Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-13-2015, 01:11 AM   #1
Andrzej Stefan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Poland
Posts: 5
Default Why Edius 8.1 exports slower than Edius 7.5

When I have exported 1 minute of HD film for mpeg4 (18Mb/s) file using H.264/AVC exporter plug in Edius 7.5 it took about 2 minutes. I have upgraded to Edius 8.1 - and my hardware is still the same. And now in Edius 8.1 when I export the same 1 minute HD film for the same mpeg4 (18Mb/s) file using H264/AVC exporter plug in it takes almost 11 minutes.!!! Edius 8.1 sees all 32 logical processors (as 7.5 did before) and they ara know 50% busy. What is wrong ? Why 5 times longer ?

Equipment : Motherboard : Asus Z9PE D8.WS, two INTEL XEON E5-2650V2 , RAM 64 GB , GeForce GTX770 , Windows 764
Andrzej Stefan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2015, 08:10 AM   #2
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,451
Default

Are you using 8.1 Pro or Workgroup?
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2015, 01:18 PM   #3
Andrzej Stefan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Poland
Posts: 5
Default

I'm using Edius Pro 8 - the only upgrade I was offered for my E7.5 . Should I change it ?
Andrzej Stefan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2015, 02:33 PM   #4
GrassValley_PS
Moderator
 
GrassValley_PS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 4,698
Default

We may have reproduced this. It only appears to happen with Pro.
__________________
Main System: i7 6950X OC to 4.5GHz, ASUS RAMPAGE V EDITION 10, Corsair Dominator Platinum 64GB DDR4 2800, SAMSUNG 950 PRO M.2 512GB , GeForce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, Corsair AX1200i PS, Phanteks Luxe Case, 16TB RAID (4)HGST Deskstar NAS 4TB, Corsair H115i CPU Cooler, AJA Kona 4, BMD Intensity Pro 4K, Win 10
GrassValley_PS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2015, 02:51 PM   #5
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,451
Default

Plus, Workgroup was designed to 'optimize' peformance with dual processors....which you have.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2015, 03:23 PM   #6
Andrzej Stefan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Poland
Posts: 5
Default

So do You suggest to upgrade from Pro 8.1 to Workgroup 8.1 ? I'm affraid the cost is very high? I need multi processor optimalization and also audio meter - both I had in E7.5 but I don't need any of K broadcast machinery values.
Andrzej Stefan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2015, 07:24 PM   #7
Adbear
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 2,002
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry View Post
Plus, Workgroup was designed to 'optimize' peformance with dual processors....which you have.
But it can also do this with a 6 core 5820K, if you export out UHD it is quicker to turn off the hyperthreading in the BIOS than it is to leave it on
__________________
DVC Built Clevo P775DM3-G Laptop with UHD screen, 7700K CPU@4.9Ghz, Geforce GTX 1060 6GB GPU, 500GB M.2 Primary, 1x 480GB SSD, 1x1TB M.2, 1x 2TB 5400RPM Video drives, external Blu-ray Optical
Adbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2015, 08:47 PM   #8
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,451
Default

I'm referring to Workgroup, as it was advertised to work better with dual processors.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2015, 10:57 PM   #9
Andrzej Stefan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Poland
Posts: 5
Default

I don't want to be cheated - as I feel now. I have bought new upgade of my favorite editing system Edius (which I have used for many, many years - even from DV Rex - Canopus predecessor of Edius). And this new upgrade (8.1) is 5 times slower than my previous 7.5 version. Nobady told me that. Nothing in advertising like "Keep Your E 7.5 becouse our upgrade is 5 times slower" What am I to do now ? I can't even imagine to export every 30 minutes documentary films (which I do for TV ) in 330 minutes = 5 hours 30 minutes. Grass Valley must solve this huge problem !
Andrzej Stefan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2015, 10:59 PM   #10
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,803
Default

I would upgrade to Workgroup, it uses all 16cores (with hyperthreading) of the single i7 here at over 75% when exporting UHD
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Edius 8.1 slower on Quicksync than Older PC Edius 6.5 Raja Editing with EDIUS 31 11-12-2015 02:19 PM
Edius 6: Can I remove 'selected clip only' exports via perameters? BLSmith2112 Editing with EDIUS 1 07-22-2014 01:42 PM
edius 7 actually working slower shablul Editing with EDIUS 11 07-17-2013 03:14 AM
How much slower is 5.1? DMS Video Editing with EDIUS 3 05-30-2009 06:32 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:32 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.