Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-09-2007, 12:07 AM   #11
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,640
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrassValley_BH View Post
EDIUS will capture in 1920x1080 for HD-SDI sources (on the EDIUS HD hardware platform), and it can used 1920x1080 Canopus HQ captures from Pegasus (which also can capture 1920x1080).

Yeah, but I can capture to 1920x1080 uncompressed 8 bit from analog or HDMI for $318 instead of $40,000. I'm just stating a fact, not arguing.

Brandon,
Do you know if the new XDCAM ex will capture across firewire as 1920x1080 being that it is shot in that mode? Or is there a limitation for firewire capture.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2007, 12:12 AM   #12
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

Getting a bit OT here but...

Not sure on XDCAM EX yet. Depends on which mode the FireWire interface operates in. In FAM mode, it should (at least in theory) be able to get the native data. But in a traditional "capture" (streaming playback) sense, I don't know what it does.
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2007, 11:02 AM   #13
istvan
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Karlsruhe / Germany
Posts: 97
Default

Hi,

I am actually using NX with HDV-Output. What dou you think about the followings options?

- SP without SDI

Disadvantages:
- it can analog capture only

Advantages:
- it can drive a MAZ through RS-422
- Broadcast-Codecs

Pegasus with NX and with a homecinema-Scaler (DVDO VP30)

Disadvantages:
- Scaler exports deinterlaced only. This would be captured by Pegasus.

Advantages:
- through HDMI can capture digital and in full HD. The SDI-Signal of my DVCPRO25-Recorder could be converted in RGB (via HDMI) by the scaler.
- The Scaler has a great number of ins. (1x SDI, 2 x YUV, 2 x S-Vid, 2 X FBAS)
- The Scaler puts everything via hdmi, rgbhv and yuv out.
- The scaler converts everything into 576p up to 1080p.

I think think option 2 gives very much on a very flexible way. I do not however know, if it really works.

Regards,

Istvan
istvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2007, 01:05 AM   #14
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

Option 2 should work (I have a DVDO iScan HD+ myself for my AV setup - not editing though) but if you are intending to actually edit and capture, you definitely should go with the EDIUS hardware because:
  1. You get device control
  2. You get timecode
  3. You're getting the video "straight from the source" without any additional processing (which can sometimes be bad)
  4. Video processing introduces a delay, which if not compensated for, will shift the audio/video sync. The DVDO scaler will delay the audio to compensate if and only if both the audio and video pass through it
  5. Your SDI source may (or may not) go through a colorspace conversion through the scaler
Even if you were to somehow get device control and timecode via RS-422 without the EDIUS hardware board (I don't know how you would as EDIUS won't do RS-422 on its own), the timecode coming in via RS-422 will be out of sync with the video due to the delay introduced at the scaler.

IMHO, it doesn't make a lot of sense to scale everything up and edit in HD - it's just takes up more disk space and CPU power. It'd be a different story if you had some native HD stuff and some SD stuff you wanted to mix in.
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2008, 09:45 PM   #15
Thor
Senior Member
 
Thor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 768
Default

The Pegasus board may be ideal for upgrading to HD capture for me.

I would be using it with telecine capture software (Cinecap by Alternaware) in conjunction with a Sony HDR FX7 3CMOS HDMI camcorder and WorkPrinter machine.

The BlackMagic cards work in HD with Cinecap; I can't see why the Pegasus board wouldn't work.
Thor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2008, 07:48 AM   #16
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

Cinecap would have to support it by using the Pegasus SDK, but the SDK is available for that kind of stuff, so hopefully...
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Up converter (analog SD component to HDMI) STORMDAVE Editing with EDIUS 10 10-02-2008 11:06 PM
Capture Settings for best resolution screen capture? TrackRanger FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus 22 07-08-2008 05:05 PM
4:3 Picture if I capture 16:9 footage via HDMI istvan FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus 0 07-01-2008 12:44 AM
EX1 Files -- Edius ? --> HDMI Out whitehat Editing with EDIUS 13 01-09-2008 04:15 PM
using ADVC300 or NX for component out to external monitor T-Bone ADVC 6 10-02-2007 09:18 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:53 PM.


Copyright © 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.