Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-15-2010, 09:14 PM   #1
zvit
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,142
Default E5.51 not seeing FCB

Just purchased FCB at work. Computer installed it fine (drivers from included disk) and I installed it on PCI x16 as required. I have Windows 7 x64 and it is recognized in the device manager. FIRECODER WRITER 1.11 opens fine. I also restarted the computer and EDIUS 5.51.

I have Gigabyte EX58-EXTREME Motherboard.

FCB is not showing up in the H.264\AVC and yes, the "enable conversion" is checked. (Included images).

What's wrong?

UPDATE:
I tried to "save to movie" from FireCoder Writer software but when I clicked "save" I got an error saying "failed to initiate the hardware".
Attached Images
File Type: jpg FCB01.JPG (59.8 KB, 15 views)
File Type: jpg FCB02.JPG (20.0 KB, 18 views)
__________________
Gigabyte Z77X-UP4 TH, Intel Core i7 3770k 3.5GHz, 4 Core, 8 Threads, 32GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 2GB, 500GB SSD HDD for OS, 20 Gigabytes Usable Hard Drive Capacity, Window 7 Ultimate 64-bit Edius 8.53 WORKSTATION...

Last edited by zvit; 12-15-2010 at 09:32 PM.
zvit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2010, 09:31 PM   #2
Claire
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 774
Default

Hi Zvit, I'm afraid FCB is picky about the motherboard, I was lucky and knew about this before I built this present machine, it was David from DVC who wrote on here with the few mbo's he found it worked on so hence I have used the Asus P6T for my build, see my sig.

Hopefully someone with up to date knowledge can help.
__________________
Claire

Edius 8.53 Workgroup, DVC Built i7 5960X 8 core Haswell-E Unlocked, Win10 Pro 64 bit, Gigabyte GA-X99-UD4, 32GB DDR4 RAM, GTX 980 Ti 6GB, Decklink 4K Extreme 12G, TMPGEnc Movie Plug-in AVC, Eizo 31" ColorEdge CG319X HDR 4K monitor
Claire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2010, 09:33 PM   #3
zvit
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,142
Default

My computer dealer is a certified Canopus dealer and we buy all of our canopus and Edius products from him. He said my board supports FCB. It's almost midnight so I can't ask him but I thought to ask here before I call him tomorrow.
__________________
Gigabyte Z77X-UP4 TH, Intel Core i7 3770k 3.5GHz, 4 Core, 8 Threads, 32GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 2GB, 500GB SSD HDD for OS, 20 Gigabytes Usable Hard Drive Capacity, Window 7 Ultimate 64-bit Edius 8.53 WORKSTATION...
zvit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2010, 09:39 PM   #4
Claire
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 774
Default

Did you try searching these forums for that mbo? Perhaps Mark(sheardm) knows something, he's always a step ahead.

Hope you get it going, I love mine, export 22Mb/sec h264 straight from timeline very quickly, no need for FC Writer.
__________________
Claire

Edius 8.53 Workgroup, DVC Built i7 5960X 8 core Haswell-E Unlocked, Win10 Pro 64 bit, Gigabyte GA-X99-UD4, 32GB DDR4 RAM, GTX 980 Ti 6GB, Decklink 4K Extreme 12G, TMPGEnc Movie Plug-in AVC, Eizo 31" ColorEdge CG319X HDR 4K monitor
Claire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2010, 09:47 PM   #5
Claire
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 774
Default

This is what I see...
Attached Images
File Type: png claires FCB plugin.png (16.7 KB, 32 views)
__________________
Claire

Edius 8.53 Workgroup, DVC Built i7 5960X 8 core Haswell-E Unlocked, Win10 Pro 64 bit, Gigabyte GA-X99-UD4, 32GB DDR4 RAM, GTX 980 Ti 6GB, Decklink 4K Extreme 12G, TMPGEnc Movie Plug-in AVC, Eizo 31" ColorEdge CG319X HDR 4K monitor
Claire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2010, 09:49 PM   #6
zvit
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,142
Default

And I see that even though it says it will work on slots x1, x4, x8 and x16... on MY motherboard it will only work on 1.
http://ediusforum.grassvalley.com/fo...ht=EX58&page=2

My question is, I have a gigabyte cooling system connected to that first slot. I want to know if I can move that to another slot so I can put the FCB on that one.
__________________
Gigabyte Z77X-UP4 TH, Intel Core i7 3770k 3.5GHz, 4 Core, 8 Threads, 32GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 2GB, 500GB SSD HDD for OS, 20 Gigabytes Usable Hard Drive Capacity, Window 7 Ultimate 64-bit Edius 8.53 WORKSTATION...
zvit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2010, 05:30 AM   #7
NakedEye
Senior Member
 
NakedEye's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,569
Default

Not much help I am afraid.. I dont know what cooling system you are refering to, can you elaborate....however FCB for the most part only working in 1 x PCIE slots with X58 motherboards has been well documented since shortly after it was released, I am surprised your dealer did not know this.

Best

Dave.
__________________
Main Editor - Edius 8.53 AdobeCC Mini Monitor 4K Intel X99P SLI Intel Core i7 6800K CPU Gigabyte GTX980 SanDisk Ultra Video SSD 1XINTEL System SSD 16GB Kingston DDR4 2400 RAM VisTitle 2.8 Onboard Sound 10GBE LAN WIN10Pro 64bit

Encoding - Gigabyte Z97X Gaming GT Intel 4790K CPU Gigabyte GTX550Ti Gigabyte GTX980 Western Digital HDD's LG Blu-ray drive, 16GB Kingston DDR3 1600 RAM BMD Mini Monitor 4K Edius 8.53 Creative Cloud Win 10 64bit Pro
www.nakedeyedv.com
NakedEye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2010, 07:42 AM   #8
zvit
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,142
Default

The cooling system you can see here: (Second picture)
http://benchmarkreviews.com/index.ph...1&limitstart=8
__________________
Gigabyte Z77X-UP4 TH, Intel Core i7 3770k 3.5GHz, 4 Core, 8 Threads, 32GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 2GB, 500GB SSD HDD for OS, 20 Gigabytes Usable Hard Drive Capacity, Window 7 Ultimate 64-bit Edius 8.53 WORKSTATION...
zvit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2010, 08:16 AM   #9
NakedEye
Senior Member
 
NakedEye's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,569
Default

Hi zvit

We use Intel's DX58SO in our builds and these have no such contraptions for cooling....a well ventilated case and environment should be all you need to keep things cool (presumably your not overclocking). However I dont think that your FCB will fit even after this contraption is removed as the main cooling system looks to not give the clearence needed for a longer card in this slot.

Sorry to not be of much help.

Dave.
__________________
Main Editor - Edius 8.53 AdobeCC Mini Monitor 4K Intel X99P SLI Intel Core i7 6800K CPU Gigabyte GTX980 SanDisk Ultra Video SSD 1XINTEL System SSD 16GB Kingston DDR4 2400 RAM VisTitle 2.8 Onboard Sound 10GBE LAN WIN10Pro 64bit

Encoding - Gigabyte Z97X Gaming GT Intel 4790K CPU Gigabyte GTX550Ti Gigabyte GTX980 Western Digital HDD's LG Blu-ray drive, 16GB Kingston DDR3 1600 RAM BMD Mini Monitor 4K Edius 8.53 Creative Cloud Win 10 64bit Pro
www.nakedeyedv.com
NakedEye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2010, 04:18 PM   #10
zvit
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,142
Default

NakedEye, you are right. Even the main cooling system blocks the PCIEX1 by a few millimeters. I just ordered a pci express raiser to make the PCIe higher and then the card should fit. I was told by one guy that this raiser is only for home media systems and will not help me but I was told by another that it will only NOt work for graphic cards but should work with the FCB. It's only $10 so I ordered it and should be getting it by Monday. I will let you know if it helped.
__________________
Gigabyte Z77X-UP4 TH, Intel Core i7 3770k 3.5GHz, 4 Core, 8 Threads, 32GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 2GB, 500GB SSD HDD for OS, 20 Gigabytes Usable Hard Drive Capacity, Window 7 Ultimate 64-bit Edius 8.53 WORKSTATION...
zvit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
E5.51 problem: custom filter presets gone after crash?! Zorro Editing with EDIUS 3 11-30-2010 12:45 PM
FCB:FCB regularly produces write errors with todays media Crespel FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus 14 08-03-2010 02:35 AM
Would you buy FCB? paulbasile FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus 24 05-18-2010 11:14 AM
FCB and win 7 UlfLaursen EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 5 01-12-2010 03:44 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:18 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.