Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-13-2010, 02:27 PM   #1
Larry
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Default Will Leadtek Spurs card work with Neo?

Can I use an existing / installed Leadtek SpursEngine crad to accelerate Neo AVCHD 2 with Booster or do I need to replace it with a Firecorder Blu card?

Thanks for any advice.

Larry
Larry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2010, 02:34 PM   #2
shueardm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,503
Default

The plugin for FireCoder Blu does not work with the Leadtek card. Unless you are a programmer you are out of luck.
__________________
VIDEODESK AUSTRALIA http://videodesk.com.au
shueardm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2010, 02:40 AM   #3
Larry
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Default

Thanks so very much for your concise and prompt reply. Looks like I will not be buying Neo AVCHD with Booster until I upgrade to the FirecodeBlu card, which apparently works both in the Edius as well as the Pegasys (TMPGE) software.

Thanks once again,
Larry
Larry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2010, 07:34 PM   #4
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

It should be noted here that the Firecoder Blu only accelerates timeout output. Timeline playback is all CPU (and GPU for the GPU effects) based.
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2010, 05:15 AM   #5
Larry
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Default

Thanks for raising this point. I had assumed that the SpursEngine hardware would improve timeline performance as well as rendering speed, and am mostly interested in improving the editing, rather than rendering. Looks like the Firecoder is less usefull to me than I had expected. Thanks again,


Larry
Larry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2010, 05:29 AM   #6
pjsssss
Senior Member
 
pjsssss's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 4,996
Default

Edius Neo Booster will edit AVCHD natively with no need for a Firecoder card. How many tracks depends on how strong your computer is.
pjsssss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2010, 04:03 AM   #7
Larry
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Default

I was hoping that the timeline editing functions would be accelerated even though Neo handles AVCHD natively. I have a fast 3.0GHz Intel Extreme QX9650 Quadcore with 4 GB of RAM and yet I mostly find AVCHD editing to be sluggish once I add a reasonable amount of tracks, effects, filters, titles, etc.

Larry
Larry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2010, 04:18 PM   #8
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

No, timeline editing is not accelerated. Just as a side note there... A hardware codec (versus, a hardware type coprocessor) has specific limits.

For example, back in the DVRex-RT days, you could use the on-board Sony DVBK-M1 codec to encode/decode DV, or you could do things completely in software.

Eventually using the codec actually was slower because the codec runs at real-time and only handles one stream. Using the hardware made the CPUs wait for the hardware to finish.
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2010, 05:25 AM   #9
Larry
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Default

Thanks Brandon for the clarification!

Larry
Larry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2010, 06:38 PM   #10
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

Sure thing. So hardware codecs are best when
a. your CPUs are not fast enough to decode/encode in real-time
b. you're doing a lot of different things, so "offloading" the work to a hardware codec would help the other things complete faster.
c. you're pulling real-time capture and don't want to tie up the CPU
d. you're doing real-time playback of a fixed number of streams and don't want to tie up the CPU

Since each clip on the EDIUS timeline is one stream, in order to fully utilize hardware codecs for timeline acceleration, you'd need one codec per concurrently-playing clip.
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spurs Engine with FCB John Lewis FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus 16 02-04-2011 07:39 AM
Will the HDStorm card work with E4.61? msvideo Editing with EDIUS 3 06-06-2009 06:28 PM
Intensity - pro I/O card will it work with EDIUS Imagine Video Editing with EDIUS 1 01-23-2008 04:56 PM
gigabyte or leadtek? F 1 5 E Editing with EDIUS 0 11-09-2007 05:52 PM
capturing movie doesn't work with new graphics card dumbie2006 Editing with EDIUS 5 09-09-2007 06:16 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:57 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.