Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-07-2008, 07:51 PM   #21
GrassValley_KH
Mr Sparkle
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 3,748
Default

To show there's nothing up my sleeves..

Here attached is a tiny 10-frame snippet of a capture done with those instructions. It's just me working in Sony Vegas, with a clip that was also captured previously with Pegasus.

So it's a capture within a capture. This is a Canopus HQ AVI file. Save for cutting, no additional treatments have been applied.
Attached Files
File Type: zip pegasus_10frames.zip (2.29 MB, 31 views)
GrassValley_KH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 10:05 AM   #22
TrackRanger
Senior Member
 
TrackRanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 215
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrassValley_BH View Post
Just two quick notes...
1. TwinPact100 isn't "bad" or lacking. Just people often don't realize how bad SD video resolution is. You can't do anything more than VGA (640x480) resolution for SD video. Beyond that it gets downscaled and downscaled computer video looks pretty bad.

Since Pegasus does greater-than-SD resolution video, it has better potential.

2. What kind of cables are you using for the DVI-to-Pegasus connection? Is it a DVI-DVI cable with DVI-HDMI adapter, or a DVI-to-HDMI cable?
Thanks
1: We purchased Pegasus because we knew the limitations of Twinpact only supporting SD, and therefore SD was the underlying issue with resolution, not the Twinpact.

2: With Pegasus, we have used DVI to DVI, HDMI to HDMI, DVI with HDMI adapter to HDMI. The cables are all good quality, gold plated contacts etc, and have been proved to provide perfect image on a 60" HD monitor when used with Bluray player. We have tried in multiple high-end machines, all with high performance graphics cards (8800, 8500 and 9600). Pegasus has been tried on XP and Vista Business machines.
The results have been consistent, regardless of the cable configurations, Graphics Adapters or O/S's have been used. This makes us think that maybe there is a problem with the card itself.

Thanks
__________________
Intel Quad Core Extreme 3GHz/12M, 4Gb RAM, 2Tb Hot-swap (ARAID), NVIDIA GeoForce 8800 GTS, Edius Broadcast 4.61 / Edius 5.5, Procoder 3, DVDit Pro HD, Sonicfire Pro 5, Mercalli, Vitascene, Adorage. TwinPact 100, Pegasus, TMPro. VirtualDub
TrackRanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 04:05 PM   #23
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

I'm leaning toward it being a bad Pegasus board as well... Have you had a chance to try the checkerboard/horizontal/vertical patterns?
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crashing during capture in Edius-5 kruzer Editing with EDIUS 43 06-10-2009 09:24 AM
DV Capture Just Show Black Screen asoodmand Editing with EDIUS 0 04-29-2008 06:59 AM
Best Resolutions with Screen Capture? TrackRanger Editing with EDIUS 3 04-15-2008 11:46 PM
Disc Capture & A Green Screen? Nobby Tucker Editing with EDIUS 4 01-25-2008 09:24 AM
capture settings bdepace Editing with EDIUS 19 11-27-2007 11:59 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:25 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.