Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-31-2007, 01:36 AM   #1
tdtinker
Senior Member
 
tdtinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 759
Default HD drive problem

I have a 2nd system at home with a removable HD. I have been able to bring dives from work (formatted as a basic HD) and work on them at home, but tonight when I put the drive in my system is seeing the dive as SCSI dive and the clips and project have problems running. Does anyone know how to make windows XP to see the dive as a standard dive? Using Edius 4.54.
tdtinker
tdtinker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2007, 02:11 AM   #2
Bluetongue
Senior Member
 
Bluetongue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Adelaide South Australia
Posts: 2,197
Default

Go to Control panel / Admin tools / computer management / disk management does the disk appear as "Basic", "Logical Drive" or Dynamic drive if it is other than Basic Windows could be interpreting it as a SCUSI?
If it is other than Basic from memory it is not possible to convert back without loosing the data. But it is easy to go from Basic to any other configuration.
This doen't help but may give an idea of the problem
__________________
Win 10HP, EDIUS WG9.4, HD Spark, Boris RED 5, VMW6, Authorworks 6, Bluff Titler, VisTitler 2.8, NEAT 3/4, Mercalli 2/4, Vitascene, Izotope RX6 Plugin, NewBlue, Trend Micro AV
GB GA-X58A-UD3R MB, i7 990X@4G, 12G 1600mhz Mem, Samsung EVO-250G SSD, 3x2T RAID, GTX 970W OC, 2x24 inch LG Monitors
Canon XH-A1/ Canon HF-G30, GoPro Hero3 Black, Edit @1920 50p HQ preset

https://vimeo.com/user2157719/videos
Laptop ASUS G752VT-GC060T Win 10HP, Edius WG8.53 Samsung M2 SSD 256G+1Tb HD,
Bluetongue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2007, 02:20 AM   #3
tdtinker
Senior Member
 
tdtinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 759
Default

It is a basic, it shows up as the follwing in drive properties.
WDC WD1200JB-OOVAO SCSI DISK Device
tdtinker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2007, 04:36 AM   #4
tingsern
Senior Member
 
tingsern's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,965
Default

What exactly is the h/w connector between the hot swap casing and your motherboard? Is it IDE (parallel) or SATA (serial)? Take a look at your hot swap casing pins (use a torchlight) and see if there is any damage? Check your cables between the hot swap casing and your motherboard. Are the connectors loose?

Generally, as a rule, most hot swap casings and normal hard-disks are NOT designed to be removed and plugged back in on a daily basis. You will wear out the connecting pins between the hard-disk and the hot swap casing. If you want to do that on a regular basis ... better investigate IOMEGA or some other solutions which are engineered for regular removals - such as an external USB2 or Firewire casing with the drive inside.
__________________
TingSern
--------------------------------------
Edius 9.4 Pro, Lenovo P72 workstation laptop, 64GB RAM, Xeon CPU, Windows 10 Pro (64 bits), 2 x 2TB Samsung M2.NVME and 1 x 4TB Samsung SSD internal. Panasonic UX180 camera, Blackmagic 4K Pocket Cinema, Blackmagic Pocket Cinema
tingsern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2007, 05:14 AM   #5
tdtinker
Senior Member
 
tdtinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 759
Default

I must disagree. We have been using swappable cases for 5 years in 4 different computers. The problem is with my home computer not the swappableswable drive.
tdtinker
tdtinker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD STORM problem sahara7 Editing with EDIUS 8 10-28-2008 01:30 PM
Edius Hd Overlay Problem With Supermicro Mainboard bashvideo Editing with EDIUS 20 08-01-2007 07:20 PM
Problem for HD acquisition with Edius NX PCI-E lokus Editing with EDIUS 2 07-23-2007 07:46 PM
problem designating drive for edius capture jimstamos Editing with EDIUS 1 05-27-2007 07:57 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:13 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.