Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-26-2019, 03:34 PM   #1
createmedia
Senior Member
 
createmedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Four Marks, Alton, UK
Posts: 1,254
Default HDV M2T files play laggy 9.40.4896

Project 1920 by 1080 50p.

Event recording.

Main Camera Sony FS7 set to 50p XAVCL 4:2:2.

The audience cam Sony Z7 was an HDV camcorder with a CF card writer.

Recording 1440 by 1080 50i M2T files.

With Edius 9.40 latest I did not expect the CPU's to go at maximum trying to play the M2T footage back as I have done this in 50p projects before in earlier versions of Edius.

The main camera audio breaks up (not playing in real time) when those M2T clips are above V1 on V2

The XAVCL 4:2:2 50p footage is playing back perfectly.

What's changed?

Mike
__________________
Sys4: Z10PE-D16WS MB 2xE5-2696 Xeon 64 active logical cores. EWG9. 64G RAM. Aorus GTX1080Ti. 55" Q7 1500 NIT HDR 4K TV/Storm 3G Elite/Decklink 4K 12G/8CH audio monitoring, Yamaha RXA-870 A/V. Sys1-3 EWG8 + RX-E1+HDBX1000 MIP in HP xw8600 2 x X5492 CPU 8 cores, 8Gig RAM, Quadro FX3800. All sys Fibre to central media pool - 5TB Axus Yotta RAID + QLogic Fibre Switch. Central VCR rack plus YUV & audio to viewing room with Yamaha AX1 7.1 100 watt per channel amp with 1000W sub 63" HD 3D Samsung TV
createmedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2019, 12:43 AM   #2
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,932
Default

can you make sure that you have not set optical flow as a default, because this would slow things down drastically and optical flow will kick in in your case because of using different frame rates in the same project
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2019, 12:58 AM   #3
Liverpool TV
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Liverpool, England.
Posts: 2,887
Default

Hi Mike.

If Anton's suggestion isn't the solution, are you using the system specs in your signature? I only ask as I'm unfamiliar with those CPUs and don't know if they are QS capable.

I have a fairly powerful older system that struggles with certain codecs as it's not got QS. While your Z7 is likely to be MPEG2 from what I can remember, your FS7 is h.264 and would be helped by QS.

Maybe you have QS but it's not active?

Cheers,
Dave.
__________________
"There's only one thing more powerful than knowledge. The free sharing of it"

If you don't know the difference between Azimuth and Asimov, then either your tapes sound bad and your Robot is very dangerous. Kill all humans...... Or your tape deck won't harm a human, and your Robot's tracking and stereo imagining is spot on.

Is your Robot three laws safe?
Liverpool TV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2019, 08:33 AM   #4
createmedia
Senior Member
 
createmedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Four Marks, Alton, UK
Posts: 1,254
Default

Not using optical flow, M2T footage plays laggy in player window with CPU's at 100%.

System 4 in signature

No, CPU's are not QS capable

Yes the Sony Z7 footage is MP2 1440x1080 anamorphic 50i in Project 1920 by 1080 @ 50p plays Laggy CPU's @ 100%

Sony FS7 XAVCL 50p 1920 x 1080 plays perfectly OK with 5 layers: video plus title and on screen graphics inserts CPU@44% when buffer filled.

This used to work ok

Mike
__________________
Sys4: Z10PE-D16WS MB 2xE5-2696 Xeon 64 active logical cores. EWG9. 64G RAM. Aorus GTX1080Ti. 55" Q7 1500 NIT HDR 4K TV/Storm 3G Elite/Decklink 4K 12G/8CH audio monitoring, Yamaha RXA-870 A/V. Sys1-3 EWG8 + RX-E1+HDBX1000 MIP in HP xw8600 2 x X5492 CPU 8 cores, 8Gig RAM, Quadro FX3800. All sys Fibre to central media pool - 5TB Axus Yotta RAID + QLogic Fibre Switch. Central VCR rack plus YUV & audio to viewing room with Yamaha AX1 7.1 100 watt per channel amp with 1000W sub 63" HD 3D Samsung TV
createmedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2019, 10:20 PM   #5
trillium
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 418
Default

My experience in Edius before I had QS enabled was what you have described. Until I got QS enabled on my system, converting MTS files to the Grass Valley HQ and HQX formats stabilized my timeline. It's a workaround with little or no loss of quality. Sorry if my response is an apples and oranges comparison.
__________________
Jim Willett
UAB CIRC
Dell 3630 Precision workstation
Nvida 1060 OVC, CPU i7-8700 3.7GH
Edius 9.4
trillium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2019, 03:47 PM   #6
createmedia
Senior Member
 
createmedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Four Marks, Alton, UK
Posts: 1,254
Default

Hi Trillium

Those of us with Xeon sytems can't enable QS.

System 4 CPU's are clocked at 2.3GHz base (2.8GHz turbo speed)

In Daum PotPlayer on the Desktop playing the M2T files back the CPU's are only at 2.3% but in Edius both CPU's were at 100%, but there is no frame size conversion going on live or bit depth conversion the Daum player is playing the original file "as is".

Setting up a test Project on system 4 as 1920 50i 10Bit system 4 plays back the M2T footage with the CPU's at 10% once the buffer is full.

So what happens in Edius WG 8 on a much slower dual Xeon PC? (8 logical cores as opposed to 64 but clocked at 3.4GHz)

Same project settings 1920 x 1080 50p 10 Bit. in 10Bit CPU's 80% when buffer is full but plays fine, 8Bit (using the Rec Window drop down) 48% CPU.

Hmm.... those gremlins again! After a fresh boot today system 4 is working as expected. In 8Bit 50p CPU's are at 48% and 52% in 10Bit What all that struggling was about I don't know - unless Edius was tied up drawing the audio wave forms - there is 6 hours of XAVCL and 6 hours of M2T files. I wonder if that was it?

Mike
__________________
Sys4: Z10PE-D16WS MB 2xE5-2696 Xeon 64 active logical cores. EWG9. 64G RAM. Aorus GTX1080Ti. 55" Q7 1500 NIT HDR 4K TV/Storm 3G Elite/Decklink 4K 12G/8CH audio monitoring, Yamaha RXA-870 A/V. Sys1-3 EWG8 + RX-E1+HDBX1000 MIP in HP xw8600 2 x X5492 CPU 8 cores, 8Gig RAM, Quadro FX3800. All sys Fibre to central media pool - 5TB Axus Yotta RAID + QLogic Fibre Switch. Central VCR rack plus YUV & audio to viewing room with Yamaha AX1 7.1 100 watt per channel amp with 1000W sub 63" HD 3D Samsung TV
createmedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2019, 05:00 PM   #7
trillium
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 418
Default

Wish I new, I'm a bit of a novice when analyzing complex system behaviors. My problems in Edius started suddenly and unexpectedly after the new system had been up and running a few months but was easily "fixed" after some crash analysis by members here and the ongoing discussions about QS.
__________________
Jim Willett
UAB CIRC
Dell 3630 Precision workstation
Nvida 1060 OVC, CPU i7-8700 3.7GH
Edius 9.4
trillium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2019, 10:00 AM   #8
tingsern
Senior Member
 
tingsern's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,965
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by createmedia View Post
Hi Trillium

Those of us with Xeon sytems can't enable QS.

System 4 CPU's are clocked at 2.3GHz base (2.8GHz turbo speed)

Mike
I am a bit puzzled here - my P72 laptop has an Intel XEON CPU - but I have no issues with QS - it is working fine here.
__________________
TingSern
--------------------------------------
Edius 9.4 Pro, Lenovo P72 workstation laptop, 64GB RAM, Xeon CPU, Windows 10 Pro (64 bits), 2 x 2TB Samsung M2.NVME and 1 x 4TB Samsung SSD internal. Panasonic UX180 camera, Blackmagic 4K Pocket Cinema, Blackmagic Pocket Cinema
tingsern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2019, 10:25 AM   #9
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,932
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tingsern View Post
I am a bit puzzled here - my P72 laptop has an Intel XEON CPU - but I have no issues with QS - it is working fine here.
His PC does not have QS, he is using an X series mobo/CPU and as such, there is no QS, my PC also has no QS
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2019, 12:14 PM   #10
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,470
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tingsern View Post
I am a bit puzzled here - my P72 laptop has an Intel XEON CPU - but I have no issues with QS - it is working fine here.
For QS to work, the CPU has to have an integrated GPU core and the motherboard has to support it.

Most XEON's don't have a GPU core, but a few do, such as some of the laptop XEON's
__________________
Edius WG 9.50.5351, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
flickering images with 9.40 4896 Jean Bernard Editing with EDIUS 10 06-01-2019 04:52 PM
Edius 9.40.4896 GrassValley_SL Editing with EDIUS 0 05-23-2019 04:08 PM
HDV Files from HDR-40 jserigny Editing with EDIUS 0 02-14-2012 03:21 AM
exporting HDV timeline to m2t JTE48 Editing with EDIUS 4 07-31-2010 02:20 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:27 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.