Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-04-2015, 02:02 PM   #1
dpalomaki
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 1,875
Default Intensity Pro 4K Issue

Anyone else encountered component HD video capture issues with the 4K?

I have encountered issues with component 1080i 59.94 capture with the three Intensity Pro 4K cards I've tried. While NTSC composite and NTSC s-video, and HDMI capture work with default (neutral) setting of the Desktop Video driver, the 1080i component capture does not. The contrast and brightness are off (the 100 IRE patch comes in at about 80) and the saturation tends to be too high tested with color bars.

I have encountered this with two systems, An ASRock x58 Extreme6 and an ASRock Z97 Extreme6. One ised an ATI video card, the other a GTX770. Both Win 7.

While I can color correct, it is a not a happy situation 1080i material.

In contrast an older Intensity Pro is fine used in the same slot in both systems; 1080i 59.97 color bars are spot on.

BMD support has provide replacement boards reasonably quickly, but so far it is has been a unresolved situation. Not clear what the source of the problem is.
dpalomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2015, 03:50 PM   #2
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,634
Default

Is the PCI-E slot a 4x slot?
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2015, 09:35 PM   #3
dpalomaki
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 1,875
Default

In both cases it is in the second nominal 16x slot (first slot being closest to the CPU).
In the Z97 the slot is dumbed down to 8x due to the video card in the first slot.
On the X58 it may be dumbed down as well, I do not recall.

But if not a 4x or higher slot I would expect it to not work, and would not expect composite, s-video, and HDMI to not work right.

I did note that one 4K card did not work until after the 10.4.2 driver pushed a firmware update, and that firmware update only worked on the X58 board. The Z97 did not see the board until after the firmware update on the X58.
dpalomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2015, 10:58 PM   #4
Adbear
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 2,002
Default

The IP4K tends to work better when using bus lanes that go through the chipset rather than the CPU, and no it isn't the case that BM cards won't work if it's not in a 4x slot. I've found that their cards can partially work, such as when I tested a BM Decklink 4K card in the 2x slot on the bottom of the ASRock Z97 Extreme6
__________________
DVC Built Clevo P775DM3-G Laptop with UHD screen, 7700K CPU@4.9Ghz, Geforce GTX 1060 6GB GPU, 500GB M.2 Primary, 1x 480GB SSD, 1x1TB M.2, 1x 2TB 5400RPM Video drives, external Blu-ray Optical
Adbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2015, 01:48 AM   #5
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,040
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dpalomaki View Post
I have encountered issues with component 1080i 59.94 capture with the three Intensity Pro 4K cards I've tried.
hmm maybe they have woken an old similar issue, I had to return the Intensity Pro 4k because component capture from Betacam SP was unusable, the blacks were crushed and the whites were clipped as if the card was set to RGB levels of 0-255 instead of 16-235

the crushed blacks and clipped whites were not recoverable after capture, it was confirmed by BM and they claimed a future driver update may fix it. I can't be sure if that ever happened
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2015, 02:13 PM   #6
dpalomaki
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 1,875
Default

What I am seeing in terms of 1080i color bars from a Canon XA20 and XH1A is the 75 IRE white bar is more like 56 IRE and the 100 IRE white patch is about 81 IRE. The blue bar reads -5 IRE on the E7.5 vector scope, and chroma extends well outside the circle targets. This is with the driver set to the neutral setting.

If I make significant color correction in Edius (e.g., using the color wheel filter) I can get it close to expected values by cutting chroma and boosting contrast and brightness. On the other hand the BMD driver utility does not let me correct black levels.

In the same PC, slot, cables, etc, the older Intensity Pro is spot on expected values.

Maybe I should try it in the bottom 2x slot?

Adbear: in what way did it not work? I do not need 4K capture today.
dpalomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2015, 02:30 PM   #7
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,040
Default

send a support email to BM and ask the question, see what they have to say
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2015, 03:13 PM   #8
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,634
Default

The bottom slot is a 16x slot working at 2x. This is a chipset slot and not controlled by the chip. It might work for you, it might not.
Definitely, report back with your findings.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2015, 04:58 PM   #9
Adbear
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 2,002
Default

Unfortunately the bottom slot on that board only has pins for 2x so there's no way to get the full bandwidth. What we found was that with the Decklink 4K card on SD and some HD it seemed to work, but anything higher and it played back slow as it was missing frames.
On the Asus boards we've used they have a proper 4x slot which can be set to 2x in the BIOS and because it has all the pins the IP4K seems to work fine even up to UHD as it allocates PCI-e 2 2x which is equivalent to the PCI-e 1 4x required by the IP4K.
__________________
DVC Built Clevo P775DM3-G Laptop with UHD screen, 7700K CPU@4.9Ghz, Geforce GTX 1060 6GB GPU, 500GB M.2 Primary, 1x 480GB SSD, 1x1TB M.2, 1x 2TB 5400RPM Video drives, external Blu-ray Optical
Adbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2015, 05:02 PM   #10
dpalomaki
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 1,875
Default

Quote:
send a support email to BM and ask the question, see what they have to say
I have been in touch with BMD support for 3 weeks now. They have sent me two different 4K cards to try, all exhibit similar issues with 1080i component capture on my systems.
dpalomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intensity Pro 4K fan noise X-trem production EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 34 01-27-2018 06:10 AM
Edius 8 Workgroup & BM Intensity Pro 4K Audio Problem BernH EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 4 11-18-2015 04:56 PM
BM Intensity Pro 4K? Drbgaijin EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 72 06-24-2015 07:44 AM
BM Intensity Pro 4k Installation trinitytv EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 1 04-03-2015 03:13 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:41 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.