Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > MYNC

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-28-2015, 06:18 PM   #1
jasonsilzle
Member
 
jasonsilzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 81
Default GV Browser Move Data File

Is there any way to point the library file to a specific place. I have a particular drive I want the library on so If I move that drive to another system I can bring up the same library there.

How do I do this?

Oh and can the library live on a read only drive?

I want to put it on a SAN that my team logs onto called "STOCK" and we all mount it as a read only drive. Our computers all see this drive read only as an attached iSCSI drive. The end goal is for me to be able to mount this volume read/write. Up date that library with new stuff then logg off and have the whole team get new libraries the next time they fire up GV Browser.

Thank you,
__________________
Jason Silzle
My Companies (or associated websites)
JasonSilzle.com
Dove Digital Media
SaxTraxs
Dove-Weddings
Church Videos now
Orange County Realty Films

Edius 8.2 Win10 Pro 64bit 6Core/12thread i7 970 4Ghz OC, 24G Ram, 8TB local raid, 48TB SAN raid, (2)128gb SSD in-Raid for 256gb OS Dive, Radeon 295X2 GPU & Spark :)
jasonsilzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2015, 07:35 AM   #2
jasonsilzle
Member
 
jasonsilzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 81
Default

Really??? Not a single reply, moderators can you shed some light on this?
__________________
Jason Silzle
My Companies (or associated websites)
JasonSilzle.com
Dove Digital Media
SaxTraxs
Dove-Weddings
Church Videos now
Orange County Realty Films

Edius 8.2 Win10 Pro 64bit 6Core/12thread i7 970 4Ghz OC, 24G Ram, 8TB local raid, 48TB SAN raid, (2)128gb SSD in-Raid for 256gb OS Dive, Radeon 295X2 GPU & Spark :)
jasonsilzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2015, 07:57 AM   #3
Bluetongue
Senior Member
 
Bluetongue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Adelaide South Australia
Posts: 2,197
Default

At this stage I don't think it is possible to do what you want
The Browser is Machine specific!
The libraries are on the machine that made them not on the files or directories
Have not looked for where the Browser keeps it's information but what may work is if this is copied from one machine to another then it should work
When I get some time I will try and have a look
One of the Moderators may be able to help where this info resides?

Regards Barry
__________________
Win 10HP, EDIUS WG9.4, HD Spark, Boris RED 5, VMW6, Authorworks 6, Bluff Titler, VisTitler 2.8, NEAT 3/4, Mercalli 2/4, Vitascene, Izotope RX6 Plugin, NewBlue, Trend Micro AV
GB GA-X58A-UD3R MB, i7 990X@4G, 12G 1600mhz Mem, Samsung EVO-250G SSD, 3x2T RAID, GTX 970W OC, 2x24 inch LG Monitors
Canon XH-A1/ Canon HF-G30, GoPro Hero3 Black, Edit @1920 50p HQ preset

https://vimeo.com/user2157719/videos
Laptop ASUS G752VT-GC060T Win 10HP, Edius WG8.53 Samsung M2 SSD 256G+1Tb HD,
Bluetongue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2015, 08:09 AM   #4
Drbgaijin
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Kumamoto, Japan
Posts: 417
Default

If you take a look at my tutorials on the GV Browser - especially the first one - you will see where you can find the LIibrary files

http://www.gaijin-eyes.com/2015/2015GVBrowser.html

However the Library files are only data files that point to specific paths for each media file that you register.
If you move the Library files to another computer, the chances that you have the same physical set up for media drives (drive letters etc.) is slim.

When registering to the library you can also copy the media to a specific location - but this will double up your media and require a lot more disk space.

What you are asking for is possible - but probably not practical.

Regards
Douglas
__________________
Creator of Video Tutorials for mere mortals at https://www.gaijin-eyes.com

Main System: EDIUS WG 9, Asustek Intel Z370, i7-8700K @ 3.70GHz, 32GB RAM, GTX-1080Ti, BMD Intensity Pro 4K, Windows 10 Pro
Drbgaijin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2016, 02:05 AM   #5
jasonsilzle
Member
 
jasonsilzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 81
Default Found it!

C:\Users"User Data"\AppData\Roaming\Grass Valley\GV Browser
__________________
Jason Silzle
My Companies (or associated websites)
JasonSilzle.com
Dove Digital Media
SaxTraxs
Dove-Weddings
Church Videos now
Orange County Realty Films

Edius 8.2 Win10 Pro 64bit 6Core/12thread i7 970 4Ghz OC, 24G Ram, 8TB local raid, 48TB SAN raid, (2)128gb SSD in-Raid for 256gb OS Dive, Radeon 295X2 GPU & Spark :)
jasonsilzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2016, 10:25 AM   #6
David Clarke
Senior Member
 
David Clarke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Uk
Posts: 2,712
Default

I have moved the database file to other machines and on loading the browser you get the same catalogue as on the first machine. However, if the clips are not there, or in a slightly different location, then it just has pointers to offline clips and you have to sort that out.

I don't know of any way to change the location of the database and I assume there isn't one. I have never tried making the database read only. Obviously the program wants to write to it so I don't know what effect if it will have but you can try that quite easily.

The best you could do is to make a catalogue and copy that to different machines and make sure that the media referenced is on mapped network drives and the drive letter is the same on each machine.
__________________
EDIUS silver certified trainer.
Main edit laptop: DVC Kaby Lake desktop processor laptop, 32GB RAM, 3.5Ghz i5 desktop processor, nVidia 1060, Windows 10.
Desktop: 4Ghz 9900K processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1660TI GPU, Windows 10.
Desktop: 2Ghz 12 core Xeon processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1060, BM Intensity Pro, Windows 10
David Clarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > MYNC
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best way to use GV Browser roxynik MYNC 7 07-19-2015 01:45 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:26 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.