Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-02-2019, 11:52 AM   #1
edver1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Belgium
Posts: 126
Default How to fix moiré

Has anybody a golden tip to fix or even avoid moiré.
Or is it a camera issue ?
__________________
Edius 9.5,Win 10 home
Asrock Phantom gaming 6,
CPU Intel I9-9900K
500 Gb M.2 Samsung SSD 970 Pro plus
1 TB M2 Samsung SSD 970Pro
SSD OCZ 256MB
WD 4TB HDD
edver1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2019, 10:42 AM   #2
Seemedia
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Poland
Posts: 805
Default

First of all. Use OLP Filter on camera e.g. Rawlite, Mosaic. I use Rawlite on my BM Pocket (original) and Micro.

In post you can use BeautyBox plugin.
https://youtu.be/pIRO9-9awiE

Sometimes using of chrominance helped. Same process like above.
__________________
Pawel Chyrowski

Edius 9 Workgroup

Writer/Director. Director of Photography. Motion Picture and Sound Editor. Colorist.

https://facebook.com/chyrowski
https://www.youtube.com/c/PawelChyrowski
https://vimeo.com/pawelchyrowski
Seemedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2019, 11:56 AM   #3
edver1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Belgium
Posts: 126
Default

Unfortunately I don't own a BM camera,and I don't find external filters who does the job.
Software = no Premier pro.
Bud thanks for the input.
Edd
__________________
Edius 9.5,Win 10 home
Asrock Phantom gaming 6,
CPU Intel I9-9900K
500 Gb M.2 Samsung SSD 970 Pro plus
1 TB M2 Samsung SSD 970Pro
SSD OCZ 256MB
WD 4TB HDD
edver1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2019, 01:38 PM   #4
edver1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Belgium
Posts: 126
Default

I found a way with Mask to select the most affected areas and put some blur to it,and the result looks much better !
THX.
__________________
Edius 9.5,Win 10 home
Asrock Phantom gaming 6,
CPU Intel I9-9900K
500 Gb M.2 Samsung SSD 970 Pro plus
1 TB M2 Samsung SSD 970Pro
SSD OCZ 256MB
WD 4TB HDD
edver1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2019, 03:33 PM   #5
dpalomaki
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 1,882
Default

Moire patterns happen in the image when the item being shot contains regular patterns, such as Venetian blinds or clothing patterns, that are close to the spacing of the sensors (pixels) on the imaging device or "beat" with the spacing, especially raster line spacing. It is also called spatial aliasing. One solution is to avoid those types of objects in the scene if you can. That is way TV talking heads don't wear patterned shirts. Changing the zoom setting or camcorder position may help.

You also can see it if you scan magazine images at certain resolutions. Scanner programs often have a "de screen" filter setting to minimize this.

What camera was used to shoot the video?

Last edited by dpalomaki; 12-03-2019 at 03:52 PM.
dpalomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2019, 06:08 PM   #6
edver1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Belgium
Posts: 126
Default

A Sony PXW-X70 with the 4K software.
During a panorama,with lots of roof tops, the roof tiles gave (seen at home ! )
an enormous moire.
Avoiding that is i.m.o. inevitable.
i'm gone try to solve that with some local ( mask ) blur effect .
Thx.
Edd
__________________
Edius 9.5,Win 10 home
Asrock Phantom gaming 6,
CPU Intel I9-9900K
500 Gb M.2 Samsung SSD 970 Pro plus
1 TB M2 Samsung SSD 970Pro
SSD OCZ 256MB
WD 4TB HDD
edver1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2019, 10:28 PM   #7
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,110
Default

are these 4k clips in a HD project? If so, make sure Lanczos3 HQ is enabled in EDIUS project settings to eliminate these issues
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2019, 11:19 PM   #8
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,952
Default

You may also notice that in UHD they are not there , at HD they may not be there but when encoded for SD they appear depending on TV and any upscaling from a disc to the TV. This is why Lanczos 3 is important for all these cases.
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 9.5 WG, Vegas 17, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2019, 05:12 PM   #9
edver1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Belgium
Posts: 126
Default

4K clips in a 4k project,Lanczos 3 was set "smoother",I've set it now to sharper (best for progressive movie).
I don't have a HD setting,probably because it's the pro version I have.
Are there advantage in filming 4K and encoding in a HD project ?
__________________
Edius 9.5,Win 10 home
Asrock Phantom gaming 6,
CPU Intel I9-9900K
500 Gb M.2 Samsung SSD 970 Pro plus
1 TB M2 Samsung SSD 970Pro
SSD OCZ 256MB
WD 4TB HDD
edver1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2019, 09:34 PM   #10
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,110
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by edver1 View Post
4K clips in a 4k project, Lanczos 3 was set "smoother",I've set it now to sharper (best for progressive movie).
I don't have a HD setting, probably because it's the pro version I have.
Are there advantage in filming 4K and encoding in a HD project ?
you can make any SD, HD, 4k or custom size preset in the Pro version

if you are viewing via a dedicated output card connected to a 4k TV, all should look well (don't use a 4k PC monitor)
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
reducing edge acutance and moire rodpike Editing with EDIUS 8 09-26-2014 09:33 AM
moire/aliasing from xavc-s to h264-blu ray egarenc Editing with EDIUS 34 04-24-2014 11:03 PM
Moire pattern dhardjono Editing with EDIUS 2 02-01-2012 02:14 AM
rainbow moire patterns in my stills sherri@tidychaos.c Editing with EDIUS 11 06-15-2011 03:08 PM
Reducing Edge Tearing and/or Moire on SD Downconversion tarkken Editing with EDIUS 12 05-18-2007 03:03 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:04 AM.


Copyright © 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.