Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-29-2019, 09:52 PM   #31
Seemedia
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Poland
Posts: 817
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by ulyssesvideo View Post
at the end of the day.... this is a bug, regardless if it happens once or everytime.
it should not happen at all. this is why I don't use the layouter for this kind of effects.
True :) However this a Mask issue. Today I had one more thing. Mask filter lost my settings (keyframe) when I closed and opened again the Mask Filter. Something is wrong.

And another thing. When I make gradient in Mask (like Matt Scott showed) and I use PCC (or YUV Curve or 3-way) the effect is like from 8 bit (banding).

I know this is a lot but Edius must think about fixing these things. It's starting to bother me seriously. Edius it is a really great software. However, requires some minor fixes...
__________________
Pawel Chyrowski

Edius 9 Workgroup

Writer/Director. Director of Photography. Motion Picture and Sound Editor. Colorist.

https://facebook.com/chyrowski
https://www.youtube.com/c/PawelChyrowski
https://vimeo.com/pawelchyrowski
Seemedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2019, 01:06 PM   #32
ulyssesvideo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: sydney
Posts: 412
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seemedia View Post
True :) However this a Mask issue. Today I had one more thing. Mask filter lost my settings (keyframe) when I closed and opened again the Mask Filter. Something is wrong.

And another thing. When I make gradient in Mask (like Matt Scott showed) and I use PCC (or YUV Curve or 3-way) the effect is like from 8 bit (banding).

I know this is a lot but Edius must think about fixing these things. It's starting to bother me seriously. Edius it is a really great software. However, requires some minor fixes...
Edius is a great editor... no buts about that... but for visual effects like what you want to achieve...Edius is able to do it....but can be done better in after effects.
ulyssesvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2019, 07:22 PM   #33
Seemedia
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Poland
Posts: 817
Default

You're right. But I work fast. Edius fully meets my requirements. Only these errors.
__________________
Pawel Chyrowski

Edius 9 Workgroup

Writer/Director. Director of Photography. Motion Picture and Sound Editor. Colorist.

https://facebook.com/chyrowski
https://www.youtube.com/c/PawelChyrowski
https://vimeo.com/pawelchyrowski
Seemedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2019, 12:12 AM   #34
Seemedia
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Poland
Posts: 817
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry View Post
I tried it several more times and it only showed up in 1 out of 4 times at the very end of the run. Just for the record, I never said that the issue wasn't there. After removing the mask and applying again, the artifact hasn't come back again.
This is the .tpd that played without issue. How does it work on your machine?
Attachment 21052
No, I don't see any artifacts on this. But since Anton confirmed (and also a problem with keyframes) can we consider to report it for review by Edius developers? I have a lot of reports from Edius users in Poland as well. Steve?
__________________
Pawel Chyrowski

Edius 9 Workgroup

Writer/Director. Director of Photography. Motion Picture and Sound Editor. Colorist.

https://facebook.com/chyrowski
https://www.youtube.com/c/PawelChyrowski
https://vimeo.com/pawelchyrowski
Seemedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2019, 05:40 AM   #35
GrassValley_PS
Moderator
 
GrassValley_PS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 4,788
Default

As a general rule we need a several confirmations besides the person reporting it. I only see 2 on this thread so far. If we reported everything that only had a couple of people reporting it the engineers would be chasing their tails. That is why it is important for other people to test things reported here and report back. That is the one of the big powers of this forum.

We can sometimes unofficially check things but hopefully we can get a few more people chiming in.
__________________
Main System: i7 6950X OC to 4.5GHz, ASUS RAMPAGE V EDITION 10, Corsair Dominator Platinum 64GB DDR4 2800, SAMSUNG 950 PRO M.2 512GB , GeForce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, Corsair AX1200i PS, Phanteks Luxe Case, 16TB RAID (4)HGST Deskstar NAS 4TB, Corsair H115i CPU Cooler, AJA Kona 4, BMD Intensity Pro 4K, Win 10
GrassValley_PS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2019, 02:28 PM   #36
Seemedia
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Poland
Posts: 817
Default

Thank you Pat for this info. Definitely these two things are bugs. Perhaps few people work in masks to be able to notice this. It would be nice, however, to bring this to the attention of engineers because it is really a pain in the as. Apart from the fact that it is impossible to work normally (as in Davinci), you have to check every detail of the mask all the time and you cannot copy keyframes.
__________________
Pawel Chyrowski

Edius 9 Workgroup

Writer/Director. Director of Photography. Motion Picture and Sound Editor. Colorist.

https://facebook.com/chyrowski
https://www.youtube.com/c/PawelChyrowski
https://vimeo.com/pawelchyrowski
Seemedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2019, 02:34 PM   #37
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,215
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seemedia View Post
Thank you Pat for this info. Definitely these two things are bugs. Perhaps few people work in masks to be able to notice this. It would be nice, however, to bring this to the attention of engineers because it is really a pain in the as. Apart from the fact that it is impossible to work normally (as in Davinci), you have to check every detail of the mask all the time and you cannot copy keyframes.
for what its worth, it happens on 3 of my computers, 2x Win7 and 1x Win10
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 870 Pro NVMe M.2 for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2019, 02:39 PM   #38
Seemedia
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Poland
Posts: 817
Default

And two of my systems (win7, win10). And my friend's system (win 10)
__________________
Pawel Chyrowski

Edius 9 Workgroup

Writer/Director. Director of Photography. Motion Picture and Sound Editor. Colorist.

https://facebook.com/chyrowski
https://www.youtube.com/c/PawelChyrowski
https://vimeo.com/pawelchyrowski
Seemedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2019, 02:07 PM   #39
createmedia
Senior Member
 
createmedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Four Marks, Alton, UK
Posts: 1,289
Default

I drew a similar wiggly shape on the bottom third of the screen

Yes I can get two spikes in the mast soft edge generated on any material and it was on a node vertex with curve adjustment handles.

If I turn off the soft edge (61px) the spike goes away. The spike jumps into visibility at above 53px soft edge and disappears at over 100px. 63px makes more spikes appear.

Copying the mask recreates the issue on another clip.

The error only shows up in a small area of the screen moving the node away removes the problem putting it back recreates it.

Extending the node curve handles removes the issue, shortening them back towards and close to the node recreates them.

If the curve handles are horizontal the problem doesn't show but if they are angled or vertical then it does show. It also depends on the position of next and previous nodes.

Click with Alt removes the curve handles and clears the spike but clicking with Alt again to add them it reappears again if the curve handles are set vertical.

Deleting the node and adding a new one with curve handles the problem comes back.

If I add curve handles to another node and keep them close to a node and make them vertical the problem shows up in that place on the screen where it wasn't before.

The problem only occurs in a narrow band in the bottom third of the screen for me.

I hope that info helps

Mike
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Still1208_00000.jpg (41.8 KB, 14 views)
__________________
Sys4: Z10PE-D16WS MB 2xE5-2696 Xeon 64 active logical cores. EWG9. 64G RAM. Aorus GTX1080Ti. 55" Q7 1500 NIT HDR 4K TV/Storm 3G Elite/Decklink 4K 12G/8CH audio monitoring, Yamaha RXA-870 A/V. Sys1-3 EWG8 + RX-E1+HDBX1000 MIP in HP xw8600 2 x X5492 CPU 8 cores, 8Gig RAM, Quadro FX3800. All sys Fibre to central media pool - 5TB Axus Yotta RAID + QLogic Fibre Switch. Central VCR rack plus YUV & audio to viewing room with Yamaha AX1 7.1 100 watt per channel amp with 1000W sub 63" HD 3D Samsung TV
createmedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2019, 06:41 PM   #40
Seemedia
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Poland
Posts: 817
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by createmedia View Post
I drew a similar wiggly shape on the bottom third of the screen

Yes I can get two spikes in the mast soft edge generated on any material and it was on a node vertex with curve adjustment handles.

If I turn off the soft edge (61px) the spike goes away. The spike jumps into visibility at above 53px soft edge and disappears at over 100px. 63px makes more spikes appear.

Copying the mask recreates the issue on another clip.

The error only shows up in a small area of the screen moving the node away removes the problem putting it back recreates it.

Extending the node curve handles removes the issue, shortening them back towards and close to the node recreates them.

If the curve handles are horizontal the problem doesn't show but if they are angled or vertical then it does show. It also depends on the position of next and previous nodes.

Click with Alt removes the curve handles and clears the spike but clicking with Alt again to add them it reappears again if the curve handles are set vertical.

Deleting the node and adding a new one with curve handles the problem comes back.

If I add curve handles to another node and keep them close to a node and make them vertical the problem shows up in that place on the screen where it wasn't before.

The problem only occurs in a narrow band in the bottom third of the screen for me.

I hope that info helps

Mike
Thank you very much Mike! So... Pat, Steve can we report it now? Plus copy / paste destroys the mask. I know I'm annoying but I won't let it go :)
__________________
Pawel Chyrowski

Edius 9 Workgroup

Writer/Director. Director of Photography. Motion Picture and Sound Editor. Colorist.

https://facebook.com/chyrowski
https://www.youtube.com/c/PawelChyrowski
https://vimeo.com/pawelchyrowski

Last edited by Seemedia; 12-08-2019 at 10:58 PM.
Seemedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mask video Filter Haddock Editing with EDIUS 30 09-11-2017 04:19 PM
Is there a better way to use the Mask filter for this? John Hooper Editing with EDIUS 9 11-10-2015 01:17 AM
Mask Filter Question/Help Bassman Editing with EDIUS 14 11-27-2012 01:22 PM
some question about mask filter omidreza Editing with EDIUS 3 09-03-2012 11:12 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:56 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.