Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-31-2019, 10:35 AM   #1
John Hooper
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 2,122
Default Does Edius need a cache drive?

I am using Edius 8.53 WG and have built my editing PC to have just a system SSD and a SATA project drive.

I want to update my 4th Gen Intel system some time over the next few months, but might want to get the new system built for me this time around.

It has been suggested that I should have a system drive, project drive and a cache drive. Would I benefit from having a cache drive?
__________________
Edius 8.53WG, Vistitle 2.8, Windows 10 x64 Pro Fall Update, Asus Z87 Pro, Intel i7-4770K, 16 GB 1600 Corsair Vengence LP RAM, Samsung 840 Pro SSD 256GB, WD Black 2TB media drive, Intel HD 4600 GPU, MSI GTX660 2GB VGA, Coolermaster Silencio 652 case, Noctua NH-U12S CPU cooler, Cakewalk UA-25EX USB audio interface, Cakewalk MA-15D monitor speakers, BM Intensity Pro 4K, PlextorPX-LB950SA BD writer, Dell U2410 Monitor
John Hooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2019, 10:40 AM   #2
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,651
Default

nope, cache drives are useless when the C drive is SSD
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2019, 01:48 PM   #3
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,304
Default

I used to use cache drives before I switched to SSD's. It was pretty much a necessity. With an SSD, the throughput is sufficient enough to support the OS and cache files equally. Using a separate SSD just for the cache file is more or less a waste of time and a drive. You can still do it.
Your system drive would have to be close to full to see any difference.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2019, 03:30 PM   #4
John Hooper
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 2,122
Default

Thank you, I didn't want to be persuaded to have an extra drive, if I didn't need it.

The company I contacted about a new build also wanted to add M2 drives, but I was concerned about using up PCI lanes with an Intel i9 9900K.

This is the basis of the build subject to personalisation:
Attached Images
File Type: png Scan Website.PNG (111.1 KB, 30 views)
__________________
Edius 8.53WG, Vistitle 2.8, Windows 10 x64 Pro Fall Update, Asus Z87 Pro, Intel i7-4770K, 16 GB 1600 Corsair Vengence LP RAM, Samsung 840 Pro SSD 256GB, WD Black 2TB media drive, Intel HD 4600 GPU, MSI GTX660 2GB VGA, Coolermaster Silencio 652 case, Noctua NH-U12S CPU cooler, Cakewalk UA-25EX USB audio interface, Cakewalk MA-15D monitor speakers, BM Intensity Pro 4K, PlextorPX-LB950SA BD writer, Dell U2410 Monitor
John Hooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2019, 02:53 AM   #5
Liverpool TV
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Liverpool, England.
Posts: 2,788
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Hooper View Post
Thank you, I didn't want to be persuaded to have an extra drive, if I didn't need it.

The company I contacted about a new build also wanted to add M2 drives, but I was concerned about using up PCI lanes with an Intel i9 9900K.

This is the basis of the build subject to personalisation:
Hi John.

You can shave some cash off that build if you want or increase the 1TB if you plan on it being a media drive.

You wont feel any difference with the Pro drives and the chances are that any cell life benefits wont come into play either. You may want to use cheaper drives and use the difference as a saving or put it into a larger media drive.

I recently built a system with 970 Plus NVMe drives at more than twice the cost of 860 standard drives. It's ended up being a waste of money.

Transferring between the Plus drives is stupid fast, the 1TB is around 3000MB/s R+W but completely useless for 99% of the daily tasks.

There's no perceivable difference in booting, launching and general operation compared to standard 860 SATAs.

For me personally, I'd have had far more benefit increasing the storage of a secondary/media standard 860.

Anyway, it's just a thought.

Cheers,
Dave.
__________________
"There's only one thing more powerful than knowledge. The free sharing of it"

If you don't know the difference between Azimuth and Asimov, then either your tapes sound bad and your Robot is very dangerous. Kill all humans...... Or your tape deck won't harm a human, and your Robot's tracking and stereo imagining is spot on.

Is your Robot three laws safe?
Liverpool TV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2019, 05:34 AM   #6
ulyssesvideo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: sydney
Posts: 262
Default

Hi john.

Have you looked at building a pc with usb4 slots.... its coming very soon and the speeds are fast enough for editing 4k.
I think its a great idea to have 2 internal ssd drives..one for windows etc... and one for editing... and with the speed of usb4 you can either transfer to it to store you files or use it as an edit drive as well.

thanks
ulyssesvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2019, 09:57 AM   #7
Long John Silver
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Rome, Italy
Posts: 146
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Hooper View Post
Thank you, I didn't want to be persuaded to have an extra drive, if I didn't need it.

The company I contacted about a new build also wanted to add M2 drives, but I was concerned about using up PCI lanes with an Intel i9 9900K.

This is the basis of the build subject to personalisation:
More or less the build I'm on at the moment.
Did they specify you which MB they will use?

I agree with Dave, I have a at home a good backup station so I went with 1 500GB and 1 2TB Samsung ssd evo drives.
Long John Silver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2019, 12:44 PM   #8
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,780
Default

I still have a temp drive, habit from the past but it is not needed for the old reasons as others have said. I have the temp folders and gallery directories etc from Vegas and Resolve on it rather than clutter up the boot drive which in my case is a WD SATA 500G M2 drive. My default EDIUS directory is also on that drive. Since there are plenty of M2 slots on my motherboard I do have 2 x 1T NVME drives that I use to export from EDIUS to HQX or ProRes from the NinjaV as I know they are better used than my normal 6T source harddrive for these large files with faster data rates than h264 files. Got them both cheap as otherwise I would have stayed with SATA drives. In the past with slow drives I learned not to use one drive to read from and write back to and still do this now. Means the drives activity is low and never a bottleneck that I can see in normal operation. Depending on encoder used one can see on Moo that drive seek times are critical so the faster drive seek times will benefit.
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 8.53WG, Vegas 16, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2019, 05:06 PM   #9
John Hooper
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 2,122
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Long John Silver View Post
More or less the build I'm on at the moment.
Did they specify you which MB they will use?

I agree with Dave, I have a at home a good backup station so I went with 1 500GB and 1 2TB Samsung ssd evo drives.
They suggested a Gigabyte Intel Z390 DESIGNARE ATX Motherboard, and Corsair NVMe drives.

I don't know either as I have always used Asus and Samsung SSDs.
__________________
Edius 8.53WG, Vistitle 2.8, Windows 10 x64 Pro Fall Update, Asus Z87 Pro, Intel i7-4770K, 16 GB 1600 Corsair Vengence LP RAM, Samsung 840 Pro SSD 256GB, WD Black 2TB media drive, Intel HD 4600 GPU, MSI GTX660 2GB VGA, Coolermaster Silencio 652 case, Noctua NH-U12S CPU cooler, Cakewalk UA-25EX USB audio interface, Cakewalk MA-15D monitor speakers, BM Intensity Pro 4K, PlextorPX-LB950SA BD writer, Dell U2410 Monitor
John Hooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
M.2 and cache drive question zvit EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 7 04-02-2018 12:24 AM
Edius cache files and speed zvit Editing with EDIUS 2 09-06-2017 11:59 PM
Edius 6 in and out question and waveform cache marcelozaz Editing with EDIUS 1 10-04-2011 02:17 PM
Edius Waveform Cache File John Hooper Editing with EDIUS 12 04-15-2011 12:34 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:18 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.