Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-18-2011, 04:18 AM   #1
Mitch-K
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Meridian, MS
Posts: 47
Default No Audio with Video

Hi Everyone,

When I bring in video footage to Edius 6.02 I drag it to the player
window and play it, I can see the video playing but no audio. I drag
the clip to the timeline the audio dosn't come with the video to audio
line. THE AUDIO TRACKS ARE NOT LOCKED! I tried activating the A
(audio) but it stay greyed out! I right click in the audio box and I notice
in drop box A-connect source channel (audio) (toggle) 8 is greyed out.
I can drag a song from a cd to the audio line it play's also in the player
window. I right click on a clip in the clip bin go to properties and shows
no audio. I am using DV tape. Audio problem started when Edius stop
responding! I can't get this problem resolved! I need to finish a wedding
project. I appreciate any help!

Thank's
Mitch
Mitch-K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 04:29 AM   #2
GrassValley_SL
Moderator
 
GrassValley_SL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SA
Posts: 7,749
Default

Can you post a screen shot of your timeline?
Also do you have gv hardware card and it it selected as preview device.
__________________
Steve


Please don't send me Private Messages for support. Contact Grass Valley support
GrassValley_SL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 11:48 AM   #3
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,640
Default

Here are his screen shots Steve.


Attachment 5299

Attachment 5300

Attachment 5297
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.

Last edited by Jerry; 12-11-2011 at 09:56 PM.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 11:53 AM   #4
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,640
Default

Mitch,
I got the profile and new project screen shots, but what I need is your actual profile that you export and save and a new project file without any clips in it.

For profile:
Go to System settings>Profile>right click on your icon>export>selected profile and save to a location. Email me that file.

Then open a new project and send me the Edius Project File without any clips in it.

Jerry
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 12:26 PM   #5
rob stowell
Senior Member
 
rob stowell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chch New Zealand
Posts: 580
Default

Can you select anything in the little 'a' drop-down box? (In previous versions of edius, that's where you chose the audio that will be brought into that track.) If nothing is selected there (8 clears selection- that may be why it's greyed out- because nothing is selected to be cleared) no audio will go into that track. Try selecting 1 or 2 (or, if you like to edit stereo tracks/the clip has stereo audio then stereo 1&2)
__________________
Work: Edius 7.20.437 on HP Z220 workstation; Edius 6.08 on i7 running Win 7 64 bit 6 GB RAM. Neo 2.0 on a Lenovo T61. JVC GY-HD201 and GY-HD110.
Home: Canon HV20 and Panasonic GH1 (hacked); Neo 3.01 on HP elitebook 8440p i7 and Neo 1 on homemade dualcore desktop.
rob stowell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 05:13 PM   #6
GrassValley_SL
Moderator
 
GrassValley_SL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SA
Posts: 7,749
Default

Mitch are the clip 32 Khz or 48 khz?

And are you sure you captured audio because in EDIUS 6 you can capture Video only, Audio only and Video and audio.


I would start by adding 2 a tracks.
Check if the patches are on A 3 and 4.

Enabling the to A is important. Click on the timeline press 8 on your keyboard.
__________________
Steve


Please don't send me Private Messages for support. Contact Grass Valley support
GrassValley_SL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 05:42 PM   #7
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,640
Default

Mitch recapture a clip and choose video and audio
as Steve suggested. This I believe is the whole
problem.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 05:45 PM   #8
GrassValley_SL
Moderator
 
GrassValley_SL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SA
Posts: 7,749
Default

Hearing the audio while capturing does not mean you actually capture audio.
It depends on selection.
1 video only = Capture Video
2 audio only = Capture Audio
3 Video and Audio = Capture (F9)
__________________
Steve


Please don't send me Private Messages for support. Contact Grass Valley support
GrassValley_SL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 06:23 PM   #9
Mitch-K
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Meridian, MS
Posts: 47
Default No Audio with Video

Hi SL,

I am set at 48khz. I tried clicking on the timeline and pressing 8
on the key board. The A-audio will activate but when I drag video
with audio to timeline it grey out showing video with know audio!
After I capture a clip I click on it go to properties>clip properties
I fine file info- video info- expansion info- no audio info..
I tried clicking on the A- audio right under the V to activate audio
there it will activate but when I drag video with recorded audio to
the timeline it grey out!! Edius 5.5 audio was nothing like this!

Thank's for helping,
Mitch
Mitch-K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 06:29 PM   #10
GrassValley_SL
Moderator
 
GrassValley_SL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SA
Posts: 7,749
Default

So it is simple you are not capturing audio.
EDIUS can't magically provide audio if you are not capturing it.

How are you capturing?
Can you provide a screen shot of your device preset in .

Please stick to the facts no need to provide un-useful ballast info.
Thanks
__________________
Steve


Please don't send me Private Messages for support. Contact Grass Valley support
GrassValley_SL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:25 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.