Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-14-2013, 09:01 PM   #1
Lead_Editor
Member
 
Lead_Editor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 57
Default .tga, .png, .tif

Attached are 3 files that were created in Photoshop (hope it attached). All three files were created the same. Only difference is when exporting the .tif file, the gfx artist was able to click alpha channel. The gfx is a NBR bug, which is transparent over video. The NBR bug had to match the Program feed that was recorded in our control room. The .tif worked the best out of the 3. Why does each file work differently in EDIUS. When you place all three on the timeline over the video, they have different transparencies? I was told EDIUS works well with .png files. Does anyone know why this occurs? Thank you
Attached Images
File Type: png CRYSTAL_BUG_3_13.png (4.4 KB, 33 views)
Lead_Editor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 12:13 AM   #2
Tobe
Senior Member
 
Tobe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Glenford, NY
Posts: 979
Default

attachment is blank white here...sorry
__________________
Documentaries and Art Projects
Hudson Valley, NY

i7 8700K @ 3.70 Ghz/16 gb RAM
windows 10
284 gb SSD boot drive
1 TB work disc
2TB storage disc
EDIUS 9.31
Many external project hard drives
Tobe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 12:41 AM   #3
Rusty
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 3,399
Default

You only have one file attached here.
You can add more files to upload when you "Manage Attachments" on the Forum.
I like how the Forum shows a white thumbnail, but the shadowbox/overlay works perfectly.

The .png works just fine for me with Edius.
(I'd wager the other formats are Quicktime dependent)
__________________
Rusty Rogers | Films
>TYAN S7025 - 32GB RAM, 2 x Xeon X5690's, 4 x 10k video HD's, Win10 x64, BM DecklinkHD, nVidia TITAN, 12TB DroboPro w/iSCISI connection
>RAZER BLADE - QHD+ - 16GB RAM, i7-6700HQ Quad, 512GB SSD, Win10 x64, GeForce GTX 1060 6GB

An inglorious peace is better than a dishonorable war.
Twain - "Glances at History" 1906
Rusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 10:33 AM   #4
CentralEurope
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Austria / Center from €urope
Posts: 1,688
Default

Quote:
attachment is blank white here...sorry
looks fine here on IE 9
Attached Images
File Type: jpg screenshot NBR.jpg (15.1 KB, 27 views)
__________________
CentralEurope aka Hans
voluntary / unpaid moderator from the german GV-forum ... Edius 4.61 up to Edius 9.xx
i9-7980XE 18cores/36threads - M.2 960PRO 512GB - M.2 970PRO 1TB - div. 2 or4TB disks - 32GB DDR4-3600 - GTX 1080 8GB - Win_10prof
[the AMD 1950X 16cores / 32 threads = go return because of massive problems, Not only I had these problems]
CentralEurope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 05:11 PM   #5
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,644
Default

When I put in on a timeline it is pure white.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 07:35 PM   #6
Lead_Editor
Member
 
Lead_Editor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 57
Default

I cannot upload .tif and .tga file. It says Invalid File. Sorry. I appreciate all the help. All 3 files were suppose to be transparent, but EDIUS worked well with the .tif version. I am just curious why EDIUS would look at three files differently? I am guessing .tif files have better alpha channel for transparency?
Lead_Editor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 08:48 PM   #7
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,644
Default

Do you have a zip program. Put all of the files into a folder and .zip it.
Upload that. Until all are there we can't make a comment.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 01:36 AM   #8
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,070
Default

I opened the png in Photoshop and it has no alpha channel

simply saving it as PSD will add the alpha and it will work in EDIUS

EDIUS has no issues with PSD

in order to create a tga that will work, you will need to open your png in Phgotoshop, choose load selection, then choose save selection, then turn on the alpha ion the channels palette, then flatten and save as tga
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 10:55 PM   #9
Alade
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Barbados
Posts: 818
Default

I find I am getting some issues with PNG files in V6.5 that was not sen in 6.0x.....When I add a PNG file( lower thirds with about 5 or 6 channels), I get an unstable looking playback, and the anti flicker does not have any effect...the images seem to vibrate, a flickering up and down, and is very unstable....Is there a way to create these PNG files that would be stable
Alade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 01:32 AM   #10
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,070
Default

what do you mean by png with 5 or 6 channels?

do you mean 5 or 6 tracks with png on each track?

is your project HD, because high res stills look terrible in SD projects
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video frame to JPEG or PNG witchdoctor Editing with EDIUS 3 07-26-2017 08:24 AM
Drop shadow for .png Dancer Editing with EDIUS 8 02-23-2012 12:00 AM
Are .png files a pain to manage for EDIUS ? allendux Editing with EDIUS 8 04-29-2009 06:00 PM
32 bit TGA's Jeff Chandler Editing with EDIUS 2 12-11-2007 02:51 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:35 AM.


Copyright © 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.