Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-05-2012, 03:50 PM   #1
e_dauth
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1
Default ADVC-G1 question on SVGA input to 720p output and aspect ratios

Hello,
I am interested in the ADVC-G1 video converter, but going through the manual I haven't found a question to my question: What image the G1 will produce when input aspect ratio is 4:3 (800x600 SVGA), and selected output ration is 16:9 (720p)?

Does it
a) stretch/resize the input image to create a full-size output image of 1280x720
b) inset the 800x600 centered in the 1280x720 output image (providing black borders around the sides of the inset image
c) user-configurable conversion?

Thanks!
e_dauth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 05:06 PM   #2
dpalomaki
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 1,829
Default

To my simple,mind, page 9 of the user manual implies you have three options; i.e., side bars, uniform stretch, or stretched side with not-stretched center area. But I have not used the device to confirm.
dpalomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 04:08 PM   #3
Proton
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: England
Posts: 76
Default

I have just tested the G1 Display Modes with an 800x600 SVGA signal, up-converting to "720/50p".

It is user configurable. The three settings do what is shown at the top of page 9 of the manual and what dpalomaki suggested.

Standard is "pillarbox" with black bars left & right, "Full screen" stretches the whole picture horizontally to fill the screen, and "Flex view" leaves the centre undistorted but stretches the edges horribly.
__________________
Proton
1: Edius 5.11 + HX-E1 :: PAL & 1080/I/25 :: Supermicro X6DAE-G2 + Dual 3.2G Xeon + 2G RAM :: 512MB nVidia GeForce 9800GT :: 512MB RAID0 :: XP Pro
2: Edius 6.03 + Storm 3G :: PAL & 1080/I/25 :: Asus P6X58D-E + Intel core i7 970 3.3G + 12G RAM :: 1GB nVidia GeForce GT430 :: 2TB RAID0 :: W7 Pro 64 SP1
Proton is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ADVC-G1 "soft" after firmware upgrade Proton ADVC 4 04-07-2012 07:00 PM
ADVC-G1 delayed until April Proton ADVC 6 03-22-2011 04:32 PM
Why doesnt edius support 720p mp4 output ? nitrococuk Editing with EDIUS 11 04-21-2010 09:01 AM
ADVC 110 -- Please Help :) Can I input/output DV ??? (without converting?) caligirl ADVC 9 03-20-2010 01:57 AM
720p output to Encore BluRay barry@bwvideofilms Editing with EDIUS 5 09-20-2009 02:23 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:01 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.