Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Third Party Products

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-14-2020, 03:02 PM   #1
Bassman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,473
Default Need Some Help with the TMPG MP4 Plugin...

Hello,

I have been struggling with an issue encoding with the TMPG mp4 encoder plugin for Edius 9. What is happening is at 50% of the h.264 encode my core usage drops down to about 2% for all of the cores except 1 single core which is at 50%

Things I have tried:
Optimized Defaults in my BIOS
Turning off GPU sampling is Edius
Edius program priority set to High
Windows Power Settings set to High Performance
Special GPU settings in the NVidia control panel for Edius
Turning off GPUfx for Color correction

I am stumped and TMPG has kind of run out of things to check for me. The last thing they mentioned was to check other programs that are running at startup. I do not know what would be in the way...

I do have Quicktime installed if that would make any difference.

So, if we can solve this as a community maybe it can be a reference for everybody on the forum who might have this going on. It basically makes 2-pass encoding a nightmare.

Thanks for your help!
__________________
Asus Prime X299-A - Intel i9 7900x all cores @4.3GHz 2 cores @4.5GHz - 32GB RAM - NVidia GTX1070 - Edius 9 WG - BM Intensity 4k - Boris RED - Vitascene 2 - Windows 10
Bassman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2020, 04:26 PM   #2
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,708
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bassman View Post
Hello,

I have been struggling with an issue encoding with the TMPG mp4 encoder plugin for Edius 9. What is happening is at 50% of the h.264 encode my core usage drops down to about 2% for all of the cores except 1 single core which is at 50%

Things I have tried:
Optimized Defaults in my BIOS
Turning off GPU sampling is Edius
Edius program priority set to High
Windows Power Settings set to High Performance
Special GPU settings in the NVidia control panel for Edius
Turning off GPUfx for Color correction

I am stumped and TMPG has kind of run out of things to check for me. The last thing they mentioned was to check other programs that are running at startup. I do not know what would be in the way...

I do have Quicktime installed if that would make any difference.

So, if we can solve this as a community maybe it can be a reference for everybody on the forum who might have this going on. It basically makes 2-pass encoding a nightmare.

Thanks for your help!
I do have the plugins and personally have never had an issue, but I am still on my trusty old i7-4790K with Win7, so I think that may be too much of a difference from your setup for me to help with any testing, but I am willing to give it a go if you think it would help. I guess the other questions to ask which may help me or others to pinpoint the issue are:

What are you source files container, codec, framerate, etc., and are they using quicksync for decode?

Does this happen with all durations of timeline of is it only noticed when you go beyond a certain duration.

Since you are talking about 2 pass encode, I assume you are using the x264 option, but what are the other particulars in terms of bitrate, deinterlacing, optimization for streaming, etc. It's nice to know these things in order to set up a similar process for testing.
__________________
Edius WG 9.52.5886, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8.0.5, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2020, 05:30 PM   #3
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 4,174
Default

I don't have the plugin as I use the full versions. So I just set both EDIUS and TMPGenc MW7 running at the same time. Set MW7 to encode a HQX file 1920x1080 60P with x264 2 pass. The 3:30 min file took 9:30 mins to encode with all 24 logical cores running 100%, GPU 2% for the full encode. Repeated with NVENC single pass encode and it took 2 mins. With the NVENC encode GPU was at 20% CPU 20% all cores.
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 9.5 WG, Vegas 17, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V x 2
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2020, 07:48 PM   #4
Bassman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,473
Default

The encoding is x.264 in an mp4 wrapper. 1080p60 at 6000 kbps, 2 pass VBR main profile, Ultra fine quality settings (I know, but I have used this setting for years). No Quicksync. I have the streaming box checked in the settings.

Happens with different input source files and short durations. I have been testing with a 1 min AVC-Ultra file. Once the 50% mark is reached and the x.264 encoder is active message appears the CPU just basically powers down.

Never had this issue with any previous version. I installed Edius 9 and it started happening. So I recently reloaded Windows from scratch and it still happens after the clean install.
__________________
Asus Prime X299-A - Intel i9 7900x all cores @4.3GHz 2 cores @4.5GHz - 32GB RAM - NVidia GTX1070 - Edius 9 WG - BM Intensity 4k - Boris RED - Vitascene 2 - Windows 10
Bassman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2020, 06:20 PM   #5
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,708
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bassman View Post
Never had this issue with any previous version. I installed Edius 9 and it started happening. So I recently reloaded Windows from scratch and it still happens after the clean install.
Did you also update the TMPG plugins. You only mention installing Edius 9 and the problem starting.

They do have updated plugin versions for Edius 9. If you are still using the Edius 8 versions in Edius 9, that may be the cause of your problem.
__________________
Edius WG 9.52.5886, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8.0.5, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2020, 06:53 PM   #6
Bassman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,473
Default

Hello,

I am using the Edius 9 version of the plugin. I had both Edius 8 and 9 on the system and upgraded the plugins from 8 to 9 as well. Then reloaded Windows to start fresh but the problem persisted.
__________________
Asus Prime X299-A - Intel i9 7900x all cores @4.3GHz 2 cores @4.5GHz - 32GB RAM - NVidia GTX1070 - Edius 9 WG - BM Intensity 4k - Boris RED - Vitascene 2 - Windows 10
Bassman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2020, 12:04 AM   #7
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,607
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bassman View Post
Hello,

I am using the Edius 9 version of the plugin. I had both Edius 8 and 9 on the system and upgraded the plugins from 8 to 9 as well. Then reloaded Windows to start fresh but the problem persisted.
can you confirm that power options are on max performance and that fast startup is disabled
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2020, 10:05 AM   #8
ulyssesvideo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: sydney
Posts: 478
Default

that has happened to me where edius really struggled... it was caused by the power options in the control panel.... somehow it changed from max power to eco.
ulyssesvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2020, 02:44 PM   #9
Bassman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,473
Default

Thanks for your replies. I verified the power settings are set to "High Performance" along with the internal plan settings set to keep everything on and no power management.

I just disabled Fast Startup, shut down, restarted and ran an encode... The thing still falls apart at 50%. Still stumped.
__________________
Asus Prime X299-A - Intel i9 7900x all cores @4.3GHz 2 cores @4.5GHz - 32GB RAM - NVidia GTX1070 - Edius 9 WG - BM Intensity 4k - Boris RED - Vitascene 2 - Windows 10
Bassman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2020, 04:38 PM   #10
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,857
Default

Tim, try resetting the bios with the default settings again. Boot into Windows and try the encode. If it works, rebuild your overclock and clean up the bios from that point.

I just loaded the plugin onto my slower 980x system, 6C 12T no QS, circa 2011.
The screen shot shows 100% usage during the second half of the encode. You can also see from the screen shot that I have a pretty decent overclock on this system. I used your settings for the encode.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Dual Pass TMPGE AVC Plugin.jpg (214.2 KB, 10 views)
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Third Party Products
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What exactly is the TMPG plugin? ExFool Editing with EDIUS 13 08-18-2016 04:31 AM
Problems using Pegasys TMPG plugin for EDIUS 8 Roland Schulz Editing with EDIUS 5 01-31-2016 03:04 PM
Problems with Quicksync & TMPG AVC Plugin Bassman EDIUS: Compatible Third Party Products 15 09-12-2015 06:14 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:03 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.