Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-30-2008, 02:50 AM   #11
swsw1550
Senior Member
 
swsw1550's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sunshine Coast,Queensland
Posts: 1,910
Default

That's it Anton my freind, Raid 0, Raid0, the only way to go on editing machines... Have a great New Year for 2009!

Steve
swsw1550 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 05:48 AM   #12
shueardm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,503
Default

Hey boys, it's not the Raid 0 that makes the Canopus HQ conversion fast, it's the CPU, CPU, CPU (unless you're using the onboard codec of the HDStorm of course) :)
__________________
VIDEODESK AUSTRALIA http://videodesk.com.au
shueardm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 06:21 AM   #13
swsw1550
Senior Member
 
swsw1550's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sunshine Coast,Queensland
Posts: 1,910
Default

I want to use the HD Storm, But can't just yet, never mind, hopefully one day!

Steve
swsw1550 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 07:04 AM   #14
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,821
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shueardm View Post
Hey boys, it's not the Raid 0 that makes the Canopus HQ conversion fast, it's the CPU, CPU, CPU (unless you're using the onboard codec of the HDStorm of course) :)
Hi Mark

I need to prove you wrong

try this test, export 60min high def timeline to Canopus HQ on a single IDE or Sata with the source on the same IDE or Sata

then repeat the same test with source and destination on Raid 0

the speed difference will surprise you, or your money back
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 08:50 AM   #15
swsw1550
Senior Member
 
swsw1550's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sunshine Coast,Queensland
Posts: 1,910
Default

Yeah I have to agree Anton, I think the Raid 0 would make the dif and the CPU not much advantage at all for exporting.

Steve
swsw1550 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 08:54 AM   #16
shueardm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,503
Default

I don't have a single SATA drive which is not the operating system drive, if you tried your C drive , not a good test.


Okay try this, export the same timeline with your 2 x 3GHz Xeons, then take one out... and try again. I reakon that would make a bigger difference.

PS, no I dont expect you to do it (just in case, knowing you) :)
__________________
VIDEODESK AUSTRALIA http://videodesk.com.au
shueardm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 09:05 AM   #17
shueardm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,503
Default

In fact to illustrate, in a test you and i did not long ago for HQ encoding from DVCAM HD, your system did it faster than mine if you remember. That's because your CPU's are faster, however my RAID is faster than yours by 100MB/s, which kind of prioves the CPU is more important. No?
__________________
VIDEODESK AUSTRALIA http://videodesk.com.au
shueardm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 12:04 PM   #18
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,821
Default

of course the CPU is important, however when you are exporting HQ timeline at fine quality to another HQ at fine quality, you will be looking at a read data of 60-80mb/sec and write data of 60-80mb/sec, do this on one drive and it will die in the ****
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 12:25 PM   #19
shueardm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,503
Default

Fair enough, if you use "fine" it's more data. standard HQ is only aprox 20MB/s max, how much is "fine"?
The main point is that you only need that amount and a bit more, after that doesn't really matter, we both have over 300MB/s and that is little advantage over a 100MB/s setup in this instance. The difference is the CPU's.

One WD Velociraptor drive does 120MB/s sustained!!

Are we off topic yet? :) Just wondering.
__________________
VIDEODESK AUSTRALIA http://videodesk.com.au

Last edited by shueardm; 12-30-2008 at 12:33 PM.
shueardm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 12:34 PM   #20
swsw1550
Senior Member
 
swsw1550's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sunshine Coast,Queensland
Posts: 1,910
Default

When you are up to 3.0ghz and 3.2ghz dual CPU'S and Quad cores ect, I don't think that exporting anything is going to be much different, Running Raid 0 on anything will make a dif though, for example, install Vista or XP for that matter on a single drive and time it, Now try to install a operating system on a Raid 0 setup, (I know you guys don't run this though) the speed difference is incredible, I have done a full 64 bit operating system install in under 10min on systems in the past. Sure the CPU plays a roll but the speed comes from how quick the drives are going to take the data, i.e 10,000rpm Raptors ect. Sorry.. but this is common knowledge.......

Steve
swsw1550 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is better a raid configuration or single disks working in an edius sp system? mikemachine Editing with EDIUS 25 05-27-2009 12:41 AM
Raptor Drive or striped raid for performance? xmanflash Editing with EDIUS 14 02-28-2008 03:23 AM
Motherboard quandry....help ! ! ! AJL14 Editing with EDIUS 28 01-30-2008 10:31 PM
External Hard Drive With Edius questions Deane Johnson Editing with EDIUS 22 11-20-2007 12:35 PM
EDIUS NX Express system build PCI express slot requirements Please. Imagine Video Editing with EDIUS 4 11-09-2007 09:58 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:26 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.