Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-11-2008, 10:37 PM   #1
Mark Von Lanken
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 65
Default Audio Issue

I've been running Edius 4.54 since Feb. 08. For a wedding ceremony I run two wireless mics to one camera. Minister on one channel and the Groom on the other channel. Then I pan/pot as needed.

On my current edit channel 1 is on both channels even though I was running two seperate wireless mics. I thought I just had the settings wrong in my camera. I just realized the camera settings were correct because when I bring the file into Sound Forge I hear and see the left and right channels from the two different wireless mics. This makes me think I have a wrong setting in Edius. Any suggestions? Thanks.
__________________
All My Best,
Mark Von Lanken
Picture This Productions, Inc.
www.VonWeddingFilms.com
Mark Von Lanken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2008, 11:18 PM   #2
GrassValley_KH
Mr Sparkle
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 3,748
Default

Wild stab in the dark, but what happens if you first set your sequence settings to have the 'EDIUS Pro 3' audio setting, and then add the audio clips to the timeline?
GrassValley_KH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 12:13 AM   #3
Nobby Tucker
Senior Member
 
Nobby Tucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: London
Posts: 111
Default

Not at my pc so off the top of my head..

Hope ive understood..?

Have you tried going to clip properties then selection the audio tab and then switch to monoaural 1 for mic 1 and then use same clip again but change to monoaural 2 for mic 2...

best of luck
Nobby
__________________
Supermicro X6DAE-G2 - 2x Dual Core Xeon 3.2 Ghz, 4G ram, SP Breakout Box, Nvidia GTX260, win xp pro. CS4. Mackie HR824 audio monitoring, Audient ASP510 Surround Sound Controller + smaller bits..
Nobby Tucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 12:33 AM   #4
Mark Von Lanken
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 65
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrassValley_KH View Post
Wild stab in the dark, but what happens if you first set your sequence settings to have the 'EDIUS Pro 3' audio setting, and then add the audio clips to the timeline?
Hi Kenneally,

Thanks for the tip, but it didn't solve the issue. I used the Edius Pro 3 setting when I made my transition over to 4.5. I had some projects that I started in 3 and finished in 4.5. Should I be using the Edius Pro 3 setting all of the time?
__________________
All My Best,
Mark Von Lanken
Picture This Productions, Inc.
www.VonWeddingFilms.com
Mark Von Lanken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 12:36 AM   #5
Mark Von Lanken
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 65
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nobby Tucker View Post
Not at my pc so off the top of my head..

Hope ive understood..?

Have you tried going to clip properties then selection the audio tab and then switch to monoaural 1 for mic 1 and then use same clip again but change to monoaural 2 for mic 2...

best of luck
Nobby
Hi Nobby,

The clips were on the monoaural 1 setting. When I changed them to stereo it solved the problem. Thanks for the help. I don't know what caused them to be in the Mono 1 setting, but at least now I know how to fix it if it ever happens again. This board is great!
__________________
All My Best,
Mark Von Lanken
Picture This Productions, Inc.
www.VonWeddingFilms.com
Mark Von Lanken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 03:00 PM   #6
JimJulian
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Novato, Ca
Posts: 160
Default

Hey Mark,
Have you ever considered bringing in your audio on separate tracks? Minister on one track as monoral 1, groom on other as monoral 2. Set project o Edius 3 compatable. I find it easier to edit sound with mics separated on two different tracks.

jim
__________________
Vista 64 * Asus P6* Intel i7 920 @ 2.67 GHz CPU * 12 gigs Corsair * Nvidia GTX 275 * WD 150 gig 10,000 rpm System drive * (2) Hitachi 750 gig Video drives * (2) WD 1 TB Video drives * HD Spark * Edius 6.02, Imaginate, Adobe AE, Photoshop, Illustrator
JimJulian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 09:09 PM   #7
Rusty
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 3,399
Default

Jim's' technique is one I use daily.
Although it can often be lots more work, the control is superior.
__________________
Rusty Rogers | Films
>TYAN S7025 - 32GB RAM, 2 x Xeon X5690's, 4 x 10k video HD's, Win10 x64, BM DecklinkHD, nVidia TITAN, 12TB DroboPro w/iSCISI connection
>RAZER BLADE - QHD+ - 16GB RAM, i7-6700HQ Quad, 512GB SSD, Win10 x64, GeForce GTX 1060 6GB

An inglorious peace is better than a dishonorable war.
Twain - "Glances at History" 1906
Rusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 09:29 PM   #8
Mark Von Lanken
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 65
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimJulian View Post
Hey Mark,
Have you ever considered bringing in your audio on separate tracks? Minister on one track as monoral 1, groom on other as monoral 2. Set project o Edius 3 compatable. I find it easier to edit sound with mics separated on two different tracks.

jim
Hi Jim,

Is that what Edius 3 compatable does? I usually leave the minister's mic with the video. Then I bring in the Groom's mic in audio track 1 for the rings and vows. Track 2 & 3 for auxilary audio recorders and 4 & 5 for music beds. It becomes a lot of audio tracks to manage as we go through and condense the ceremony, but I guess your approach would only be adding one more track, right.
__________________
All My Best,
Mark Von Lanken
Picture This Productions, Inc.
www.VonWeddingFilms.com
Mark Von Lanken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 09:37 PM   #9
GrassValley_KH
Mr Sparkle
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 3,748
Default

"EDIUS 3 Compatible" will set the panning for each audio channel to be level for both L and R.

Otherwise, EDIUS 4.x will automatically pan channel 1 audio 100% to the left and channel 2 audio 100% to the right.
GrassValley_KH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2008, 05:50 AM   #10
JimJulian
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Novato, Ca
Posts: 160
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Von Lanken View Post
Hi Jim,

Is that what Edius 3 compatable does? I usually leave the minister's mic with the video. Then I bring in the Groom's mic in audio track 1 for the rings and vows. Track 2 & 3 for auxilary audio recorders and 4 & 5 for music beds. It becomes a lot of audio tracks to manage as we go through and condense the ceremony, but I guess your approach would only be adding one more track, right.
Sounds like you use VA style. We use separate Video and Audio tracks. Habit more than anything, but we like to separate the the two audio channels from the field on different tracks since we do all our mixes, keyframing, audio sweetening, etc on the timeline. More tracks yes. 7 audios and 6 videos are not uncommon. There were other reasons, but it's been so long I've forgotten. Never understood why "standard" is panning. Guess we're not standard editors. :)

jim
__________________
Vista 64 * Asus P6* Intel i7 920 @ 2.67 GHz CPU * 12 gigs Corsair * Nvidia GTX 275 * WD 150 gig 10,000 rpm System drive * (2) Hitachi 750 gig Video drives * (2) WD 1 TB Video drives * HD Spark * Edius 6.02, Imaginate, Adobe AE, Photoshop, Illustrator
JimJulian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multicam issue: one of the two clips is playing the audio track at a slower speed Matt Editing with EDIUS 5 12-15-2007 08:03 PM
No Audio showing on timeline skier-hughes Editing with EDIUS 18 06-08-2007 11:23 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:54 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.