Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-11-2013, 06:03 AM   #1
Andre34
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California, USA
Posts: 26
Default Save project in two different drives

Hi,

Can Edius save a project file in two locations say two different drives, without using a RAID system.

cheers
Andre
Andre34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2013, 08:21 AM   #2
CentralEurope
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Austria / Center from €urope
Posts: 1,688
Default

text (without a picture) in Edius 7.0 manual is on page 92....
for other Edius versions => search the manual "User Setting > Application > Project File ...

and for what you can set ... a picture (as example for you ) to 3 different disk

__________________
CentralEurope aka Hans
voluntary / unpaid moderator from the german GV-forum ... Edius 4.61 up to Edius 9.xx
i9-7980XE 18cores/36threads - M.2 960PRO 512GB - M.2 970PRO 1TB - div. 2 or4TB disks - 32GB DDR4-3600 - GTX 1080 8GB - Win_10prof
[the AMD 1950X 16cores / 32 threads = go return because of massive problems, Not only I had these problems]

Last edited by CentralEurope; 08-11-2013 at 08:26 AM.
CentralEurope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2013, 10:39 AM   #3
John Lewis
Senior Member
 
John Lewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Isle of Anglesey, North Wales UK
Posts: 2,920
Default

This will be the project only not any files used in the project these will remain in their locations
__________________
System Asus WS Z390 Pro MB, CPU i9 9900K, 32gb 3000mhz Ram, EVGA GTX1070TI, BM IP4K
Plugins Vistitle 2.8, TP6, NB TFX5
Monitors Samsung 32inch tv as main 1 LG M2350D,1 D2343 1 DM2350D as output to (3D) IP4K, PXW X70
John Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2013, 01:12 PM   #4
SoundFreak_HD
Senior Member
 
SoundFreak_HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2,381
Cool

You could try automated backup software, there are several free and payed options.
I use always sync pro which is payed, they do however have a free version.
MS used to have synctoys for free, not sure if still available.
__________________
Tony D.

EDIUS WG 9.5 / MATROX MXO2 LE / WIN10 Pro WS / LENOVO P71 Workstation laptop / XEON E3-1535M v6 / nVidia QUADRO P3000 6GB / Toshiba M.2 NVMe 512GB / Samsung 860 EVO 4TB / 32GB ECC RAM.

EDIUS WG 8.53
/ HDRX-E1 + HDBX-1000 H / WIN10 Pro / DUAL XEON X5470 / SUPERMICRO X7DWA-N / SUPERMICRO SUPERCHASIS SC745TQ-920B / INTEL 520 SSD 240GB / WD CAVIAR BLACK 4TB (many) / 32GB ECC RAM / GTX 770 4GB / 2x MOTU 896HD.


wavearts / neatvideo / tmpgenc / hitfilm / imaginate
SoundFreak_HD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2013, 05:19 PM   #5
alanlacey
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Essex Coast, UK
Posts: 698
Default

I use a free app called 'FreeFileSynch' and it works perfectly.

I have two disks, one P: an SSD that has all the project and media on it, and a backup, I:, an ordinary HHD which I keep mirrored via the FreeFileSynch software. External connection via eSata and USB.

I back up regularly and as an added bonus Edius (6.07 in my case) will open and continue without having to relink any material, if I load the project from I: instead of P: So if P: fails I can still continue editing immediately.

Alan
__________________
Alan.

More or less retired now. Still on the Essex(UK) coast. Edius 8.2wg all sorts of other, more or less redundant kit - production & Post.
alanlacey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 10:08 AM   #6
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,561
Default

I'm curious why the project files are selected to be on the 'C' drive in the screen shot. Always use a separate drive for your project files.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 05:13 PM   #7
Andre34
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California, USA
Posts: 26
Default

Hi,

Thanks guys, you have given me several options, on saving project
files.
cheers
Andre
Andre34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 06:12 PM   #8
CentralEurope
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Austria / Center from €urope
Posts: 1,688
Default

Hello Jerry
Quote:
Jerry:
I'm curious why the project files are selected to be on the 'C' drive in the screen shot.
You are well ...so I have to clarify the picture a bit more ...

this example set-up was only (temporally) created, with the focus on a picture was tell >> 3 different disk as location from the project file
this example-picture was not created on one from my (internet free) real workstation`s
this example-picture was created on the Internet + all stuff-PC
with the additionl function "create fast different Edius-screenshots for different Edius-forums"

this Internet /all stuff / create screenshot PC have no more disk.. :((
and in this cause for the 3 disk-picture, I have (temporally) make a setup, was must including the "C" drive
(about the missing "E" drive.. this is a holy back-up drive and have never see a other folder /file as the WindowsImageBackup folder )

and on the desktop I have a macro, that clear up with one click .... al the (temporally) stuff-content on these three folders
C:\delete test_1
D:\delete test_1
F:\delete test_1

all the best .... from Central€urope...
__________________
CentralEurope aka Hans
voluntary / unpaid moderator from the german GV-forum ... Edius 4.61 up to Edius 9.xx
i9-7980XE 18cores/36threads - M.2 960PRO 512GB - M.2 970PRO 1TB - div. 2 or4TB disks - 32GB DDR4-3600 - GTX 1080 8GB - Win_10prof
[the AMD 1950X 16cores / 32 threads = go return because of massive problems, Not only I had these problems]
CentralEurope is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Save project in E5 Khoi Pham Editing with EDIUS 6 10-15-2008 01:52 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:59 AM.


Copyright © 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.