Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-25-2017, 07:18 PM   #21
mark williams
Senior Member
 
mark williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Deep South U.S.
Posts: 266
Default

Let us know how GH5 footage plays on the timeline. I have my eye on one latter in the year to replace my GH4.
__________________
Mark Williams
natureflixs@hotmail.com
http://vimeo.com/channels/3523
http://www.pond5.com/artist/mark29
Edius 8 WG, i7 6700K, Asus 170-A mobo, 16 GB Ram, System 960 Evo M.2, Video multiple 850 Evo SSDs, Shadow Rock Slim cpu cooler, On board graphics, Corsair 400c case, HD Spark, Windows 10, Panasonic GH5
mark williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2017, 07:37 PM   #22
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,930
Default

Will let everyone know how it works out when I get it. Couple of months to wait yet !!! My interest of course is as a fixed full stage camera at UHD60P to crop into in editing and create what I would get from several camera multicam. I can do this with the FDR-AX1 but the image at high gain just does not stand up to the crop to my satisfaction. Focusing is also difficult as the FDR-AX1 does not have touch focus to set well.

For me the main features of the GH5 I want are UHD60P, remote WIFI control with touch focus etc. Bonus if I get a Shogun Inferno is 10 bit UHD 60P that may also give me a better starting point for cropping etc. Will still do closeups with real camcorders but they will be less critical if the main show I can get from one camera.

Goal is to sit down rather than stand up 2 hours for the show now my wife and I are getting older and I feel UHD may solve this issue for us.
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 9.5 WG, Vegas 16, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V
Ron Evans is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2017, 09:23 PM   #23
Bassman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,425
Default

Thanks Ron. The Panasonic codec must be very difficult to decompress. I will try a little test with AVCHD 1080p60 as I think my camera can shoot in that format to see if I have any other issues with playback.
__________________
Asus Prime X299-A - Intel i9 7900x all cores @4.3GHz 2 cores @4.6GHz - 32GB RAM - NVidia GTX1070 - Edius 8.53.2808WG - BM Intensity 4k - Boris RED - Vitascene 2 - Windows 10
Bassman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2017, 09:29 PM   #24
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,640
Default

Tim, here are 3 clips from the GH4. They are 3840x2160 30p. See if your system can handle all three in multicam.

If I lower my 10bit project resolution(In WG drop down) to 8bit in multicam, I can smoke that all day long at 3/5 in the buffer with 3 clips. If I change that to 1/2 resolution I can go all day at 5/5 with 5 clips. Two of the clips have native Edius filters on them.
As soon as it is finished and I turn off multi-cam and go back to full 10bit, it is full buffer for playback.

*edit* I have removed the link as Tim reported malware with it...Pat
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.

Last edited by GrassValley_PS; 01-28-2017 at 01:03 AM. Reason: mapware with it.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2017, 12:52 AM   #25
Bassman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,425
Default

Thank you for the effort Jerry but that link has some kind of malware associated with it. I clicked on it and had some porn on the page along with the GH4 files mentioned. I thought it was weird but it came from you so I tried to click on one of the GH4 links and some takeover your computer thing came up. I did a quick system shutdown and it is back up and running. I am doing a virus scan now.

Please take that link down before somebody else clicks on it.
__________________
Asus Prime X299-A - Intel i9 7900x all cores @4.3GHz 2 cores @4.6GHz - 32GB RAM - NVidia GTX1070 - Edius 8.53.2808WG - BM Intensity 4k - Boris RED - Vitascene 2 - Windows 10
Bassman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2017, 02:37 AM   #26
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,640
Default

That's completely different that what I got. I even ran Malwarebytes on it just now and came up clean.

Pat already removed it.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2017, 04:01 PM   #27
Bassman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,425
Default

Jerry,

I tried the clips and get the same performance as you are experiencing. If I change the project to 1080p30 I get similar results but only if I have area average on in the downsampling. If I go to Lanczos the playback gets choppy.

This might be a small area for me as I edit in 720p60 as my external monitor & playback card can not do 1080p60. With the 4k clips, it does seem that the native 4k project settings are best for playback.

This codec must be easier to decode than the Panasonic AVC-Ultra codec which means PC performance is kind of at the mercy of your acquisition codec. As one would think 1080p60 AVC clips would playback better than 4k30 clips. But maybe the 60p vs 30p makes a difference too?

In the end, building a monster PC never hurts anything in our world.
__________________
Asus Prime X299-A - Intel i9 7900x all cores @4.3GHz 2 cores @4.6GHz - 32GB RAM - NVidia GTX1070 - Edius 8.53.2808WG - BM Intensity 4k - Boris RED - Vitascene 2 - Windows 10
Bassman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2017, 04:13 PM   #28
David Clarke
Senior Member
 
David Clarke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Uk
Posts: 2,729
Default

If anyone wants some Gh5 clips to test you can go to this video and download some:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T-qU...ature=youtu.be
The guys who sell us GH5s came through the office the other day and I got a quick play with a pre-release one. No good footage I can share but it was impressive.

EDIUS handles the H.264 perfectly. Other programs do not like 4:2:2 H.264 clips and I was told that, on a MAC, Premiere did not like them either.
The H.265 encoding is not implemented properly yet on the pre-release camera. We filmed some 6K anamorphic clips in H.265 and NOTHING loads them except TMPEG. I don't know if that was because it is not properly implemented yet or if H.265 is so no editing program works properly with it (even programs like Premiere and Vegas which are supposed to handle it).

Regarding other clips:
In my own tests 50/60P footage seems quite a lot harder to playback than 25P/30P.
ProRes is pretty awful in just about everything on a PC except from Avid.
Avid DNxHD works pretty well on everything and GV HQX works well in EDIUS.
__________________
EDIUS silver certified trainer.
Main edit laptop: DVC Kaby Lake desktop processor laptop, 32GB RAM, 3.5Ghz i5 desktop processor, nVidia 1060, Windows 10.
Desktop: 4Ghz 9900K processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1660TI GPU, Windows 10.
Desktop: 2Ghz 12 core Xeon processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1060, BM Intensity Pro, Windows 10
David Clarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2017, 05:03 PM   #29
Bassman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,425
Default

Thank you for your input David. In working with 60p footage, what do you think is most important from a system point of view? CPU? Storage speed?

I would guess CPU but am interested to know if fast storage like an SSD RAID would help out. I know the data throughput is small but does access speed play at part as well? Just trying to leave no stone unturned when I build my system this fall. I work a lot in 60p.
__________________
Asus Prime X299-A - Intel i9 7900x all cores @4.3GHz 2 cores @4.6GHz - 32GB RAM - NVidia GTX1070 - Edius 8.53.2808WG - BM Intensity 4k - Boris RED - Vitascene 2 - Windows 10
Bassman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2017, 05:11 PM   #30
David Clarke
Senior Member
 
David Clarke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Uk
Posts: 2,729
Default

A decent GPU (1060 or above) will help to make sure the on screen playback does not stutter. I have seen stuttering 4K on a computer screen with lower power GPUs even though the output from my Blackmagic device looks fine.

With EDIUS is it mainly CPU power so the more the better. The hard drive should not be a major factor because the datarate is not that high for H.264 based footage.
__________________
EDIUS silver certified trainer.
Main edit laptop: DVC Kaby Lake desktop processor laptop, 32GB RAM, 3.5Ghz i5 desktop processor, nVidia 1060, Windows 10.
Desktop: 4Ghz 9900K processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1660TI GPU, Windows 10.
Desktop: 2Ghz 12 core Xeon processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1060, BM Intensity Pro, Windows 10
David Clarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4K Editing and Thunderbolt 2 Jim N EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 1 11-24-2014 12:54 PM
4k feedback editing vgtah Editing with EDIUS 2 02-24-2014 04:03 AM
i7 CPU for Video Editing zoolane EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 30 03-16-2009 12:52 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:45 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.