Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-09-2011, 07:59 PM   #31
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,856
Default

I tried a short file with x264 and DVD architect wanted to re-encode it anyway. The Spurs output is good to my eyes anyway so speed is advantage. When I get a new Sandy Bridge PC this summer then it may well be worthwhile looking at V5 again but for now it offers me nothing I want over TMPGENc 4 with the Spurs plugin. With the promised Edius update with Sandy Bridge support we may get a fast H264 encode directly from Edius

Ron Evans
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 8.53WG, Vegas 16, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 12:00 AM   #32
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,446
Default

Mark,
Check your email.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 12:05 AM   #33
shueardm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,503
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron Evans View Post
I tried a short file with x264 and DVD architect wanted to re-encode it anyway. The Spurs output is good to my eyes anyway so speed is advantage. When I get a new Sandy Bridge PC this summer then it may well be worthwhile looking at V5 again but for now it offers me nothing I want over TMPGENc 4 with the Spurs plugin. With the promised Edius update with Sandy Bridge support we may get a fast H264 encode directly from Edius

Ron Evans
There are reports that DVDA has issues, it's SONY's problem.
__________________
VIDEODESK AUSTRALIA http://videodesk.com.au
shueardm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 01:12 PM   #34
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,856
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shueardm View Post
There are reports that DVDA has issues, it's SONY's problem.
I am hoping Sony update DVDA to fix its current issues and include pop-up menus too. I use it for Bluray as it fitted in the work flow for me exporting from Vegas with markers etc. when I first started to make Bluray discs. It is easy to use and flexible so I have stayed with it.
Ron Evans
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 8.53WG, Vegas 16, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 01:20 PM   #35
MPPais
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Lisboa-Portugal
Posts: 429
Default

TVMW has an important update: TMPGEnc Video Mastering Works 5 Version 5.0.3.29 - February 17, 2011
http://tmpgenc.pegasys-inc.com/en/do...w5_rireki.html

Last edited by MPPais; 02-18-2011 at 05:51 PM.
MPPais is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 12:42 PM   #36
shueardm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,503
Default

Update: I must have made a mistake when I tried earlier. Today I try 2 seperate attemps with VBR encoding, both time it works.
so please go ahead and change to VBR if you like.

It's fantastic, Spurs Engine + Encore + TMVW5 with Level 4.1 VBR (total control of bitrates) - FireCoder Writer Software (booo -boooooo)
__________________
VIDEODESK AUSTRALIA http://videodesk.com.au
shueardm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 12:52 PM   #37
shueardm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,503
Default

By the way - I tried one of these presets with DVD Architect (latest V5 build) and it worked. No Buffer Underflow or anything.
__________________
VIDEODESK AUSTRALIA http://videodesk.com.au
shueardm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 01:43 PM   #38
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,856
Default

I use DVDA 5.2 and the T4+Spurs, AVC VBR, Level 4.1 works just fine as I mentioned in earlier post. IF the time is less than about 1 hour 45 mins though I will encode MPEG2. I don't think there is anything different that I could tell between T5 and T4+Spurs. I use the same HQ file and let T4 encode for Bluray and SD DVD. You can get exactly the same disc navigation/menus etc in DVDA just by changing the properties and media files though I do normally prefer DVDLab for SD DVD's.

Ron Evans
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 8.53WG, Vegas 16, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 12:05 AM   #39
shueardm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,503
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by andrew_hd View Post
x264 updated- maybe speed will match CLI mode.


Andrew
I tried and it's the same if not worse.
__________________
VIDEODESK AUSTRALIA http://videodesk.com.au
shueardm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 12:08 PM   #40
shueardm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,503
Default

Added Standard Def H.264 presets for primary video Blu-ray.
__________________
VIDEODESK AUSTRALIA http://videodesk.com.au
shueardm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spurs Engine with FCB John Lewis FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus 16 02-04-2011 07:39 AM
Will Leadtek Spurs card work with Neo? Larry FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus 9 06-17-2010 06:38 PM
PC3 Bluray presets DON'T work with Encore mattmatt ProCoder 9 06-24-2008 08:11 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:13 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.