Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-31-2009, 12:46 PM   #1
Jim N
Senior Member
 
Jim N's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 433
Default 8 bit Vs 10 bit editing

Edius is a 8 bit based editing system (ie 256 grey levels in each RGB channel)Some systems offer editing in 10 bits (ie 1024 grey levels per channel) Where is 10 bit video really important to use or is there real any advantage to editing in ten bits.

If Edius were a 10 bit system would it slow down?

Jim
Jim N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2009, 01:09 PM   #2
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,119
Default

if you edit in order to produce for cinema release, yes, 10 bit is important

for the rest, not important at all, since you can't give anyone 10bit
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2009, 01:15 PM   #3
shueardm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,504
Default

In compositing perhaps you can benefit but in editing video it's so neglegible.
Antons crorrect even Blu-ray is only 8 bit. BTW, Australia's only real studio endorsed Blu-ray authoring facilty (Motionlink) uses EDIUS HD which is 8 bit.
__________________
VIDEODESK AUSTRALIA http://videodesk.com.au
shueardm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2009, 01:19 PM   #4
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,686
Default

Edius is a 8 bit based editing system (ie 256 grey levels in each RGB channel)Some systems offer editing in 10 bits (ie 1024 grey levels per channel) Where is 10 bit video really important to use or is there real any advantage to editing in ten bits.

The advantage is in graphic manipulation and compositing. The more robust the initial video the better the final quality will be after you have added or taken away from the video.
For most people, 8 bit is fine. I have found in gradient scenes, i.e. blue sky or underwater scenes, you can see the digital banding on the screen.
I have had very good luck with an 8bit uncompressed workflow in those situations.
Cineform has a 10bit compressed codec. It does work well.
Many of us here have requested a 10bit compressed HQ codec. With the sale of GV, I seriously doubt it will materialize.
In most cases 8bit will serve you well enough. It would be nice to have the option.


If Edius were a 10 bit system would it slow down?

If you are talking a 10bit compressed, yes it will slow down but not as much as a 10bit uncompressed system. It will also depend on your raid subsystem to handle it. If you can get two streams of uncompressed 8bit to work with a subsystem of 300 read and write on your raid, you will be doing fine.
That is why compressed formats are so popular.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2009, 01:25 PM   #5
redgum
Senior Member
 
redgum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Brisbane Qld
Posts: 471
Default

Just about every broadcast studio in the world uses 10 or 12 bit uncompressed for the same reason you may use HDV instead of DV.
There is a considerable difference but it depends on your workflow and destination. Anyone working animation or Effects would think it mandatory.
redgum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2009, 01:35 PM   #6
shueardm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,504
Default

They may end up in 10 or 12 bit but along the way it's sometimes even passed around in SD (SVideo none the less) before it goes out to 10 bit HD. I've heard of stories from channel 7 etc.
__________________
VIDEODESK AUSTRALIA http://videodesk.com.au
shueardm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2009, 03:34 PM   #7
tingsern
Senior Member
 
tingsern's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,965
Default

However, the editing system is only half the story. What about the cameras that acquire the video in the first place? It is useless to have 10 bits NLE if the input is only 8 bits. Today, I have not heard of an affordable professional level video camera that do 10 or 12 bits.
__________________
TingSern
--------------------------------------
Edius 9.4 Pro, Lenovo P72 workstation laptop, 64GB RAM, Xeon CPU, Windows 10 Pro (64 bits), 2 x 2TB Samsung M2.NVME and 1 x 4TB Samsung SSD internal. Panasonic UX180 camera, Blackmagic 4K Pocket Cinema, Blackmagic Pocket Cinema
tingsern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2009, 05:15 PM   #8
cuervo
Member
 
cuervo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Posts: 94
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tingsern View Post
It is useless to have 10 bits NLE if the input is only 8 bits. Today, I have not heard of an affordable professional level video camera that do 10 or 12 bits.
Not true! Read the post from "Jerry", above. And, the Sony EX1/3 will output 10-bit via the HD-SDI port. The real problem is field capture of the 10-bit 4:2:2 HD-SDI signal.
__________________
Chalchihuitl Productions
Sony EX1-Canon 7D DSLR-Flash XDR
HP8730w/HP8740w/Intel X48
cuervo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2009, 05:27 PM   #9
GrassValley_KH
Mr Sparkle
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 3,748
Default

This has always been the problem - cameras can output 10-bit...but recording to media always tends to be in 8-bit.

In the good old days, nothing was coming from a camera in 10-bit. That's how EDIUS was conceived - the camera's best friend. Now we live in an age of more than just camera-produced media (and better computers). And so, EDIUS will likely evolve..
GrassValley_KH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2009, 05:28 PM   #10
tingsern
Senior Member
 
tingsern's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,965
Default

I am referring to video editing (NLE) only - not After Effects kind of work. YES - I agree that banding will occur with 8 bits only ... I have seen that myself as well. Especially if the gradient used is very steep - not enough colour shades there.

HD-SDI output - yes - that's about the only way to capture more than 8 bits from an affordable camera. But, as you pointed out, unless you do that in a studio condition, outdoor field capture is problematic.
__________________
TingSern
--------------------------------------
Edius 9.4 Pro, Lenovo P72 workstation laptop, 64GB RAM, Xeon CPU, Windows 10 Pro (64 bits), 2 x 2TB Samsung M2.NVME and 1 x 4TB Samsung SSD internal. Panasonic UX180 camera, Blackmagic 4K Pocket Cinema, Blackmagic Pocket Cinema
tingsern is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I'm new to video editing and need advice on which system to go with and why. keyzone72 Editing with EDIUS 10 05-23-2009 04:51 AM
Most important specs for HDV and EX1 editing on laptop? iibw Editing with EDIUS 2 05-19-2008 06:55 PM
GIGABYTE GA-X38-DQ6 for HD editing ? zb21 Editing with EDIUS 9 02-08-2008 02:51 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:17 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.