Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-26-2007, 11:08 AM   #21
STORMDAVE
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 2,812
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
by meaningless, I meant that there is no improvement in quality

all HDMI does is bundle several cables into a single cable

its like a scart connector if you know what I mean
Wrong, Anton.

HDMI is like a consumer version of HD-SDI...it carries a digital signal (unlike SCART, which just bundles the analog signals into one). A DVI connection is similar to HDMI, but only carries image data (again, uncompressed).

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hdmi
STORMDAVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2007, 12:48 PM   #22
peterC
Senior Member
 
peterC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 324
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by drgagx View Post
What would be useful is an HD card, enabling both input and output via HDMI - just as the Storm card does the job for dv. On the site referenced by Zorro the HDMI appeared to be at v1.1 whereas v1.3 is imminent.

I think quite a lot of people would be in the market for a product like that. It would naturally complemet Hiro Yamada`s valedictory remark urging everyone to go HD.
That is what I was leading to (here or in another thread) and asked at a local roadshow the other day. ie is HDMI coming to GV products? (especially outside hardware accelerator units- plug them in 'anywhere').

It is more 'workable' for laptops for eg and is probably (dare I say it) going to become more universal - across the whole gamut of equipment eg LCD monitors like the BenQ FP241W, and maybe sooner or later laptops. HDMI interfacing can open up a lot of flexibility as I see it if taken advantage of properly. It is very compact vs RGB con , smaller than DVI and with audio.

I see a lot of potential here.
__________________
peterC
---------------------
Edius 3 v3.62 beta / DVRexRT cards
(Please don't throw stones, it works!)
Edius 9 v3
peterC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2007, 02:03 PM   #23
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,808
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by STORMDAVE View Post
Wrong, Anton.

HDMI is like a consumer version of HD-SDI...it carries a digital signal (unlike SCART, which just bundles the analog signals into one). A DVI connection is similar to HDMI, but only carries image data (again, uncompressed).

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hdmi
does that mean the consumers get to watch uncompressed HD?? from Blue Ray, or HD, or other?

I think I need to upgrade my equipment, I am falling behind :)
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2007, 02:50 AM   #24
STORMDAVE
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 2,812
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
does that mean the consumers get to watch uncompressed HD?? from Blue Ray, or HD, or other?

I think I need to upgrade my equipment, I am falling behind :)
Yep. It also has copy protection (HDCP) so you won't be able to copy pristine quality video coming from your HDMI device.

The PS3 supports HDMI, and the new XBOX360 does it as well. All Blu-Ray players support HDMI. The cable carries original video coming from the player along with audio (might be dolby digital, dts, uncompressed pcm[blu-ray] etc.)

There is the intensity board that does HDMI in/out for cheap. You can use the newer HDV devices that include HDMI ports to capture to uncompressed (or lightly compressed) material in a studio environment and get much better (of course) quality than going to 4:2:0 MPEG2 (tape) then capturing that to the PC.
STORMDAVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2007, 05:33 PM   #25
drgagx
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 327
Default

I have just done a quick check of Bluray data rates reported by my PS3:
Using the MPEG2 codec it seems to peak at about 30Mbps (on Black Hawk Down); using the AVC codec it seems to peak at about 35 Mbps (on Casino Royale). This is based on skipping through the first two or three chapters of each disc.

As an aside the latest firmware update on the PS3, to v1.80, now provides upscaling of DVD via HDMI to a 720 or 1080 display. It works very well and improves the appearance of my home brew DVDs no end.

Ihave no idea what the data rates are for HDDVD.
__________________
DVC laptop: W870CU i7; 17.3" 1920x1080; 2x 1TB 7200rpm SATA notebook drives; Edius 8.5WG; Windows 7.
drgagx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2007, 08:33 PM   #26
GrassValley_MD
Mike Downey... The Jollymon
 
GrassValley_MD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lehi, Ut
Posts: 968
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
computers and required equipment are too expensive at this stage for HD

it requires 8 x SCSI drives in Raid0 to do HD uncompressed, as per Matrox AXIO HD and Premiere Pro specs

Which means it really takes more.

Quote:
HDV is more forgiving in hard disks, but the computers are too slow to allow the same editing grunt as we are used to in SD, or the Editing software is not tuned to take advantage of multiple core computers

so until someone fixes these issues, I am happy with SD and my SD looks better than any HD display in the LCD/Plasma shops in Australia

If that is true your HD would be unbelievable... try it... you will like it! :)



Mike
GrassValley_MD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2007, 10:49 PM   #27
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by STORMDAVE View Post
There is the intensity board that does HDMI in/out for cheap. You can use the newer HDV devices that include HDMI ports to capture to uncompressed (or lightly compressed) material in a studio environment and get much better (of course) quality than going to 4:2:0 MPEG2 (tape) then capturing that to the PC.
Just remember that once you compress to tape/disk/whatever, that data doesn't magically re-appear.

It's similar to how the realtime output analog output from the EDIUS timeline with supported hardware is superior to the realtime DV output.

If your source is tape or otherwise compressed, then the quality of the HDMI output is limited to what the compression is.

The only way to fully utilize the extra "room in the pipe" HDMI provides in the newer camcorders is to capture live on-the-fly.
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2007, 12:25 AM   #28
STORMDAVE
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 2,812
Default

Yep, that's what I was talking about, Brandon...that's why I mentioned the "studio environment"....capturing via HDMI in a live situation you will see the difference. For example, if you have talent over green screen, it's better to capture via HDMI to a 4:2:2 codec (compressed or uncompressed) so you can key out the footage much nicer than your HDV source...if you do alot of motion graphics, this is a huge plus. SD/HD-SDI is in the same situation.

There is no gain if you play back your HDV tape from the camcorder and capture to uncompressed via HDMI.
STORMDAVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2007, 12:47 AM   #29
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

Yup, that's what I wanted to elaborate on - it's nice for live-capture "fixed" environments. We're not at the point where we can capture uncompressed HD mobile, so we'll see... Getting closer.
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2007, 03:53 AM   #30
STORMDAVE
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 2,812
Default

Canopus HQ is a really nice codec, so if an "Intensity" type of box (PCexpress card?) is released by GV, it would be killer for people. They can write live to an external drive. For uncompressed, I guess an eSATA RAID would do (if the laptop supports it).
STORMDAVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ADVC-300 Input Selector / Color Bars skybluenova ADVC 2 04-30-2009 01:55 AM
Quality of Video: Input and Output settings shannonzirkle Editing with EDIUS 7 12-08-2008 10:49 PM
HV20 HDMI out into ASUS MB HDMI in for Edius zedipusrex Editing with EDIUS 8 07-04-2008 07:55 AM
EX1 Files -- Edius ? --> HDMI Out whitehat Editing with EDIUS 13 01-09-2008 03:15 PM
Adjusting Analog Audio Input Level. Julian Editing with EDIUS 3 06-20-2007 07:23 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:19 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.