Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-30-2008, 12:10 PM   #1
RonnieMartin
Senior Member
 
RonnieMartin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Brandon, Mississippi
Posts: 709
Default HD to SD conversion ?

Could this card be the answer to the artifact problem we see when down converting HD and HDV to SD for Standard Def DVD distribution?

I realize that Blu Ray is the coming thing. However, in many markets SD DVD will be the distribution method for quite a while. Until the price of the blank disks come down, the small production house will not be able to distribute his products in HD. For those of you whose projects are one or two offs Blu Ray is the way to go. When your product already sells for $25 and your margin is so very tight, there is no way to justify Blu Ray at this time. Then there is also the compatibility problem just like we had when moving to DVD.

Has anyone tested the fire coder with footage shot in full HD or HDV and then down converted it for SD DVD authoring? If it eliminates the horizontal line artifacts I will order one in a heart beat.

Thanks
Ronnie Martin
www.dirtracingvideo.com
RonnieMartin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 02:24 PM   #2
Claire
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 774
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RonnieMartin View Post
Has anyone tested the fire coder with footage shot in full HD or HDV and then down converted it for SD DVD authoring? If it eliminates the horizontal line artifacts I will order one in a heart beat.

Thanks
Ronnie Martin
www.dirtracingvideo.com
Yes, I did this just the other day, initially disappointed, artifacts on the veranda railings, fine mesh moving continuously over tiled roofs. For full details see my posts here..

http://ediusforum.grassvalley.com/fo...?t=9010&page=4
__________________
Claire

Edius 8.53 Workgroup, DVC Built i7 5960X 8 core Haswell-E Unlocked, Win10 Pro 64 bit, Gigabyte GA-X99-UD4, 32GB DDR4 RAM, GTX 980 Ti 6GB, Decklink 4K Extreme 12G, TMPGEnc Movie Plug-in AVC, Eizo 31" ColorEdge CG319X HDR 4K monitor
Claire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 10:10 AM   #3
kwshaw1
Senior Member
 
kwshaw1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 253
Default

The easiest functional downconvert solution is to change your Edius project setting to SD, adjust titles and effects to match, and render to DVD output from timeline. Anyone try this with Firecoder for SD output?
__________________
Edius 6.5 on Lenovo W520 laptop: Intel Core i7-2720QM @2.2 GHz, Nvidia graphics card, 8GB RAM, Windows 7 Pro 64-bit. Canon Vixia HF-G10, three Sony HDV video cameras and one Canon 7D.
kwshaw1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 10:52 AM   #4
SoundFreak
Banned
 
SoundFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Borneo, Malaysia
Posts: 2,298
Default

And for great quality use TMPGenc, this has been beaten to death ;(
Do a search and read all about it.
SoundFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 08:51 PM   #5
shueardm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,503
Default

I'm starting to use a Blackmagic UpDownCoss SDI converter. It's equaly quality to Virtual Dub in my tests.
__________________
VIDEODESK AUSTRALIA http://videodesk.com.au
shueardm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 01:50 AM   #6
Bluetongue
Senior Member
 
Bluetongue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Adelaide South Australia
Posts: 2,197
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SoundFreak View Post
And for great quality use TMPGenc, this has been beaten to death ;(
Do a search and read all about it.
I have to agree with you Tony, I just bought TMPGenc and I am now a believer!
So fast and the Quality, for those not acquainted it uses the Lanczos filter
Regards Barry
__________________
Win 10HP, EDIUS WG9.4, HD Spark, Boris RED 5, VMW6, Authorworks 6, Bluff Titler, VisTitler 2.8, NEAT 3/4, Mercalli 2/4, Vitascene, Izotope RX6 Plugin, NewBlue, Trend Micro AV
GB GA-X58A-UD3R MB, i7 990X@4G, 12G 1600mhz Mem, Samsung EVO-250G SSD, 3x2T RAID, GTX 970W OC, 2x24 inch LG Monitors
Canon XH-A1/ Canon HF-G30, GoPro Hero3 Black, Edit @1920 50p HQ preset

https://vimeo.com/user2157719/videos
Laptop ASUS G752VT-GC060T Win 10HP, Edius WG8.53 Samsung M2 SSD 256G+1Tb HD,
Bluetongue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 04:22 PM   #7
serge26117
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Russia
Posts: 74
Default

The best of all is Photoshop frame-by-frame method))))))), but it takes too many time((((((
serge26117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 03:11 AM   #8
SoundFreak
Banned
 
SoundFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Borneo, Malaysia
Posts: 2,298
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluetongue View Post
I just bought TMPGenc and I am now a believer!
Thank Anton, I'm just the messenger :)

Make sure to select Motion Search precision: Higher or Highest (with error correction)
This will slowdown the conversion, but it will be worth it.

p.s. still have the find out the difference with DC component precision 9 bit or 10 bit, can't seem to find what to look for .............
SoundFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 04:28 AM   #9
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,793
Default

DC component precision
Set the DC component calculation precision level of the quantization matrix. The higher precision increases the
smoothness of the picture color gradations as well as the output file size.

8 bit
Recommended value for low bitrate encoding when the output file size is more important than picture quality..

9 bit
Standard value for movie encoding.

10 bit
High quality value, allowing for the best color gradations, but generating a bigger file.
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 04:51 AM   #10
SoundFreak
Banned
 
SoundFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Borneo, Malaysia
Posts: 2,298
Default

Thanks Anton, but what is written in the help file doesn't always translate to something one can understand easily :)

I have tested 9bit & 10bit, but can't find too see any difference.
Maybe this is strongly related to the quality of Camera used and quality of TV panel to view and judge upon.

As nowadays my projects are often 1 hour or less I tend to use 10bit as the stated larger file size doesn't affect me.

Even in combination with the Motion Search precision set to Highest (with error correction) my encode time is still bearable on my aging systems, which I don't mind to achieve the best encode I'm able to do.

Now waiting for a Edius timeline plug-in and it's pretty perfect for my DVD production workflow :)
SoundFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quality of SD DVD from HD Timeline Martin_Gleeson ProCoder 3 03-05-2008 05:02 AM
HD to SD conversion Qframe Editing with EDIUS 22 11-12-2007 08:32 AM
HD timeline to SD DVD - pretty bad Martin_Gleeson Editing with EDIUS 35 10-12-2007 12:03 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:14 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.