Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-02-2010, 08:27 AM   #1
lonny
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: dallas, tx
Posts: 40
Default buffer size

im editing w/E5 OHCI and can get a max of 128 on the buffer. how much more will i get with the spark card?
im finding 128 gives me 2 layers of video but once i add 3d pip forget it. not sure about the video filters
lonny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2010, 11:34 AM   #2
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,483
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lonny View Post
im editing w/E5 OHCI and can get a max of 128 on the buffer. how much more will i get with the spark card?
im finding 128 gives me 2 layers of video but once i add 3d pip forget it. not sure about the video filters
Are you saying you have 128 buffer frames or that it is set to 128.
If you are editing in a full 1920x1080 with 512 set for buffer frames then that is the max. It will read on the bottom of your editing screen between 127-130 buffer frames.

The Spark card will do nothing except provide a line scaled output to monitor.
Everything that envolves power to edit comes from your computer processing power.
Depending on the amount of ram in your system, you should be able to increase your buffer size from 128 to 512
which will give you more buffer frames.
Go to Hardware settings>RT Buffers* and change to what you want.
512 will give you more buffer frames but in some cases will
cause instability in certain plugins.
128 will yield less frames but will be the most compatible.

If you are already set to 512 you need a faster computer to get more 'juice' out of your system.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2010, 05:59 PM   #3
lonny
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: dallas, tx
Posts: 40
Default

i have the buffer set at 512. so youre saying this is the highest you will get 128 with the buffer set at 512?
the system im looking at is the following. i would think it would make a difference:
coolmaster cm690 II advanced atx case
1 thermalta tr2 rx750w power supply atx12
4 WDoem WD Black 1tb sata 6.0 hdd
1 OCZTech 6gb (3x2) D3-1333 GXTC DIMM
1 Gigabyte HD 5770 1GB-D5 HDMI PCIE2
1 Intel Box Intel CI7 950
1 Asus P6X58D-E 1366 ATX
1 Windows 7 Ultimate 64

what do you think of this setup
lonny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2010, 06:06 PM   #4
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,483
Default

Any I7 will give good performance.
The 950 will do. They now have a non-extreme
six core chip, you might want to look at
that. Also, compare the Nvidia fermy
cards to that ati card you chose.
I
you should be fine on most items except
footage from the 7d cameras(avc-1).
The faster the processor and raid array,the
better your performance will be.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2010, 09:28 PM   #5
GrassValley_MD
Mike Downey... The Jollymon
 
GrassValley_MD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lehi, Ut
Posts: 968
Default

Please remember that that buffer is NOT a real-time component. It just shows whether your CPUs are being taxed or not.

The buffer is good for timeline playback when editing or going to tape. It builds a forward looking temp file that will be used if you hit short spots where you have overloaded the CPU.

So it really has nothing to do with getting better real-time playback as a whole. That is more up to the CPUs.
GrassValley_MD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2010, 10:16 PM   #6
lonny
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: dallas, tx
Posts: 40
Default

speaking of raid array, ive heard i should go raid 0 to get the best performance. if i go with raid 1 so theyre mirrored i wont get as good performance. recommendations?
lonny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2010, 10:50 PM   #7
GrassValley_MD
Mike Downey... The Jollymon
 
GrassValley_MD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lehi, Ut
Posts: 968
Default

Raid zero with a back up drive each night. That is what I do and it works great. If a drive goes down I have only lost one days work... if it goes down AFTER the days work and beofre back up.

That way you get the spped and the backup.

There are other raid congis but I can do 2 1TB drives in the raid and one 2TB setup to copy to. Not expensive.
GrassValley_MD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2010, 10:58 PM   #8
lonny
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: dallas, tx
Posts: 40
Default

so i would raid 0 the 2 1tb drives and have a separate one not raided to them? and then one that is the OS drive thats not raided? how big should the os drive be?
thanks
what do you think about this setup mike?

coolmaster cm690 II advanced atx case
1 thermalta tr2 rx750w power supply atx12
4 WDoem WD Black 1tb sata 6.0 hdd
1 OCZTech 6gb (3x2) D3-1333 GXTC DIMM
1 Gigabyte HD 5770 1GB-D5 HDMI PCIE2
1 Intel Box Intel CI7 950
1 Asus P6X58D-E 1366 ATX
1 Windows 7 Ultimate 64
lonny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2010, 11:05 PM   #9
GrassValley_MD
Mike Downey... The Jollymon
 
GrassValley_MD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lehi, Ut
Posts: 968
Default

I don't build systems anymore but it looks like it has a good power behind it.

The other thing that I would add to the Harddrive question is that I have the backup drive be external. Because that way if a spike or a lightning hit ever happened then your drive is not effected because it is not plugged in. Unless it happens during back up. LOL
GrassValley_MD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2010, 11:14 PM   #10
lonny
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: dallas, tx
Posts: 40
Default

would that external be like the hotswap that you snap the hd in/out of the bay?
lonny is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Increase buffer size zvit Editing with EDIUS 117 02-23-2010 07:33 AM
buffer problem jimstamos Editing with EDIUS 2 02-02-2009 10:14 PM
Edius 5 Memory setting (buffer size) Albatros Editing with EDIUS 2 11-03-2008 04:44 PM
Buffer problem rsn108 Editing with EDIUS 3 10-22-2007 06:59 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:38 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.