Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-06-2017, 07:59 AM   #1
zvit
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,142
Default Edius cache files and speed

Edius, like all other editing and graphic suites, allow you to choose a custom path for CACHE files. I guess the history of this practice was to be able to maximize performance and managing hard drive access speeds. The most beneficial way to do this was to put cache files on one drive, project files on another, raw footage on another and maybe assets on another (or using a raid).

But now that we have reached speeds of 3,200MB/s Read and 1,900MB/s Write, with M.2 drives, does this really matter anymore?

I'm planning to get a 1TB M.2 for RAW footage and another M.2 for project files and assets. The cache files will be on yet another separate SSD (C drive).

Would this really make a difference in Edius performance or can you just have all on one M.2 drive? (I'm talking about the faster nvme and not SATA).
__________________
Gigabyte Z77X-UP4 TH, Intel Core i7 3770k 3.5GHz, 4 Core, 8 Threads, 32GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 2GB, 500GB SSD HDD for OS, 20 Gigabytes Usable Hard Drive Capacity, Window 7 Ultimate 64-bit Edius 8.53 WORKSTATION...
zvit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2017, 11:05 AM   #2
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,447
Default

Once SSD's came into play, a decision to move cache files to a separate drive wasn't about speed but drive size.
I've left my cache files on my system drive for quite some time now.

I would leave your cache files on the M.2 drive.
While you may not see or 'feel' a slow down when putting the cache files on a much slower SSD, you will nonetheless have slower cache file access times vs leaving them on the M.2.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2017, 11:59 PM   #3
video178
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: AU
Posts: 252
Default

where edius store cache files
video178 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cache files not work? jasonsilzle Editing with EDIUS 9 06-26-2013 03:11 AM
Default of Edius 6 Cache Files TheMojo Editing with EDIUS 1 10-19-2011 05:21 AM
Waveform Cache files with a mind of their own Jolt917 Editing with EDIUS 5 03-27-2011 05:16 PM
No wave cache update in sequence files Stuart Yates Editing with EDIUS 1 05-18-2007 05:18 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:42 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.