Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-19-2008, 10:13 PM   #1
jimstamos
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: houston
Posts: 849
Default western digital passport ext hd

anyone used these. am working out of town with my laptop and was going to load up footage on one. powered thru the usb, but theyre 5400. will they still transfer fast enough for edting/
jim
jimstamos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2008, 10:55 PM   #2
STORMDAVE
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 2,810
Default

Sure, but what do you plan to do? You'll get around 25MB/sec from those drives running via USB2.0. DV will be easy...Canopus HQ, maybe one or two layers. HDV should be ok, but drive speed kind of matters with MPEG2 because it's Long GOP unlike DV.
STORMDAVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2008, 01:47 AM   #3
Fred Dwyer
Senior Member
 
Fred Dwyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Connecticut, U.S.A.
Posts: 540
Default

Seems like big bucks, hope it's a big drive. I just picked up a Western Digital My Book, 500GB USB2 for $149.00 at Staples.
__________________
Fred D
Win 7 Pro-64 bit, EDIUS Workgroup 8.5, Intel Ivy Bridge i5, ASUS P8Z77-V-LK, 8GB Kningston DDR3, Pioneer BDR-209UBK, EVGA NVIDEA GEForce GT630, Corsair TX750M 750w Power Supply, 4 WD Black HDD for 3.15TB, ACEDVIO, Spark HD, eSATA controller, ANTEC 300 case.
Fred Dwyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2008, 03:09 AM   #4
STORMDAVE
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 2,810
Default

But those require external power while laptop drives use power from the USB port. Very good for on the road editing if you have a bigger laptop battery. If you're in a vehicle you can just run power off the cigarette lighter for the laptop and the HD will eat the power from the laptop.

Here's a cool little 1TB drive at RAID0. From reading the specs, if you use FireWire 400 or 800, you don't need to use the AC adapter, but for USB2.0 and eSATA you need to use the AC adapter.
STORMDAVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2008, 01:47 PM   #5
Fred Dwyer
Senior Member
 
Fred Dwyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Connecticut, U.S.A.
Posts: 540
Default

Of course. How stupid of me. Since I don't use laptops it never occured to me. Isn't it amazing how casually we accept drives rated in Terabytes now? My first PC with an internal hard drive (IBM XT) had a huge 10 megabyte drive. Who could ever need more? Let us know how you like the Passport.
__________________
Fred D
Win 7 Pro-64 bit, EDIUS Workgroup 8.5, Intel Ivy Bridge i5, ASUS P8Z77-V-LK, 8GB Kningston DDR3, Pioneer BDR-209UBK, EVGA NVIDEA GEForce GT630, Corsair TX750M 750w Power Supply, 4 WD Black HDD for 3.15TB, ACEDVIO, Spark HD, eSATA controller, ANTEC 300 case.
Fred Dwyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD Storm or HD Spark tony Editing with EDIUS 7 12-03-2008 10:55 AM
IBC HDSTORM HDMI-based HD I/O Board vienna1944er Editing with EDIUS 13 09-12-2008 03:38 PM
GIGABYTE GA-X38-DQ6 for HD editing ? zb21 Editing with EDIUS 9 02-08-2008 01:51 PM
HD 16:9 preview via Nx S-VHS Martin_Gleeson Editing with EDIUS 8 08-16-2007 06:21 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:06 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.