Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-31-2009, 07:37 PM   #1
Gaylon
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 3
Default ADVC55 Problems: Device Manager only showing "Unknown Imaging Device"

Hi there,

We have a JVC TK-C1480U video camera hooked up to record Golf swings. We run an S-Video output from the JVC camera to the Canopus and then the Firewire connection to our PC.

For months now this has worked just fine. However, now the PC does not recognize the camera at all and is showing up in Device Manager as an "Unknown Imaging Device". We've tested the cables and I'm pretty positive that the camera is OK. So that leaves me with the Canopus ADVC-55.

I don't see any drivers to re-install for this product so I really don't know where/how to troubleshoot this issue. I've tried different firewire ports, cables, etc. and still no good. Please help! Thanks!!!
Gaylon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2009, 07:52 PM   #2
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

The computer should have no knowledge of the JVC camera as the only thing directly connected is the ADVC55...

Try disconnecting the ADVC55 and reconnecting it to a different Firewire port if you have one. Also check that the power adapter is connected, if you are using the optional power supply.
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2009, 09:23 PM   #3
Gaylon
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 3
Default

So...newbie question. When things are all hooked up and working correctly, what should I see in the Device Manager? The Canopus ADVC-55?

I've tried different Firewire ports and that didn't work but I'll try again. If you think of anything else I should try let me know. I'll post here again once I've done more testing.

Again, thanks for your help.
Gaylon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2009, 09:28 PM   #4
Gaylon
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 3
Default

Oh yea, we don't have the Power Supply for the canopus but it does change from Red to Green even now. So I don't believe power is the issue.
Gaylon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2009, 10:37 PM   #5
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

It should appear as a AV/C-compliant DV camera/deck or something similar. Essentially it should "look" like a standard DV camera/deck.
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FCP says "Unknown file" after capture DV using ADVC-110 ciderboy ADVC 4 05-18-2009 05:47 PM
ADVC 50 Not Showing Up In Device Manager Nazzer ADVC 1 04-27-2009 08:09 PM
"No" problems with EDIUS capturing from broken tape recordings tingsern Editing with EDIUS 1 01-22-2008 06:09 PM
Video Filter "Original" video is black in "Target" area / "Large Preview" not working lalittle ProCoder 3 10-16-2007 02:30 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:49 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.