Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-09-2012, 05:01 PM   #1
sitosson
Member
 
sitosson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 47
Default Finally a pluggin for Firercoder card in EDIUS 6.5 after the long wait.

I'm really happy with the plug-in finally I can use FIRECODER card with EDIUS.
To finally get rid of two steps to first encode to avi and then through FIRECODER encode the file to m2ts file. It is a huge time saver.
Canopus has abandoned us FIRECODER owners for some strange reason.
Next upgrade will I really be sure if FIRECODER supported or I will definitively not upgrade.

http://tmpgenc.pegasys-inc.com/en/product/e5m2p.html
__________________
Tom
_____________________
SitoCAM Video Production

Last edited by sitosson; 12-09-2012 at 05:06 PM.
sitosson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 09:12 PM   #2
shueardm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,503
Default

I have not tried this but AFAIK it is not for FireCoder (or Spurs Engine), it is just software Mpeg 2. If it was able to use Spurs Engine it would list this as a feature from within EDIUS 6.5.
__________________
VIDEODESK AUSTRALIA http://videodesk.com.au
shueardm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 09:19 PM   #3
Zorro
Senior Member
 
Zorro's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vienna
Posts: 2,089
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shueardm View Post
I have not tried this but AFAIK it is not for FireCoder (or Spurs Engine), it is just software Mpeg 2. If it was able to use Spurs Engine it would list this as a feature from within EDIUS 6.5.
Mark, one of the new plugin features is:

Support fast encoding through SpursEngine enabled devices!

The TMPGEnc Movie Plug-in MPEG-2 for EDIUS can use the hardware encoder implemented in the Thomson Canopus FIRECODER Blu or Leadtek transcoding cards to dramatically accelerate the MPEG-2 output (especially for high-definition content) compared to the standard CPU encode.
*This plug-in only accesses the MPEG-2 output function of SpursEngine devices.


Zorro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 09:54 PM   #4
shueardm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,503
Default

Thanks Christian.
While it isn't that much of a benefit only having Mpeg 2, I agree with the poster, it is a third party showing up GV.
__________________
VIDEODESK AUSTRALIA http://videodesk.com.au
shueardm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 02:02 AM   #5
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,755
Default

Still has black bars and no filters. My Firecoder is in its box on the shelf. My PC is much faster for Bluray encode straight from the timeline in Edius and one needs to use the full version of TMPGenc to get a good encode without black bars in the encode. 2 pass VBR MPEG2 from within Edius would solve my problems.

Still think a HQ export and let TMPGenc full version with the Spurs Engine Plugin for Bluray and software for MPEG2 VBR 2pass is a better choice in my opinion this will do a proper encode in batch mode . Maybe a little longer but I think a better encode.

Ron Evans
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 8.5WG


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 02:11 AM   #6
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,235
Default

This is a 2 pass MPEG-2 encode with out black bars. 1920x1080.

no black bars.jpg

While I would rather have the full control of TMPGE 5, this appears to give some functionality to FCB cards. It is cheaper to build a encoding box than to purchase an FCB.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 03:11 AM   #7
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,755
Default

The black bars are on the downconverted encode to MPEG2 for SD DVD not a 1920x1080 MPEG2HD encode. I have the trial on my second system running Edius 5.5 but I assume it is the same on all the versions. Just did one again and the black bars are there on the downconverted encode. It will be interesting if FCB does it different.

Ron Evans
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 8.5WG


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 03:58 AM   #8
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,235
Default

The black bars is an Edius issue and not the Mpeg plugin. You have two choices.
One, you can change your project settings to 720x480 and then adjust the clip(s) with layouter. Or, choose 720x486 and then export it. Before Exporting
make sure the framing is good for you. The layouter method is better and you don't zoom as much.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.

Last edited by Jerry; 12-10-2012 at 04:12 AM.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 05:19 AM   #9
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,529
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry View Post
The black bars is an Edius issue and not the Mpeg plugin. You have two choices.
One, you can change your project settings to 720x480 and then adjust the clip(s) with layouter. Or, choose 720x486 and then export it. Before Exporting
make sure the framing is good for you. The layouter method is better and you don't zoom as much.
I doubt it is an EDIUS issue because I can export perfect mpeg ES or DVD from any EDIUS project with no black pillars

it is a known issue with the plugin, the full version does not have this issue
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 850 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 04:06 PM   #10
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,755
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry View Post
The black bars is an Edius issue and not the Mpeg plugin. You have two choices.
One, you can change your project settings to 720x480 and then adjust the clip(s) with layouter. Or, choose 720x486 and then export it. Before Exporting
make sure the framing is good for you. The layouter method is better and you don't zoom as much.
With either of these approaches Edius is doing the scaling removing the problem that the plugin has, that the full version does not. Also if one is using an Edius version before the improvements in the layouter then the scaling will also be poor. Quality scaling is the key to a good downconversion.

Ron Evans
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 8.5WG


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Finally installed the NX HD card :) Glen EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 2 08-04-2011 07:17 AM
Finally found Edius Pro 5 Tutorial set! jonsol07 Editing with EDIUS 9 02-12-2010 02:43 PM
Finally! Edius HD output which Encore accepts for Blu-ray kwshaw1 Editing with EDIUS 10 06-16-2009 04:56 AM
Finally an Edius .iso image! Zorro Editing with EDIUS 6 02-26-2008 08:48 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:51 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.