Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-25-2008, 06:19 PM   #1
dougguitar
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Pegasus with VLC Player

I am attempting to stream TV input to Pegasus using VLC Player (www.videolan.org). Running under Windows, VLC Player finds capture devices via their DirectShow drivers. However, when I attempt to Open A Capture Device in VLC Player, it does not see the Pegasus card.

Can anyone point me in the right direction for getting this to work?

Thanks.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2008, 06:43 PM   #2
GrassValley_KH
Mr Sparkle
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 3,748
Default

I'm not actually sure that the Pegasus exposes itself as a DirectShow device.

If I can find a board somewhere here, I'll give it a try, but I'm pretty sure that you can only ingest with the HQ Recorder application.

Is there a specific reason why you need it to work with VLC instead?
GrassValley_KH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2008, 06:55 PM   #3
dougguitar
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I need to stream the live TV over our LAN.

My setup is such that I have component output from the HD cable box plugged into the Pegasus. I can launch HQ Recorder and see video fine, and save it to a file.

However, I don't need or want to save to a file. I want to stream (to another computer on our LAN) what the Pegasus is capturing. How can I accomplish this?

Thanks.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2008, 09:11 PM   #4
GrassValley_KH
Mr Sparkle
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 3,748
Default

Just had a look with a Pegasus board here and I can confirm that it does not expose itself to DirectShow-based applications.

So the short answer is that you cannot use Pegasus hardware with VLC.

Save for writing a custom application with the SDK, your only input solution is the HQ Recorder app (which does not support streaming).

You're better off with an Intensity Pro board for what you're trying to acheive in this particular instance.
GrassValley_KH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2008, 10:55 PM   #5
dougguitar
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thank you for clearing this up. It's not what I wanted to hear, but at least I can stop wasting my time on this. I'm upset with my vendor, who I very pointedly asked if I could do this when they recommended the Pegasus card, but I'll take that matter up with them.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2008, 11:23 PM   #6
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

A Slingbox would do what you want quite nicely. Not as geeky, but you'd also have IR control, assuming the source is IR-control-able.
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2008, 03:32 PM   #7
Crespel
Senior Member
 
Crespel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 375
Default

I'am streaming my HD - footage from my Video Workstation by means of a DNLA Server SW(Twonky Media Server) via my Gigabit LAN to a DNLA Client(Playstation 3) showing it on a Flat Panel via HDMI.
If Pegasus can create a MPEG2 or MPEG4 - HD File this could be the way for you.
Crespel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2008, 04:19 PM   #8
GrassValley_KH
Mr Sparkle
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 3,748
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crespel View Post
If Pegasus can create a MPEG2 or MPEG4 - HD File this could be the way for you.
It can't - Pegasus only captures in Canopus HQ AVI format. It isn't designed for anything else.
GrassValley_KH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2008, 02:28 PM   #9
jeffdod
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default DirectShow Question

GrassValley_KH,

I get that the Pegasus drivers do not expose a DirectShow-compatible interface. However, here is my question:

If I wish to use the Pegasus card in my DirectShow-compatible application, would it be feasible for me (I am familiar with writing DirectShow source/capture filters) to write a DirectShow source filter for the Pegasus? In other words, the DirectShow filter would expose everything needed for DirectShow applications, but internally, within the filter, I would be using the Pegasus SDK API's to do the real work.

Does this make sense, or does the Pegasus development SDK not lend itself to being used in this way?

Jeff D.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2008, 05:26 PM   #10
GrassValley_KH
Mr Sparkle
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 3,748
Default

Good question Jeff. And one I don't have the capacity to answer. :)

I've forwarded your question to engineering. Stay tuned.
GrassValley_KH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To Pegasus users: how do you use your Pegasus board? GrassValley_AS FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus 9 04-12-2010 02:53 PM
Capturing from a VHS player to ADVC55 - HELP!!! Rich L ADVC 3 01-13-2008 12:56 PM
Edius 4.51c - Gray Player Window During HDV Tape Preview Globe Editing with EDIUS 0 09-05-2007 09:13 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:10 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.