Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-27-2020, 03:58 PM   #11
comedians
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 29
Default

It is from a USB recording device but what puzzles me is that it plays perfectly on various file players, but not Edius. Curious why as much as anything and willing always to learn.
Link for 30sec clip.
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1g5c...ew?usp=sharing
__________________
Roger D
comedians is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2020, 05:24 PM   #12
SoundFreak_HD
Senior Member
 
SoundFreak_HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2,444
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by comedians View Post
It is from a USB recording device but what puzzles me is that it plays perfectly on various file players, but not Edius. Curious why as much as anything and willing always to learn.
Link for 30sec clip.
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1g5c...ew?usp=sharing
Edius and other nle's expect audio and video files that follow certain industrie rules.
Usb devices, dvd recorders and often handphone and non professional portable devices have often a non conform codec, frame rate and funky audio in an not allowed container.

To make edius import the video you could convert to a file that is according to industry standard.
The are many free and paid software for that, you just need to find one that can read the original file.
__________________
Tony D.

EDIUS WG 9.52 / MATROX MXO2 LE / WIN10 Pro WS / LENOVO P71 Workstation laptop / XEON E3-1535M v6 / nVidia QUADRO P3000 6GB / Toshiba M.2 NVMe 512GB / Samsung 860 EVO 4TB / 32GB ECC RAM.

EDIUS WG 8.53
/ HDRX-E1 + HDBX-1000H / WIN10 Pro / DUAL XEON X5470 / SUPERMICRO X7DWA-N / SUPERMICRO SUPERCHASIS SC745TQ-920B / INTEL 520 SSD 240GB / WD CAVIAR BLACK 4TB (many) / 32GB ECC RAM / GTX 770 4GB / 2x MOTU 896HD.


wavearts / neatvideo / tmpgenc / hitfilm / imaginate
SoundFreak_HD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2020, 05:31 PM   #13
SoundFreak_HD
Senior Member
 
SoundFreak_HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2,444
Default

I have removed the audio from your clip, 1 stereo track and 1 mono track and then the video import fine in Edius.
I think you need the convert the audio to something else than original, i did pass-through.


edit: I just converted the clip in handbrake to mp4 and used the stereo track (deleted the mono track) to AAC audio, it plays fine in Edius 9.52....
Attached Images
File Type: jpg edius test.jpg (96.4 KB, 9 views)
__________________
Tony D.

EDIUS WG 9.52 / MATROX MXO2 LE / WIN10 Pro WS / LENOVO P71 Workstation laptop / XEON E3-1535M v6 / nVidia QUADRO P3000 6GB / Toshiba M.2 NVMe 512GB / Samsung 860 EVO 4TB / 32GB ECC RAM.

EDIUS WG 8.53
/ HDRX-E1 + HDBX-1000H / WIN10 Pro / DUAL XEON X5470 / SUPERMICRO X7DWA-N / SUPERMICRO SUPERCHASIS SC745TQ-920B / INTEL 520 SSD 240GB / WD CAVIAR BLACK 4TB (many) / 32GB ECC RAM / GTX 770 4GB / 2x MOTU 896HD.


wavearts / neatvideo / tmpgenc / hitfilm / imaginate
SoundFreak_HD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2020, 05:53 PM   #14
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,708
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by comedians View Post
It is from a USB recording device but what puzzles me is that it plays perfectly on various file players, but not Edius. Curious why as much as anything and willing always to learn.
Link for 30sec clip.
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1g5c...ew?usp=sharing
I can confirm that the native file will not import, but the problems appears to be with the container, not the codec.

I used xmedia recode to make a new mpg file, but set the set and video and audio options to copy (not convert) so all it is doing is making a new container and copying the audio and video streams into it. The resulting file imports fine.

Xmedia Recode is a free ffmpeg based batch encoder (similar to handbrake under the hood), but unlike handbrake, it can create more formats than handbrake
__________________
Edius WG 9.52.5886, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8.0.5, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2020, 06:37 PM   #15
comedians
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 29
Default

Tony & Bern.
I do use Handbrake a lot, but the mpg I had problems with locked at around 50% each time I tried it.
The files are sent from a friend to edit for him and whilst I could re-encode with other software I wanted to find the reason so it could be eliminated for any future files with the same problem, (I'm getting rather aged and do less editing nowadays, the only things I seem to edit these days is drone footage.)

Many thanks to all, keep your 2 metre distance & keep well.
__________________
Roger D
comedians is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2020, 01:09 AM   #16
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,607
Default

the reason for this failure is an old one that has been reported since EDIUS7

your file is 704x576 instead of 720x576, install mediainfo, it will give you the real facts

I reported this issue a long time ago because EDIUS fails to open mpeg files created by standalone DVD recorders or Settop boxes, because many of these also record 704x576 such as Panasonic DMR20
Attached Images
File Type: png Anton-00427.png (64.5 KB, 11 views)
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2020, 02:07 AM   #17
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,857
Default

Just for reference, neither the free resolve nor Premiere 2019 will open this file.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2020, 04:01 AM   #18
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 4,174
Default

All the versions of Vegas I have play it just fine. Mainly because when placed on the timeline Vegas will set up the project to match ? A stereo music track and a voice over mono track.
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 9.5 WG, Vegas 17, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V x 2
Ron Evans is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2020, 05:21 AM   #19
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,607
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron Evans View Post
All the versions of Vegas I have play it just fine. Mainly because when placed on the timeline Vegas will set up the project to match ? A stereo music track and a voice over mono track.
VEGAS, Edit Anything :)
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2020, 01:42 PM   #20
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 4,174
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
VEGAS, Edit Anything :)
It is why I like having several options. Vegas 11 opened it just fine and I am now on Vegas 17. Vegas has been ahead of EDIUS for file formats a number times in the past too. Even edits and exports HQX.

Sony Movio Studio will also open and play the file.
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 9.5 WG, Vegas 17, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V x 2
Ron Evans is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MPG Video Importing With No Audio MWSimon Editing with EDIUS 7 12-03-2019 09:53 PM
Importing from video player Steven polanski Editing with EDIUS 6 09-24-2009 02:44 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:16 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.