Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-19-2011, 12:39 AM   #11
swsw1550
Senior Member
 
swsw1550's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sunshine Coast,Queensland
Posts: 1,910
Default

Thats what i ran mem test and errors came up every where, when we tried new ram we still got the errors and worked out it was the slot on the M/B that was faulty, try some new ram if you can.


Steve
__________________
Main system, Supermicro X8DAH+,Dual Xeon X5680 cpu's 24 cores,2x1400watt power supplys,SC747TG-R1400B-SQ Case,192GB 1333mhz ECC Registered ram,8 x 480GB Intel 520 SSD drives,Windows 7 64 bit ultimate, GTX 670 4GB ,2 x Sony BWU300S Blu-Ray burners, 1x Sony DVD burner,LSI 9266 Raid Controller with Cache vault & fast path Lic, ESI MayaE Audio,HD Spark,Blackmagic intensity Pro,TMPGenc 5,Episode Pro 6,Sorenson 9 Pro,Alcohol 120 V2, Edius 6.53,Dell 27"LCD,HD Spark, Powershield 3000VA UPS.
swsw1550 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 12:40 AM   #12
THoff
Senior Member
 
THoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California, USA
Posts: 2,569
Default

Another thing to look into would be a BIOS update from the hardware vendor, or trying less aggressive RAM timing.
THoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 10:46 AM   #13
Dockelektro
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Portugal
Posts: 113
Default

Just to put an end to it, here's the facts:

The hardware was completely replaced by an indentical model. When I started using it - Bang! - bluescreen!


Turns out there's a problem with the firewire input. I had a Presonus Firebox connected to it, and there was no problem until I plugged it in. Have no choice but to use it in the other workstation (Hd Storm, which works fine).

I didn't remember it, but had a blue screen when I tried using the firewire connection to transfer data, and never ocurred to me that it might have something to do with it.

And that's that. Hope the problem's solved.
Dockelektro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 10:50 AM   #14
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,793
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dockelektro View Post
Just to put an end to it, here's the facts:

The hardware was completely replaced by an indentical model. When I started using it - Bang! - bluescreen!


Turns out there's a problem with the firewire input. I had a Presonus Firebox connected to it, and there was no problem until I plugged it in. Have no choice but to use it in the other workstation (Hd Storm, which works fine).

I didn't remember it, but had a blue screen when I tried using the firewire connection to transfer data, and never ocurred to me that it might have something to do with it.

And that's that. Hope the problem's solved.
maybe you are bitten by this, in that case, a 60 sec fix
http://www.videoproductions.com.au/h...re-driver.html
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 10:53 AM   #15
SoundFreak
Banned
 
SoundFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Borneo, Malaysia
Posts: 2,298
Default

I'm sure that m$ is causing grieve here and there with this FireWire 800 stupidity !
SoundFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 04:05 PM   #16
Bassman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,392
Default

Fwiw, I have stopped using my Firewire800 devices and gone down to FW400 or USB on them because they just plain did not work with Windows 7. They were fine with XP.
Bassman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 11:41 PM   #17
SoundFreak
Banned
 
SoundFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Borneo, Malaysia
Posts: 2,298
Default

So far win7 has been playing Nice with my FireWire devices, of course only once reverted to legacy driver.
I still wonder what device that M$ tested and found working with their new driver, it almost looks that they designed it without testing and just incorporate it in windows for the fun of it.
SoundFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 02:35 PM   #18
Dockelektro
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Portugal
Posts: 113
Default

Ok bad news.
So, the machine was competely replaced.
The firewire device has been unplugged for good.

Guess what? Another bluescreen.
The only thing in common with the last machine I had was having a certain EDIUS project open, and this project has nothing special about it.
Dockelektro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 10:45 PM   #19
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,793
Default

Edius can't give you a BSOD unless you have Canopus hardware that has the wrong driver or faulty driver or faulty card

which is your mobo? how many memory sticks inserted and which slots are they in?
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 07:15 PM   #20
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

Given that the machine was replaced by an identical model, it still could point to a driver conflict, BIOS issue, or an issue with its "standard" hardware.

Try the project on a different model machine, even a laptop would suffice.
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:19 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.