Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-19-2013, 08:53 PM   #1
Tobe
Senior Member
 
Tobe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Glenford, NY
Posts: 979
Default USB 3 external drives

For some years i've been happily editing with firewire external drives. Now that USB 3 drives are flooding the market and fewer firewire options are available, does anyone have comments on whether or not USB3 will be adequate for 1440x1080 edit sessions? any recommendations for external 2 TB drives? and, will Edius (Win 7) recognized 4TB USB drives, or only see 2TB of the drive? Or should I stick with a Fantom 2 TB 7200 RPM Professional quad input drive?
__________________
Documentaries and Art Projects
Hudson Valley, NY

i7 8700K @ 3.70 Ghz/16 gb RAM
windows 10
284 gb SSD boot drive
1 TB work disc
2TB storage disc
EDIUS 9.31
Many external project hard drives
Tobe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 09:47 PM   #2
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,483
Default

Tobe, your system should see the 3 tb or 4 tb drives. I have an X58 system with a 3 tb external USB 3.0 installed. I use it for storage and not editing.
The bios should be new enough, being that it is a Z68, to recognize the drive.

Speed would be determined by how many items are shared on the USB 3.0 bus as well as what is shared by the computer resources. This includes installed cards, SATA ports, etc. Speed of the drive used and the drive space available will also be determining factors in the speed.

This should help for general info:
http://www.pcworld.com/article/23508...rd_drives.html
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 01:49 PM   #3
David Clarke
Senior Member
 
David Clarke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Uk
Posts: 2,712
Default

I have had some issues with some USB3 raid boxes and external drives and some USB3 chipsets. Our 2011 pin motherboard has an etron chipset which has been fairly rubbish and if I plug in a RAID box it will drop out all the time. I put a renasas chipset card in the machine which solved this and now we will sell an extra USB3 card with every 2011 pin system.

Intel chipsets are generally ok, but I have also had problems sometimes with some drives connecting the drive to a front mounted socket on a PC, which is then connected to the actual motherboard using a loop through cable (the cable goes from the front socket, out the back of the case and plugs into the motherboard). If plugged directly into the back, the drive works; if plugged into the front socket with the loop through it drops out a lot.

Once a drive works they are nice and fast and I edit HD footage on them (normally AVCHD, sometimes GV Hq or Avid DNxHD).
__________________
EDIUS silver certified trainer.
Main edit laptop: DVC Kaby Lake desktop processor laptop, 32GB RAM, 3.5Ghz i5 desktop processor, nVidia 1060, Windows 10.
Desktop: 4Ghz 9900K processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1660TI GPU, Windows 10.
Desktop: 2Ghz 12 core Xeon processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1060, BM Intensity Pro, Windows 10
David Clarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 08:16 PM   #4
Tobe
Senior Member
 
Tobe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Glenford, NY
Posts: 979
Default

thanks for all the info, experiences and thoughts.
__________________
Documentaries and Art Projects
Hudson Valley, NY

i7 8700K @ 3.70 Ghz/16 gb RAM
windows 10
284 gb SSD boot drive
1 TB work disc
2TB storage disc
EDIUS 9.31
Many external project hard drives
Tobe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 09:47 PM   #5
THoff
Senior Member
 
THoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California, USA
Posts: 2,571
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Clarke View Post
If plugged directly into the back, the drive works; if plugged into the front socket with the loop through it drops out a lot.
You might need a better, shielded cable. I suspect you are picking up noise from the CPU and GPU.
THoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 01:17 AM   #6
Jeff Chandler
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 401
Default

I've been editing full HD from USB 2 drives without any issues for a long time now, so USB 3 should work really well.
__________________
Jeff Chandler
High School Broadcast Adviser
Freelance videographer & editor
Jeff Chandler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 07:49 AM   #7
Adbear
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 2,002
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by THoff View Post
You might need a better, shielded cable. I suspect you are picking up noise from the CPU and GPU.
I have some of the equipment he's referring to and the cables are built into the case, so no real way of changing them. I've had long discussions with David about this and helped with testing out some of the USB 3 devices. You can take the same case and put in a Z77 or Z87 motherboard and that works really well, but install the 2011 pin board and use the onboard USB 3 and it has issues. It's not just internally, if you use a longer external cable plugged in through the back (over 2M) then it also drops out on the 2011 USB 3 controller, take the same drive and cable plugged into a Z77 or Z87 and it works flawlessly. But if you put in a third party USB 3 card and use the same drive etc that works fine, and I even connected the case sockets to the third party card and they worked too.
One thing I would point out though is the board David is referring to uses a Fresco logic not an Etron controller, though with the amount of testing he did I'm not surprised he got confused over which one was on the board
__________________
DVC Built Clevo P775DM3-G Laptop with UHD screen, 7700K CPU@4.9Ghz, Geforce GTX 1060 6GB GPU, 500GB M.2 Primary, 1x 480GB SSD, 1x1TB M.2, 1x 2TB 5400RPM Video drives, external Blu-ray Optical
Adbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 11:12 AM   #8
David Clarke
Senior Member
 
David Clarke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Uk
Posts: 2,712
Default

Adbear is correct. I had an Etron controller on a Z87 board which also caused be problems, which I did confuse with the Fresco logic controller on the 2011 Pin. Renasas & and Intel are the two that work really well.
__________________
EDIUS silver certified trainer.
Main edit laptop: DVC Kaby Lake desktop processor laptop, 32GB RAM, 3.5Ghz i5 desktop processor, nVidia 1060, Windows 10.
Desktop: 4Ghz 9900K processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1660TI GPU, Windows 10.
Desktop: 2Ghz 12 core Xeon processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1060, BM Intensity Pro, Windows 10
David Clarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 07:34 PM   #9
THoff
Senior Member
 
THoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California, USA
Posts: 2,571
Default

Yeah, I added a Renesas (NEC) USB 3.0 controller to my X58-based editing system, and it has been solid. I have a 15-foot USB 3.0 cable that I use with it that hasn't given me any problems.
THoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 03:39 PM   #10
Andy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 309
Default

I'm working on X79 (Intel® Socket 2011) based PC's ... I too have issues with USB3 front panel connections ... but have no issues when connecting the same drives at the rear.

We edit almost all our shows using SSDs direct attached via USB3. Plenty fast, super simple workflow, super simple project management ... just wish Edius would give me an option to write waveform cache files etc to a specific media directory, rather than writing to the SSDs (which are sometimes very full).
Andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No Sound from projects on external drives ajgood851 Editing with EDIUS 2 03-24-2008 01:31 PM
Update on Capturing HQ to External USB Drive Mark Von Lanken Editing with EDIUS 7 07-12-2007 06:15 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:16 PM.


Copyright © 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.