Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-20-2016, 06:39 PM   #1
GrassValley_SW
Grass Valley
 
GrassValley_SW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 257
Default EDIUS & QuickTime for Windows Statement

The United States Computer Emergency Readiness Team (US-CERT) has officially announced the vulnerability of Apple QuickTime for Windows:

https://www.us-cert.gov/ncas/alerts/TA16-105A

EDIUS uses QuickTime components for the handling of certain image types and formats. Functionality will be lost if QuickTime is uninstalled, and it is summarized as follows:
  • Still Image File Formats: BMP (export only); JPEG; JPEG2000; TIFF; PSD; PNG; SGI; GIF; GIF89a; JFIF; Mac PICT; sgiRGB.
  • MOV Video File Formats: DNxHD; HQ/HQX (import only); DV; DVCPRO; HDV; ProRes.
  • Audio: MOV (other than LPCM and AAC).
Grass Valley engineering will be assessing how best to update EDIUS to ensure that the full feature set is available without any requirement to install QuickTime for Windows. We will advise as soon as possible a timescale for when we think this can be implemented.

Last edited by GrassValley_SW; 04-21-2016 at 08:07 AM.
GrassValley_SW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2016, 07:12 PM   #2
Khoi Pham
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Dallas Texas
Posts: 2,071
Default

Great. I don't like Apple for doing this.
__________________
I7-6900K, X99 Taichi, Geforce GTX 1070, Corsair RM850X, Corsair H100 IV2, Windows 10, Edius WG 9.30
Khoi Pham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2016, 08:58 PM   #3
GrassValley_SW
Grass Valley
 
GrassValley_SW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 257
Default

That's correct - it has been known for some time. It was just not a high priority. No-one expected the directive from US-CERT though.
GrassValley_SW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2016, 12:53 AM   #4
IgnizKrizalid
Member
 
IgnizKrizalid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: La Silla
Posts: 68
Default

"Grass Valley engineering will be assessing how best to update EDIUS to ensure that the full feature set is available without any requirement to install QuickTime" Good news GV I was a little worried, not about apple but Edius Pro 8 that I currently own, good job GV!
__________________
MSI X370 Pro Carbon, R7 1800X, OC Nitro RX 480 4GB, 2X8GB DDR4 3200 CL 14, 850 EVO 500GB SSD, Dark Rock 3 cooler, Dark Power Pro 11 650W Platinum, Serenade PciE CM8888 Sound Card, MultiSync 1200p IPS 16:10 monitor, Windows 10 Pro 64bit

Z170XP-SLI, i7 6700K, Nitro R9 380 4GB, 2X8GB DDR4 3200 CL 16, MX200 500 SSD, MasterAir Pro 4 cooler, XFX PRO 650W Core Edition 80+ Bronze, Xonar D1 7.1 Ch Sound Card, NEC MultiSync 1200p IPS 16:10 monitor, Windows 10 pro 64bit
IgnizKrizalid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2016, 12:19 PM   #5
Green Grass
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: N. Ireland
Posts: 95
Default

Apple is happy to continue to update iTunes for Windows but has stop updating QuickTime for Windows, not so nice of them.
According to various sources on the web, it's their player that might be vulnerable viewing risky websites, but not the components of QuickTime use without the player running.
__________________
Check out posts on this forum: Sync markers from PluralEyes version 3 or 4 http://forum.grassvalley.com/forum/s...021#post280021 Syncing by Timecode with Tentacle Sync http://forum.grassvalley.com/forum/s...330#post280330 Converting Sequence markers to Clip markers. http://forum.grassvalley.com/forum/s...898#post281898
Green Grass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2016, 12:29 PM   #6
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,823
Default

if every Win user would stop using iTunes, apple will rethink because their iTunes income will decrease by 70 or more %
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2016, 02:39 PM   #7
SoundFreak_HD
Senior Member
 
SoundFreak_HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2,377
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
if every Win user would stop using iTunes, apple will rethink because their iTunes income will decrease by 70 or more %
I did quit quite a while ago, Don't mis it.
Use Media go from Sony, much faster on large libraries.

BTW, when installing iTunes it also install QuickTime, how they gonna solve that :)
__________________
Tony D.

EDIUS WG 9.5 / MATROX MXO2 LE / WIN10 Pro WS / LENOVO P71 Workstation laptop / XEON E3-1535M v6 / nVidia QUADRO P3000 6GB / Toshiba M.2 NVMe 512GB / Samsung 860 EVO 4TB / 32GB ECC RAM.

EDIUS WG 8.53
/ HDRX-E1 + HDBX-1000 H / WIN10 Pro / DUAL XEON X5470 / SUPERMICRO X7DWA-N / SUPERMICRO SUPERCHASIS SC745TQ-920B / INTEL 520 SSD 240GB / WD CAVIAR BLACK 4TB (many) / 32GB ECC RAM / GTX 770 4GB / 2x MOTU 896HD.


wavearts / neatvideo / tmpgenc / hitfilm / imaginate
SoundFreak_HD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2016, 04:12 PM   #8
Gavin++
Senior Member
 
Gavin++'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 281
Default

I've made a small video explaining several informations on how to minimize the "Quicktime risk" until there's an EDIUS version that doesn't need quicktime:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7RN2...g_pref=en&cc=1

Turn on youtube subtitles for English subtitles.
(Sorry, video is german only, but i've made English subtitles for the most important informations)
Gavin++ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2016, 11:50 PM   #9
Rusty
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 3,399
Default

Back in the E4/5 days I uninstalled the official QT and installed Quicktime Alternative.
Although unsupported, Edius ran flawlessly.
Things may be different now and, unless on a cloned drive, I cannot endorse such experiments.
__________________
Rusty Rogers | Films
>TYAN S7025 - 32GB RAM, 2 x Xeon X5690's, 4 x 10k video HD's, Win10 x64, BM DecklinkHD, nVidia TITAN, 12TB DroboPro w/iSCISI connection
>RAZER BLADE - QHD+ - 16GB RAM, i7-6700HQ Quad, 512GB SSD, Win10 x64, GeForce GTX 1060 6GB

An inglorious peace is better than a dishonorable war.
Twain - "Glances at History" 1906
Rusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2016, 12:43 AM   #10
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,470
Default

I was thinking about that the other night. I will wait for the fix.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Edius 5.5 & Windows 8 Birtyboy1 Editing with EDIUS 7 01-21-2015 02:03 PM
Edius & Windows 8 filmus Editing with EDIUS 6 06-16-2014 11:38 AM
edius 7.20 & windows 8.1 zigiman EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 7 12-31-2013 09:44 PM
Windows 7 & Edius 5 Mr Bill Editing with EDIUS 73 11-01-2009 02:44 AM
FCB and PCIex slot issue: official statement somewhere? Zorro FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus 7 06-16-2009 01:16 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:34 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.