Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-30-2013, 06:15 PM   #1
glitch
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: California
Posts: 2
Default Video Card and the ADVC 110

How important is the video card when capturing VHS video with an ADVC 110?

Because of my motherboard layout, my big video card is blocking the only PCIe slot that I have (and need) for a 1394 FireWire card. To use the ADVC 110, I would have to use the motherboard's integrated GPU or buy a low profile video card to replace my bigger card when capturing.

Thank you

Last edited by glitch; 07-03-2013 at 05:35 AM.
glitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 04:24 AM   #2
kbosward
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 318
Default

The video card is unimportant. I use a low-spec (i3) PC with motherboard graphics to do capturing from my ADVC300.

Ken.
kbosward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 04:40 AM   #3
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,064
Default

the only important thing is the quality of the TBC
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 02:25 PM   #4
dpalomaki
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 1,875
Default

That is to say, the quality of the analog signal fed to the ADVC. A good tape played in a quality VCR might not require a separate TBC for an acceptable capture. But if doing this as a service offered to others having a TBC with proc amp is pretty much essential.
dpalomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 05:39 AM   #5
glitch
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: California
Posts: 2
Default

Thank you all for your responses.

Yesterday, I had the new ADVC 110 in an unopened box not knowing for sure if I would need to return it. But, after receiving feedback here, I decided to install it. With my motherboard's integrated GPU (GeForce 6150SE nForce 430), I was able to do a 1 hour home video test-capture with zero dropped frames. This integrated GPU has a ridiculously low PassMark G3D Mark benchmark score of 22 @ videocardbenchmark.net. So, from what little testing I've done, it does appear that the video card isn't that important.

Since I only have one shielded s-video cable, the test capture didn't include audio but I just ordered some shielded cables today :)
glitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 11:13 AM   #6
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

Since all the compression happens on the ADVC itself, the GPU has very little influence. The old TwinPact100 (close relative of the ADVCs) works fine on my old Pentium III laptop with on-board Intel graphics (the old cruddy Intel graphics, not the new HD stuff).
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ADVC 110 - Problem with Video Game Footage Capture Shmylann13 ADVC 3 04-06-2011 01:38 AM
ADVC 110 video output not working patrickfx ADVC 4 10-12-2009 07:45 PM
Best Capture Card for use with ADVC 110 Jetmonger ADVC 1 02-10-2009 08:43 PM
advc 110 latency for video conversion/other setup? kiteseb ADVC 1 01-26-2009 01:00 PM
Bottom of VHS video is messed up with ADVC-110 crogalien ADVC 4 04-28-2008 11:29 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:00 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.