Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-20-2009, 12:19 AM   #1
CentralEurope
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Austria / Center from €urope
Posts: 1,688
Default Private Warning: FCB incompatible with the (most) current i7 X58 Motherboard's

Source A
in a Belgium NLE-forum with Edius-category ==> Belgium-user with FCB problems on X58 board reported his ==> phone call to UK Support

short summary of the phone call:
  • this problem goes deep in to the card
  • there is no chance to a fix / patch for user they have buy (to fast) this card
  • this problem is only aviable i7 boards with X58 chip
  • problem cause is between Spurs Engine and PCI Express 2.0 on X58 boards
  • FIRECODER Blu work right only with PCI Express 1.1 slot what is written on the box

(Note CentralEurope: but not written in the today current FCB Manual on page 7)



to sum up: there are two variant's for me and other user they have buy (to fast) this card
1) to scrap the card out of the windows
2) to scrap the board out of the windows

Source B
secret and hidden ==> the FCB productsites are updatet ==> http://desktop.grassvalley.com/produ...ex.php?lang=EN
Quote:
Hardware/Software Compatibility Notes

The following hardware and software has been tested with FIRECODER Blu.

Motherboards

Compatible
ASUS P5K-V
ASUS P5K Deluxe/WiFi-AP
ASUS P5K WS
ASUS P6T Deluxe†
ASUS P6T WS†
GIGABYTE GA-X48-DQ6
GIGABYTE GA-EP45-DS4

Incompatible
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5

† The FIRECODER Blu card must be installed into a PCIe x1 slot. If it is installed into another slot (PCI-e x16), the card will not be recognized by the Windows operating system.
Official GV personnel have imho not the time or not the courage, to to end a lot of thread about this problem,
with the words "sorry, not chance to fix it, but it is clarified"

so it needs imho a "private courage" to to inform:
FCB users they will upgrade her old board, to a current i7 x58 board
FCB users (same as I) with FCB and X58 board and the problem (witout a chance to fix)

with the listed "ASUS P6T Deluxe†" exist a second problem, but this needs a second topic......


Please, excuse my miserable english, friendly greetings from ....................Centraleurope

Last edited by CentralEurope; 08-20-2009 at 12:25 AM.
CentralEurope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 12:25 AM   #2
GrassValley_KH
Mr Sparkle
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 3,748
Default

I wouldn't exactly call a public URL (FCB product page) 'secret and hidden'...

This information was only added recently, after tests were conducted in Japan.
GrassValley_KH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 02:50 AM   #3
shueardm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,503
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CentralEurope View Post
[*]FIRECODER Blu work right only with PCI Express 1.1 slot what is written on the box
Is that perhaps only when using a X58 chipset board? because my FCB is in a 16x PCI-e 2.0 slot and works fine. Motherboard X7DWA-N
__________________
VIDEODESK AUSTRALIA http://videodesk.com.au
shueardm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 11:49 AM   #4
Tomislav S
Senior Member
 
Tomislav S's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 193
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shueardm View Post
Is that perhaps only when using a X58 chipset board? because my FCB is in a 16x PCI-e 2.0 slot and works fine. Motherboard X7DWA-N
It doesn't work in my Gigabyte X58
Tomislav S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2009, 06:35 AM   #5
NakedEye
Senior Member
 
NakedEye's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,569
Default

The Gigabyte X58 boards have very poor slot layout rendering the X1 PCIE slots unusable for anything usefull....Intel DX58SO works fine with FCB in its X1 PCIE slots though not in the X4 or X16 slots.....limited to 8GB of RAM though.

Asus P6T is also useable with its X1 PCIE slot.....the advantage here is 12GB of RAM for this board.

However you would expect that modern hardware should comply to the specifications fully and this sort of thing smacks of the old days when only certain M/boards worked with certain video hardware.

Dave.
__________________
Main Editor - Edius 8.53 AdobeCC Mini Monitor 4K Intel X99P SLI Intel Core i7 6800K CPU Gigabyte GTX980 SanDisk Ultra Video SSD 1XINTEL System SSD 16GB Kingston DDR4 2400 RAM VisTitle 2.8 Onboard Sound 10GBE LAN WIN10Pro 64bit

Encoding - Gigabyte Z97X Gaming GT Intel 4790K CPU Gigabyte GTX550Ti Gigabyte GTX980 Western Digital HDD's LG Blu-ray drive, 16GB Kingston DDR3 1600 RAM BMD Mini Monitor 4K Edius 8.53 Creative Cloud Win 10 64bit Pro
www.nakedeyedv.com
NakedEye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2009, 11:08 PM   #6
balth_dire
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: London
Posts: 4
Default

None of the Asus P6T series would work either, the top PCI-E slot on them is a x4, not a x1. This has to be considered poor.

I'm disappointed as I have an HDStorm and was thinking of investing in one of these but my MB is an Asus P6T7, 7 PCI-E slots, but every single one is x16!!

EDIT - Sorry, the standard P6T does have an x1 slot, but the deluxe does not, my mistake.

So is my only solution really going to be a Matrox Compress HD, a product from one of GVs main rivals??

Last edited by balth_dire; 09-15-2009 at 11:18 PM.
balth_dire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 12:34 PM   #7
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,464
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shueardm View Post
Is that perhaps only when using a X58 chipset board? because my FCB is in a 16x PCI-e 2.0 slot and works fine. Motherboard X7DWA-N
That may well be a very valid point. So, don't get rid of those older systems with pci-e on board. You may be building an encoding machine.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 01:09 AM   #8
rando
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Newark, DE
Posts: 2,299
Default

oh well I guess theres no FCB in my immediate future:(
rando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 01:39 PM   #9
shueardm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,503
Default

I recently tested ASUS P6T Deluxe V-2 and it works in one slot only OK (the last slot)
__________________
VIDEODESK AUSTRALIA http://videodesk.com.au
shueardm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 07:40 PM   #10
John Lewis
Senior Member
 
John Lewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Isle of Anglesey, North Wales UK
Posts: 2,897
Default

P6T SE will work
leave x1 slot for FCB HDStorm and Graphic card c an use the X16
John Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Analog Capture in a X58 and Edius 5.01 system juanmo Editing with EDIUS 5 03-10-2009 12:14 PM
Incompatible discs Chris Barnard Editing with EDIUS 23 05-26-2007 01:30 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:38 PM.


Copyright © 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.