Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-04-2017, 05:39 AM   #1
zvit
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,141
Default Error: The clip couldn't be added to timeline - FCP XML import

Since I installed version 8.51.2215, I am having errors trying to import FCP XML from Pluraleyes. Edius gives me an error that it can't load certain clips to timeline. Sometimes it's just a few clips from the same camera and sometimes an entire camera and sometimes also wav audio files.

The attached screenshots are an import attempt made just now.
All footage is 50p and Edius project is 50p.

p.s. All the footage imports fine when just regularly imported to project.

Any suggestions?
__________________
Gigabyte Z77X-UP4 TH, Intel Core i7 3770k 3.5GHz, 4 Core, 8 Threads, 32GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 2GB, 500GB SSD HDD for OS, 20 Gigabytes Usable Hard Drive Capacity, Window 7 Ultimate 64-bit Edius 8.53 WORKSTATION...
zvit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2017, 05:49 AM   #2
zvit
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,141
Default

ok, I might know the problem... I first imported the sound to PE. So I think PE is not creating a 50p project. I think this because when importing 50p footage into PPRO, it creates a 50p timeline. But when I exported from PE to PPRO and imported the PE XML to PPRO, it opened it as a 23.976 project. So I will try to first import the footage and THEN the audio and will update.
__________________
Gigabyte Z77X-UP4 TH, Intel Core i7 3770k 3.5GHz, 4 Core, 8 Threads, 32GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 2GB, 500GB SSD HDD for OS, 20 Gigabytes Usable Hard Drive Capacity, Window 7 Ultimate 64-bit Edius 8.53 WORKSTATION...
zvit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2017, 05:53 AM   #3
zvit
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,141
Default

No, didn't work. Same issue.

It's just strange why PPRO is opening the PE XML as a 23fps project. Because of this, when trying to export to XML from PPRO and importing the XML to EDIUS, I can't because Edius says it's not a 50p framerate- obviously.
If I can only get PE to export it as a 50p project...

Even PE is telling me to import the XML into a 50p Edius project - which I am. (screenshot)
Attached Images
File Type: png 2017-07-04 07_54_09-PluralEyes 4.png (8.1 KB, 9 views)
__________________
Gigabyte Z77X-UP4 TH, Intel Core i7 3770k 3.5GHz, 4 Core, 8 Threads, 32GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 2GB, 500GB SSD HDD for OS, 20 Gigabytes Usable Hard Drive Capacity, Window 7 Ultimate 64-bit Edius 8.53 WORKSTATION...
zvit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2017, 06:01 AM   #4
zvit
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,141
Default

Ok I think I know what's wrong. One camera is 1280x720.
But I don't know why PPRO can import this and not EDIUS.

But still... I tried now with only ONE camera (the 1920x1080 one) and the wav files only... getting the same error! (project is 1920x1080 50p)
__________________
Gigabyte Z77X-UP4 TH, Intel Core i7 3770k 3.5GHz, 4 Core, 8 Threads, 32GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 2GB, 500GB SSD HDD for OS, 20 Gigabytes Usable Hard Drive Capacity, Window 7 Ultimate 64-bit Edius 8.53 WORKSTATION...
zvit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2017, 06:06 AM   #5
zvit
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,141
Default

I just tried using the PE to markers converter method with the EXCEL macro but also that only is showing markers for ONE cam and the audio files.
__________________
Gigabyte Z77X-UP4 TH, Intel Core i7 3770k 3.5GHz, 4 Core, 8 Threads, 32GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 2GB, 500GB SSD HDD for OS, 20 Gigabytes Usable Hard Drive Capacity, Window 7 Ultimate 64-bit Edius 8.53 WORKSTATION...
zvit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2017, 06:13 AM   #6
zvit
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,141
Default

Ok, when using the EXCEL method and an XML that was exported from PE for PPRO, it shows and creates markers for all cams. So there's a temporary workaround.
__________________
Gigabyte Z77X-UP4 TH, Intel Core i7 3770k 3.5GHz, 4 Core, 8 Threads, 32GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 2GB, 500GB SSD HDD for OS, 20 Gigabytes Usable Hard Drive Capacity, Window 7 Ultimate 64-bit Edius 8.53 WORKSTATION...
zvit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2017, 08:49 AM   #7
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,736
Default

are you having fun talking to yourself? :)
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2017, 08:54 AM   #8
zvit
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,141
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
are you having fun talking to yourself? :)
Welcome to my sad party! :-)
My life's goal is trying to hit 2000 posts before my 45th birthday.
__________________
Gigabyte Z77X-UP4 TH, Intel Core i7 3770k 3.5GHz, 4 Core, 8 Threads, 32GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 2GB, 500GB SSD HDD for OS, 20 Gigabytes Usable Hard Drive Capacity, Window 7 Ultimate 64-bit Edius 8.53 WORKSTATION...
zvit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2017, 08:57 AM   #9
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,736
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zvit View Post
Welcome to my sad party! :-)
My life's goal is trying to hit 2000 posts before my 45th birthday.
you only need 16500 more to catch up to me
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2017, 12:29 PM   #10
zvit
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,141
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by More4K View Post
Edius FCP XML handling is basic and not very reliable- this is the problem.
Are these pure cuts? No effects etc?
Just raw footage from the camera to the timeline.
__________________
Gigabyte Z77X-UP4 TH, Intel Core i7 3770k 3.5GHz, 4 Core, 8 Threads, 32GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 2GB, 500GB SSD HDD for OS, 20 Gigabytes Usable Hard Drive Capacity, Window 7 Ultimate 64-bit Edius 8.53 WORKSTATION...
zvit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Import FCP xml to edius 6 Cat Choy Editing with EDIUS 0 04-14-2015 08:43 AM
FCP XML error 2grapesmedia Editing with EDIUS 0 10-25-2011 02:16 PM
Import FCP XML with Speed change jshaw300 Editing with EDIUS 1 08-25-2011 02:43 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:26 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.