Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-11-2019, 11:29 AM   #1
blackram
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Zagreb
Posts: 3
Default GV HQX codecs wont work with Preimiere CC 2019

So I have Edius (trial version for now) and latest Adobe Premiere CC 2019. When I import .mov file with GV HQX codecs the Premiere imports it but I can see only audio. There is no picture like the codecs are not recognized. I already installed the GV HQX codec pack from here. What Im doing wrong?
blackram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 12:08 PM   #2
GrassValley_SL
Moderator
 
GrassValley_SL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SA
Posts: 7,655
Default

If EDIUS and Premiere are installed on the same machine you should not install the codec pack on that machine.
EDIUS installed no codec pack necessary.
__________________
Steve


Please don't send me Private Messages for support. Contact Grass Valley support
GrassValley_SL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 12:44 PM   #3
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,803
Default

also, no HQX mov necessary, use avi
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 01:13 PM   #4
Andreas_Gumm
Senior Member
 
Andreas_Gumm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Germany, Berlin
Posts: 2,929
Default

Adobe will no longer support legacy QuickTime 7 formats. So HQ(X)-MOV exports will not work.
https://helpx.adobe.com/x-productkb/...t-dropped.html
I guess they have distracted support by disconnecting from QuickTime API! So additional codecs are unsupported.
Only native integrated codecs will work.

Use Apple ProRes export in Edius (supported in 9.4) instead of AVI if the container is unwanted.

GV didn't do a good job on codec marketing about their own great codec.
As an result nobody is interested to support it in the way we know it about Prores or AVID DNxHD!
I think that ProRes export support is one of the biggest advantages and most senseful additions to Edius in terms of material exchange.

Andreas

Last edited by Andreas_Gumm; 07-11-2019 at 03:59 PM.
Andreas_Gumm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 02:55 PM   #5
blackram
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Zagreb
Posts: 3
Default

I tried without codecs installed and just Edius installed, ofcourse.

Thanks for explanation.
blackram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 03:08 PM   #6
blackram
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Zagreb
Posts: 3
Default

Also GV HQX codecs are on the list in Adobe media encoder (CS6) and it isnt in the Media Encoder CC 2019 latest version.
blackram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 03:50 PM   #7
GrassValley_SL
Moderator
 
GrassValley_SL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SA
Posts: 7,655
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blackram View Post
I tried without codecs installed and just Edius installed, ofcourse.

Thanks for explanation.
Can you try to export to avi?
__________________
Steve


Please don't send me Private Messages for support. Contact Grass Valley support
GrassValley_SL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 03:58 PM   #8
Andreas_Gumm
Senior Member
 
Andreas_Gumm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Germany, Berlin
Posts: 2,929
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blackram View Post
Also GV HQX codecs are on the list in Adobe media encoder (CS6) and it isnt in the Media Encoder CC 2019 latest version.
Did you read the document? I guess you didn't! It explains why you don't see additional codecs!
https://helpx.adobe.com/x-productkb/...t-dropped.html

Andreas
Andreas_Gumm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 04:17 PM   #9
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,451
Default

If you are going to Premiere 2019 from Edius 9, I would use the Prores export option. Another option for Workgroup 9 users is DNxHD.MXF or DNxHR.MXF. The codec used will depend on the resolution. If using Edius 8 or earlier, you can always use HQX avi.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.

Last edited by Jerry; 07-11-2019 at 04:25 PM.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 10:22 AM   #10
Bluzermajstor
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Zagreb
Posts: 1
Default Thanks. We understand.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andreas_Gumm View Post
Did you read the document? I guess you didn't! It explains why you don't see additional codecs!
https://helpx.adobe.com/x-productkb/...t-dropped.html

Andreas
There is no way to import or use video in Adobe 2019 if C HQX is what we get. Our broadcast company uses Edius . On-air promotion use Adobe for promotion .
Tnx.
Bluzermajstor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GV HQ Codecs Question nictau Editing with EDIUS 3 11-23-2015 05:22 PM
Edius 8 Workgroup Ctrl+C / V wont work X-trem production Editing with EDIUS 5 08-17-2015 09:04 AM
Edius 6 to AVID for CC - Work flow? Denwa Editing with EDIUS 4 02-08-2011 06:39 AM
activation code wont work rmanueljr Editing with EDIUS 0 03-22-2008 12:51 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:29 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.