
Posts: 363
Default improving encoding times

I've recently upgraded my processor to an i7. Seems to be improving performance but when it comes to exporting to an mpeg file it consistently shows all 8 cores running at about 98% (in Windows Task Manager).

You van see my full spec in my signature and my workflow is
Edit AVCHD files 1920x1080
Export as mpeg2 file
Import mpeg into Adobe Encore

2 questions:

1) Is there a way of reducing the load on the CPU?
2) Is it 'safe' to do other things on the computer while it is exporting the file? I say this I really don't want any glitches on the file and so generally just leave it. But this means that I can't get in with editing other projects or other stuff until it has finished.
__________________
System:
Custom build PC: EDIUS 9 Pro; ASUS PRIME H310M-A Motherboard; Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-8700 CPU @ 3.20GHz; 16GB Corsair DDR3 RAM; NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 6GB; 500 Watt PSU, 1 x 250GB SATA2 Drive for System, 1 x 1TB and 1 x 2TB SATA2 drives for video footage; Pioneer BDR-207DBK 12x Internal BD-RW Burner; Windows 10 64 Bit

UK & Ireland Cameraman and Video Editor
Alpha Video is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 03:58 PM   #2
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,639
Default

Are you talking about using mpeg for DVD and/or BD? MPEG encoding is handled by the processors. The more processors, the better. In your case, you have 8 threads as opposed to 12 threads in the X58 and X79 systems. Some Xeon systems can have over twice the threads of the X79.


Your system is more suited for exporting h.264 because of the quicksync ability.
If you are using MPEG for BD you can convert to h.264 instead, in 1/3 the time.

I noticed that you are running the processor at stock speed. The 3770k chip is very easily overclocked. 4.2ghz is an easily attained speed. There are a couple of settings that you will have to change in the bios, but it is not too difficult.
Do some research on the web.

If you need to work or surf on a computer during encoding, get another computer. You can build a Core 2 system for dirt these days.
Encoding, especially using the processors and depending on the program used to encode, will consume most of the cpu's resources.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 09:13 PM   #3
Alpha Video
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kinallen, Northern Ireland
Posts: 363
Default

Mostly exporting to mpeg for DVD. I actually do have an i3 3.3ghz pc for office stuff, email etc. The reason I'm asking is that I'd like to take advantage of the i7 for working on other projects or Photoshop etc while Edius is encoding, which leads me to another idea: is it possible to somehow do the exporting on another pc? I'm thinking is there some way of 'splitting' the process of encoding, eg. On to a network drive??? Don't shoot me down if I'm way off as I'm just trying to think outside the box. I've also read about ProCoder 3. Is it possible to send the export to that program on another pc on a network?

Also, the issue of overclocking the i7 is that I've read that I would need a bigger power supply and a water cooler to be able to OC it. People say that the fan that comes with it just isn't good enough for oc-Ing.
__________________
System:
Custom build PC: EDIUS 9 Pro; ASUS PRIME H310M-A Motherboard; Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-8700 CPU @ 3.20GHz; 16GB Corsair DDR3 RAM; NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 6GB; 500 Watt PSU, 1 x 250GB SATA2 Drive for System, 1 x 1TB and 1 x 2TB SATA2 drives for video footage; Pioneer BDR-207DBK 12x Internal BD-RW Burner; Windows 10 64 Bit

UK & Ireland Cameraman and Video Editor
Alpha Video is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AVCHD & Edius Encoding Times Jordan Berry Editing with EDIUS 2 03-17-2009 08:46 PM
Improving video quality? Lemi Editing with EDIUS 3 05-15-2008 11:43 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:42 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.