Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-07-2016, 05:39 PM   #1
Long John Silver
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Rome, Italy
Posts: 152
Default Upgrading a home user PC

Hi,
I'm a home user and my current PC is an old working class machine built in 2011:
Intel Core i7-2600K CPU @3.40GHz, 8,0GB RAM, ATI HD-7850 2GB DDR5 + Intel HD Graphics - Corsair SSD 90GB + WD Green 2TB - Win7 64bit

Reading average systems here on the forum I really feel ashamed to show my system :) Nevertheless it served well during these years. I edit only HD projects just for passion.

Despite last summer I bought E7 and I even got the opportunity to get the E8 offer, I'm still using E6 because I had many unfinished projects. Now I'm planning to install W10 and upgrade to my system.

Editing systems being equals, E8 is a lot heavier than E6/7?

If I upgrade to a RAID0 disk conf, a newer SDD and 16GB of ram and maybe a new GPU, The old i/-2600k Would be able to run E8?

Or should I start from scratch with a new system?

Please do not shoot the pianist
__________________
Edius 8.53 WG on Intel i9-9900K, Fractal design Celsius S24, ASRock Z390 Taichi, 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4, 3GHz, Corsair RM850x, 1x500GB + 1x2TB Samsung EVO, 10TB Toshiba HDD, MSI GTX 1660 6GB DDR5
Long John Silver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2016, 05:56 PM   #2
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,637
Default

It comes down to your budget. Personally, I would keep the current machine as is and use it as a second machine. Then invest in building a new machine with current technology.
If you have 3rd party plugins you will need to upgrade those to 64bit for use in Edius 8.x.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2016, 07:17 PM   #3
Long John Silver
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Rome, Italy
Posts: 152
Default

Unfortunately I haven't the physical space to accomodate another machine.
For a home user it's a big investment. At least 1,5K for a new machine.
Even the Edius upgrade was a huge investment beacause I do not get revenues for my work. It's just a passion, I should use Windows Movie Maker :)
__________________
Edius 8.53 WG on Intel i9-9900K, Fractal design Celsius S24, ASRock Z390 Taichi, 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4, 3GHz, Corsair RM850x, 1x500GB + 1x2TB Samsung EVO, 10TB Toshiba HDD, MSI GTX 1660 6GB DDR5
Long John Silver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2016, 07:31 PM   #4
SoundFreak_HD
Senior Member
 
SoundFreak_HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2,382
Wink

Your 2600k runs Edius 8 just fine but that should not really be your question.....
If you are still shooting HD you are fine even my much older Xeon system works great in HD and WG8.

The 2600k is too old to put much money inside.
While the current SSD you are using is pretty small, if it holds all your software and still has ample free space you won't gain much (if anything at all) by getting a newer / bigger one.

Your green drive might be one of your show stoppers now and I feel you should use that one as a door stopper.
I also had several greens years ago and if anything brings performance down it are these drives.
A WD caviar black will give you great performance and is still worth it as investment for your system.

I assume you don't have much else than Edius on your system (judging by your small boot drive) so your amount of system ram is fine.

As suggested above, keep this as a second system and invest in a new system if your really want to see a worth while difference.
__________________
Tony D.

EDIUS WG 9.5 / MATROX MXO2 LE / WIN10 Pro WS / LENOVO P71 Workstation laptop / XEON E3-1535M v6 / nVidia QUADRO P3000 6GB / Toshiba M.2 NVMe 512GB / Samsung 860 EVO 4TB / 32GB ECC RAM.

EDIUS WG 8.53
/ HDRX-E1 + HDBX-1000 H / WIN10 Pro / DUAL XEON X5470 / SUPERMICRO X7DWA-N / SUPERMICRO SUPERCHASIS SC745TQ-920B / INTEL 520 SSD 240GB / WD CAVIAR BLACK 4TB (many) / 32GB ECC RAM / GTX 770 4GB / 2x MOTU 896HD.


wavearts / neatvideo / tmpgenc / hitfilm / imaginate
SoundFreak_HD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2016, 07:53 PM   #5
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,928
Default

I kept my older system ( it has EDIUS 6.08 on it) and run it as my email and WEB browsing system too. I have my editor right next to it under the desk and have the same monitor and keyboard using a KVM. So space is not that much different, still room under there for my feet !!! A system with i7 6700, and use just the onboard graphics should work fine for you and not be too expensive. Since you do not have need for lots of peripherals the limits of a small box using a http://ca.gigabyte.com/products/prod...px?pid=5808#ov or similar board, you will only need RAM, CPU and your choice of hard drives/SSD in a new case. Likely just over a $1000 Can. Use an i5 and save a little more. Big increase in performance from your 2600.

To get more performance you would need to change the 2600. That will mean a new motherboard etc. Just moving to all SSD's in your present system is about as far as you could go I think. That may not give you a noticeable change as the CPU will still be the bottleneck on most actions.

As with other posters I suggest keeping your system and getting a new editing system.

Ron Evans
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 9.5 WG, Vegas 16, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V

Last edited by Ron Evans; 07-07-2016 at 08:00 PM.
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2016, 02:10 PM   #6
Adbear
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 2,002
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by More4K View Post
If you after space these are very decent machines:

http://store.hp.com/UKStore/Merch/Pr...pt=ABU&sel=DTP

https://www.scan.co.uk/products/inte...s-580-barebone


I have HP and it's very nice machine for its size.
The HP machine is less powerful than his current one, and the Scan one is not really much of a speed upgrade from his current machine
__________________
DVC Built Clevo P775DM3-G Laptop with UHD screen, 7700K CPU@4.9Ghz, Geforce GTX 1060 6GB GPU, 500GB M.2 Primary, 1x 480GB SSD, 1x1TB M.2, 1x 2TB 5400RPM Video drives, external Blu-ray Optical

Last edited by Adbear; 07-08-2016 at 02:18 PM.
Adbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2016, 03:33 PM   #7
Adbear
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 2,002
Default

He initially said he was looking at upgrading his current machine with the implied intention to make it faster. The only reason space was mentioned was because it was suggested he buy a new machine rather than upgrading, so it's not really about space in this case.
He could quite easily just replace the motherboard CPU and RAM and take it up to a 6700K
__________________
DVC Built Clevo P775DM3-G Laptop with UHD screen, 7700K CPU@4.9Ghz, Geforce GTX 1060 6GB GPU, 500GB M.2 Primary, 1x 480GB SSD, 1x1TB M.2, 1x 2TB 5400RPM Video drives, external Blu-ray Optical
Adbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2018, 04:40 PM   #8
Long John Silver
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Rome, Italy
Posts: 152
Default

After one year and half form this thread I'm still standing still with this machine :) A desperate cold case ;)

Sometimes life bites hard, so filming and editing was the last of my problems. But now here I am.

I was starting to think a new build while spectre and meltdown bugs were discovered. Now Intel wrote that the next gen cpu will have an architecture bug free. So I wonder if it's better to wait for the next cpu iteration to spend some money for a future proof system. What do you think?

Please, keep in mind that I am a home user who film and edit for fun not money so my requirements are different from a pro user. A pro user could easily build a new system now and write off the expenses soon...

In the meantime I invested in some components that could be used on a new system: a 256GB Samsung SDD for OS and two 4TB WD Black HDDs for a Raid 0 conf.

(Always from a home user perspective) what is the bare minimum GPU choice for Edius 8?

PS
Regardless of price, wouldn't it better having a unique SSD instead of a RAID 0 HDD conf?

Bye
__________________
Edius 8.53 WG on Intel i9-9900K, Fractal design Celsius S24, ASRock Z390 Taichi, 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4, 3GHz, Corsair RM850x, 1x500GB + 1x2TB Samsung EVO, 10TB Toshiba HDD, MSI GTX 1660 6GB DDR5
Long John Silver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2018, 04:56 PM   #9
noafilm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Belgium
Posts: 742
Default

I have read a few times that WD black drives are not suitable for a raid drive and that you need to get the red or red pro ones, if you google it you probably will find more info about that.

A SSD is very fast but costs a lot more then a regular drive when it comes to cost per GB, I"d just stay with a ssd for the OS en programs and if you want to save on cost use 2 regular drives in a raid for editing, they"ll be fast enough. Make sure though you keep a exact mirror of those raid 0 drives on a external backup, if the raid fails you can always get back to your files on the back up.

For cpu I would pick a i7 8700k as it has a very good cost/performance ratio, for graphics card a gtx 1060 6gb would do fine as well.
noafilm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2018, 05:12 PM   #10
Long John Silver
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Rome, Italy
Posts: 152
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by noafilm View Post
I have read a few times that WD black drives are not suitable for a raid drive and that you need to get the red or red pro ones, if you google it you probably will find more info about that.

A SSD is very fast but costs a lot more then a regular drive when it comes to cost per GB, I"d just stay with a ssd for the OS en programs and if you want to save on cost use 2 regular drives in a raid for editing, they"ll be fast enough. Make sure though you keep a exact mirror of those raid 0 drives on a external backup, if the raid fails you can always get back to your files on the back up.

For cpu I would pick a i7 8700k as it has a very good cost/performance ratio, for graphics card a gtx 1060 6gb would do fine as well.
Thanks for your reply.
I used WD Black for their reliability. WD states that all their HDD are good for "consumer" RAID conf.

https://support.wdc.com/knowledgebas...er.aspx?ID=996

I have to ask in another thread how to organize my files because even if i'm a noob, archives are growing...
__________________
Edius 8.53 WG on Intel i9-9900K, Fractal design Celsius S24, ASRock Z390 Taichi, 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4, 3GHz, Corsair RM850x, 1x500GB + 1x2TB Samsung EVO, 10TB Toshiba HDD, MSI GTX 1660 6GB DDR5
Long John Silver is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading PC to cope with Edius 5 Birtyboy1 EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 5 01-18-2009 10:58 PM
Advice on upgrading PC leojS Editing with EDIUS 13 05-01-2008 05:05 PM
What would be the server user official home page? caminostereo Editing with EDIUS 4 04-18-2008 09:09 PM
Benefits of a Storm2Pro user upgrading to Edius 4.x DVcatastrophe Editing with EDIUS 4 06-06-2007 04:06 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:28 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.