Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-11-2011, 02:01 PM   #1
Thor
Senior Member
 
Thor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 753
Default Is Firecoder worth buying for me?

I have a simple workflow.

Mostly HD telecine capture with a Canon HV-40, Workprinter and Blackmagic Intesity Pro in MJPEG, and then edit those files in Edius 6.05, and burn to Blu-ray or DVD from the timeline.

I also do some video cassette transfers.

For the Edius Disc Burner utility in my machine, it takes about 10 hours to burn a 2-hour Blu-ray. I know - I don't have the most recent or powerful computer (Specs. below - #2)

Would FirecoderBlu be worth it for me? Given my information above, how much time could I expect to save?

Is the quality of the encoding worse, the same or better with FirecoderBlu from the Edius timeline versus the native software encoder?

Does it upscale from SD to HD any better than the software encoder already contained within Edius?

I'd rather not have to deal with more complicated workflows with additional software encoders and disc authoring tools.
__________________
Regards,

Jon

#1: Iwill DK8N, 2 x 270 Opterons, 2 Gb RAM, WinXPPro-32, Edius 5.51, NX PCI-X & HDV Expansion, ProCoder 3, Imaginate 2, Sony WV-DR9, Sony EDV-9500, Sony GV-D200.
#2: Asus P5E, Q9400, WinXPPro-32, Edius 6.07, HD Spark
#3: Edius SP with Breakout Box, Win10, Edius 7.53
Thor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 02:26 PM   #2
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,856
Default

When I upgraded to my new PC I took out the Firecoder as it was slower than the encode straight from the Edius 6.05 timeline with the i7 2600K. I would just upgrade your PC and get all the other benefits. The Z68 PC's are not expensive.

Ron Evans
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 8.53WG, Vegas 16, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 03:11 PM   #3
Thor
Senior Member
 
Thor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 753
Default

Ron,

Thanks for your advice. Points well taken.

My Slot775 processor is behind the times, even though it's a quad core. And WinXp isn't the best, because it only can "see" a max of 3 Gb of memory, even though I have 4 Gb installed.

Fear of changing the motherboard, the additional expense for new memory and processor(s), potential hardware compatibility issues, fresh installs of a new OS, all the software, etc., is holding me back.

Even though my system is relatively slow compared to many other's, everything works, and works well.

I guess I need to start saving up. I can only upgrade so often, or the Mrs. will squawk. ; )
__________________
Regards,

Jon

#1: Iwill DK8N, 2 x 270 Opterons, 2 Gb RAM, WinXPPro-32, Edius 5.51, NX PCI-X & HDV Expansion, ProCoder 3, Imaginate 2, Sony WV-DR9, Sony EDV-9500, Sony GV-D200.
#2: Asus P5E, Q9400, WinXPPro-32, Edius 6.07, HD Spark
#3: Edius SP with Breakout Box, Win10, Edius 7.53
Thor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 11:05 PM   #4
SoundFreak_HD
Senior Member
 
SoundFreak_HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2,371
Default

A new system can be build for around 1k+ if only mobo ram & proc for $600 or less, a legacy firecoder is a bit more than that, and you would still have an outdated system.
Build a new, you'll have 2 (3) then, always handy :)
__________________
Tony D.

EDIUS WG 9.5 / MATROX MXO2 LE / WIN10 Pro / LENOVO P71 Workstation laptop / XEON E3-1535M v6 / nVidia QUADRO P3000 6GB / Toshiba M.2 NVMe 512GB / Samsung 860 EVO 4TB / 32GB ECC RAM.

EDIUS WG 8.53
/ HDRX-E1 + HDBX-1000 H / WIN10 PRO X64 / DUAL XEON X5470 / SUPERMICRO X7DWA-N / SUPERMICRO SUPERCHASIS SC745TQ-920B / INTEL 520 SSD 240GB / WD CAVIAR BLACK 4TB (many) / 32GB ECC RAM / GTX 770 4GB / 2x MOTU 896HD.


wavearts / neatvideo / tmpgenc / hitfilm / imaginate
SoundFreak_HD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2011, 12:14 AM   #5
shueardm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,503
Default

I have found there is a place for FireCoder Blu in an old system. Simply take an old XP machine with limited resources, add your FCB, plug it in to the network and add the TMPGENC 5 with Spurs plugin. Now you have a great network rendering machine once you export to Canopus HQ files from EDIUS.
__________________
VIDEODESK AUSTRALIA http://videodesk.com.au
shueardm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 03:33 AM   #6
Thor
Senior Member
 
Thor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 753
Default

Good input, but two of my questions remain unanswered, if anyone has some knowledge to share...

1. Is the quality of the encoding worse, the same or better with FirecoderBlu from the Edius 6.5 timeline versus the native software encoder with the Disc Burner utility?

2. Does it upscale from SD to HD any better than the software encoder already contained within Edius 6.5?
__________________
Regards,

Jon

#1: Iwill DK8N, 2 x 270 Opterons, 2 Gb RAM, WinXPPro-32, Edius 5.51, NX PCI-X & HDV Expansion, ProCoder 3, Imaginate 2, Sony WV-DR9, Sony EDV-9500, Sony GV-D200.
#2: Asus P5E, Q9400, WinXPPro-32, Edius 6.07, HD Spark
#3: Edius SP with Breakout Box, Win10, Edius 7.53
Thor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 10:15 AM   #7
Bluetongue
Senior Member
 
Bluetongue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Adelaide South Australia
Posts: 2,197
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thor View Post
Good input, but two of my questions remain unanswered, if anyone has some knowledge to share...

1. Is the quality of the encoding worse, the same or better with FirecoderBlu from the Edius 6.5 timeline versus the native software encoder with the Disc Burner utility?

2. Does it upscale from SD to HD any better than the software encoder already contained within Edius 6.5?
THOR
Answer to Question 1
If the card is on your system there will be a "BOX" to tick to use the hardware encoder, the quality is the same as from Edius as it or the controlling program controls the card
With the latest processors Intel6 core to encode to DVD etc is far faster than the Firecoder card BUT on a slower system the time to encode is better

Answer to Question 2
EDIUS does a fair job of upscalling BUT still leaves some staircasing on diagonals plus with saturated colors can give some bleading
For upscaling (It is never going to be as good as HD) but can make some usable footage dependent on the original by using the Firecoder card via Video Master Works 5 using the "Lanzcos3" filter and the "Super Resolution" on the Firecoder, most people never notice. BUT it is very dependent on the original SD footage

Hope that helps
Barry
__________________
Win 10HP, EDIUS WG9.4, HD Spark, Boris RED 5, VMW6, Authorworks 6, Bluff Titler, VisTitler 2.8, NEAT 3/4, Mercalli 2/4, Vitascene, Izotope RX6 Plugin, NewBlue, Trend Micro AV
GB GA-X58A-UD3R MB, i7 990X@4G, 12G 1600mhz Mem, Samsung EVO-250G SSD, 3x2T RAID, GTX 970W OC, 2x24 inch LG Monitors
Canon XH-A1/ Canon HF-G30, GoPro Hero3 Black, Edit @1920 50p HQ preset

https://vimeo.com/user2157719/videos
Laptop ASUS G752VT-GC060T Win 10HP, Edius WG8.53 Samsung M2 SSD 256G+1Tb HD,
Bluetongue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 02:49 PM   #8
Thor
Senior Member
 
Thor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 753
Default

Barry, thank you very much for the clarification(s)!

That definitely helped me make the decision whether or not to get one.
__________________
Regards,

Jon

#1: Iwill DK8N, 2 x 270 Opterons, 2 Gb RAM, WinXPPro-32, Edius 5.51, NX PCI-X & HDV Expansion, ProCoder 3, Imaginate 2, Sony WV-DR9, Sony EDV-9500, Sony GV-D200.
#2: Asus P5E, Q9400, WinXPPro-32, Edius 6.07, HD Spark
#3: Edius SP with Breakout Box, Win10, Edius 7.53
Thor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 02:59 PM   #9
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,856
Default

I did not see any noticeable difference in quality for my source material. This may be different for different source material.

I never used any upscaling so have no input for you.

Ron Evans
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 8.53WG, Vegas 16, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2011, 12:09 AM   #10
Thor
Senior Member
 
Thor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 753
Default

Thanks, Ron!

I have yet to upscale SD to HD, but have downscaled to burn DVD from an HD timeline.

I will have to do it eventually, and wanted to know if FirecoderBlu, alone, could at least help.

Like I indicated before, I rather just rely on Edius, its utilities, and hardware. I don't want a complicated workflow where I need to use additional software encoders and authoring tools.
__________________
Regards,

Jon

#1: Iwill DK8N, 2 x 270 Opterons, 2 Gb RAM, WinXPPro-32, Edius 5.51, NX PCI-X & HDV Expansion, ProCoder 3, Imaginate 2, Sony WV-DR9, Sony EDV-9500, Sony GV-D200.
#2: Asus P5E, Q9400, WinXPPro-32, Edius 6.07, HD Spark
#3: Edius SP with Breakout Box, Win10, Edius 7.53
Thor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Please help in buying a video card ahmadfrhan EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 5 05-18-2010 07:24 PM
New User - Need Help Buying coach13 ADVC 3 06-10-2008 01:58 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:18 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.