Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-29-2008, 12:33 AM   #1
bseidner
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 40
Default New system build - RAID 0 Drive questions

Moving to Edius 5 and plan to edit HDV from a Cannon camera. I do not plan on burning BlueRay yet, but to capture into Canopus HQ CODEC, edit and then write back out to the camera tape converting back to HDV. [Blue Ray writers are ~ $270 and the media is ~ $15 each.] This means I need to be able to Read and Write at HDV data rates. I would like to assume that I use one SATA drive for OS and programs and two SATA drives in RAID 0 Configuration for editing. Going to Fry's I see several options for the video RAID 0 drives. They are:

7200 RPM 16k cache
7200 RPM 32k cache
10,000 RPM and 16k cache

The 10,000 RPM drives are 2x the price of the 7200 drives - do I really need that speed? Also, which cache size is good or bad. I cannot imagine that more is worse, but I have to ask!
bseidner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 12:42 AM   #2
swsw1550
Senior Member
 
swsw1550's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sunshine Coast,Queensland
Posts: 1,910
Default

The 10,000 RPM drives are good, this is what I use, but they are dear now, I would just use the 7200RPM drives, but make sure you get good ones, try and stay away from the green drives ect, I have heard of to many problems with them, go for Western digital or Seagate sata's.

Steve

P.S If you do decide to go for the 10,000 RPM drives use the Western Digital Raptors, they come with a 5yr warranty on them.
swsw1550 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 03:19 AM   #3
bseidner
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 40
Default 10,000 RPM vs. 7200 in RAID Configuration

Thanks Steve. Can someone tell me if I will have margin if I use 7200? If I do, should I get the 32k cache? Steve is right that the 10,000 RPM is the best - but do I need to pay for them [they are double the price].
bseidner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 04:22 AM   #4
shueardm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,503
Default

If you are using HDV you could get away with a single 7200 SATA drive.
Note: HDV in it's native form is the same data rate as standard DV video.
__________________
VIDEODESK AUSTRALIA http://videodesk.com.au
shueardm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 04:37 AM   #5
bseidner
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 40
Default HDV is the same data rate as SD DV?

SD DV is 25mbs. If that is the case then I should be able to capture with the 3GHz system I have now. I would have to capture into the Canopus HQ Codec, maybe editing would be slow and transitions challenging, but it should work. Are you sure???
bseidner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 04:40 AM   #6
shueardm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,503
Default

If you capture in Canopus HQ then you wont be capturing in 25mb/s.
__________________
VIDEODESK AUSTRALIA http://videodesk.com.au
shueardm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 02:29 PM   #7
bseidner
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 40
Default But I am moving to HD capturing HDV?

The question was would two RAID 0 SATA drives running at 7200 RPM and 16k cache be fast enough for HD? I believe Steve was saying that HDV was only 25Mbs and I thought HDV was faster than that. But that aside, would the above be able to keep up with capture into Canopus HQ Codec and fast enought to write back out to my camera (Canopus HQ CODEC to HDV) tape for playback?
bseidner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 01:15 AM   #8
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

HDV is 25 Mbps (Mbit/sec) - that way the tape transport runs the same speed as it did for DV, which is also the same data rate.

Canopus HQ, on the other hand, is variable, but averages between 120 and 160 Mbps, so roughly 5-7 times the data rate of DV/HDV.
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 01:49 AM   #9
bseidner
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 40
Default Thank You!

Brandon. I should have not doubted Steve! Thanks Steve! Given that I will try and capture with my extisting DV system (3GHz, 2G memory and ATA133 drives) and see if I can capture. I know the system is not powerful enough for editing, but I can test out the camera!!!

BTW - Support told me that my existing drives will be fast enough - we will see!

Thanks!
bseidner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 02:39 AM   #10
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,823
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bseidner View Post
BTW - Support told me that my existing drives will be fast enough - we will see!

Thanks!
until the day when you want to export a timeline to HQ or DV

by using Raid0 with 3 - 4 drives, you can export a 1 hour timeline in under 5 minutes

this is where Raid0 shines
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is better a raid configuration or single disks working in an edius sp system? mikemachine Editing with EDIUS 25 05-27-2009 12:41 AM
Raptor Drive or striped raid for performance? xmanflash Editing with EDIUS 14 02-28-2008 03:23 AM
Motherboard quandry....help ! ! ! AJL14 Editing with EDIUS 28 01-30-2008 10:31 PM
External Hard Drive With Edius questions Deane Johnson Editing with EDIUS 22 11-20-2007 12:35 PM
EDIUS NX Express system build PCI express slot requirements Please. Imagine Video Editing with EDIUS 4 11-09-2007 09:58 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:25 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.