Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-10-2019, 09:14 PM   #1
Maurice
Junior Member
 
Maurice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: UK
Posts: 16
Default Capture of Analogue material.

It is many years since I had to capture a VHS tape to my Edius 7.53 and I have forgotten how. As I recall I connect a VHS player to my Sony DVCam DSR-20 recorder which has AV inputs and a 1394 Firewire output which I feed into my desktop computer but when I click on the 'Capture' tag it is greyed out.
There must be a setting or something I have forgotten. Looking for suggestions.
__________________
Maurice R Fleisher
Maurice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2019, 10:34 AM   #2
David Clarke
Senior Member
 
David Clarke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Uk
Posts: 2,735
Default

You need to make a capture preset in the system settings - hardware. You are capturing from DV if I understand correctly - the VHS goes through the DV recorder to the computer. So you need to make a DV capture preset.

I made some videos about setting up EDIUS 9 which you can see here: http://www.dvctraining.co.uk/installing-edius-9/

In the 4th section there is something about setting up DV capture presets. This is done in EDIUS 9 but EDIUS 7 is pretty much the same.

Once you have a capture preset you can select it and everything should work. If you still don't see a picture then test it using a DV tape playing in the DV camera to make sure that you can capture that. If you can then there maybe another setting in the camera to let an analogue input signal pass through the DV recorder.
__________________
EDIUS silver certified trainer.
Main edit laptop: DVC Kaby Lake desktop processor laptop, 32GB RAM, 3.5Ghz i5 desktop processor, nVidia 1060, Windows 10.
Desktop: 4Ghz 9900K processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1660TI GPU, Windows 10.
Desktop: 2Ghz 12 core Xeon processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1060, BM Intensity Pro, Windows 10
David Clarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2019, 12:49 PM   #3
Captain
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 287
Default

And remember that with firewire the order in which you turn on devices can be crucial. I have a ADVC-300 device connected via firewire. In order for Edius to see and use it, the device needs to be turned on in the first place and after that the computer can be booted. It won't work vice versa in my case, but it might be different for you.
__________________
Intel Core i7-7820X ---- Noctua NH-D15S ---- MSI X299 GAMING M7 ACK ---- 64GB RAM 2666-15 Corsair Dominator Platinum ---- 500GB Samsung 960 EVO M.2 (system SSD) ---- 512GB Samsung 960 PRO M.2 (data SSD) ---- Aorus Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti ---- be quiet! SILENT BASE 600 Case ---- be quiet! Dark P. Pro P11 850W ---- Win10 Pro ---- Edius WG 8.53.2808
Captain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2019, 04:25 PM   #4
Maurice
Junior Member
 
Maurice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: UK
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain View Post
And remember that with firewire the order in which you turn on devices can be crucial. I have a ADVC-300 device connected via firewire. In order for Edius to see and use it, the device needs to be turned on in the first place and after that the computer can be booted. It won't work vice versa in my case, but it might be different for you.
Thanks for your response. After Dave Clarke's reply I realised I had lost system settings due to a reinstall some while back.

Interestingly I have an ADVC-50 which I thought should also do the trick as it has av in and firewire out but I haven't managed to get it to pass data through to the computer although my DVCAM recorder does.
__________________
Maurice R Fleisher
Maurice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2019, 09:25 PM   #5
dpalomaki
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 1,884
Default

Any changes to the computer or operating system since you last captured? Some automatic updates may change drivers on you. You will probably need the Legacy OHCI IEEE1394 driver; it is not automatically installed by Windows.
dpalomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2019, 06:05 PM   #6
Maurice
Junior Member
 
Maurice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: UK
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dpalomaki View Post
Any changes to the computer or operating system since you last captured? Some automatic updates may change drivers on you. You will probably need the Legacy OHCI IEEE1394 driver; it is not automatically installed by Windows.
==================

Thanks for that tip. I had two entries of the driver, both the same. I have now changed both to legacy however I have just posted more problems on the same quest.
Maurice
__________________
Maurice R Fleisher
Maurice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2019, 06:25 PM   #7
msvideo
Senior Member
 
msvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Aberdeen
Posts: 137
Default

I find capture very temperamental. Currently using Edius 8.3 on a second system with NX card on analogue inputs. Have device presets correctly set. I select a capture preset, and most of the time capture remains greyed out. Sometimes opening a previous project that capture worked i can get the Capture option to work. Sometimes this doesnt work, I reboot windows and then capture works as normal. Been like this for a long time and previous versions of Edius, upgrades havent changed and have never figured out a reliable fix other than leaving the computer on 24/7 when manage to get it working.
__________________
Mark Stuart
www.ms-films.co.uk
www.ms-media.co.uk
msvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2019, 08:07 PM   #8
trillium
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 429
Default

If I remember correctly there is something about legacy drivers that must be used sometimes for Firewire input. Another approach is to capture the video outside of Edius if you have another capture software, though Edius should be able to do this. But the use of the right driver should enable Edius. So see if you have a legacy driver for Firewire available.
__________________
Jim Willett
UAB CIRC
Dell 3630 Precision workstation
Nvida 1060 OVC, CPU i7-8700 3.7GH
Edius 9.4
trillium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2019, 12:17 AM   #9
Thor
Senior Member
 
Thor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 773
Default

What is your source media, is it VHS? I know that those protected with Macrovision will be grayed-out.
__________________
Regards,

Jon

#1: Iwill DK8N, 2 x 270 Opterons, 2 Gb RAM, WinXPPro-32, Edius 5.51, NX PCI-X & HDV Expansion, ProCoder 3, Imaginate 2, Sony WV-DR9, Sony EDV-9500, Sony GV-D200.
#2: Asus P5E, Q9400, WinXPPro-32, Edius 6.07, HD Spark
#3: Edius SP with Breakout Box, Win10, Edius 7.53
Thor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2019, 01:14 PM   #10
Maurice
Junior Member
 
Maurice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: UK
Posts: 16
Default Capture of Analogue material.

Many thanks to all who responded. I eventually managed to capture at that time however I have now run across another situation that is perplexing in the extreme.

I was given a number of Hi8 tapes to convert to DVD. Whilst I was able to start capturing into Edius it would keep stopping with a notice saying in effect "The target device is too slow". It might run ok for half hour or more or it might run for only one or two minutes before stopping. With 8 tapes to capture this became a bit, nay a lot, of a nightmare.

Because I needed to edit I wanted to get the footage on to a timeline so I ended up by burning the source material on to a DVD recorder (which seemed not so fussed about stopping), ripped that disk data into a digital format and imported the file into Edius. Talk about convoluted!!

The point is that I tried original capture using Edius to two different external hard drives both of which I have used for years and never come across this problem before....and they were far from full. Any thoughts on possible explanations appreciated.
__________________
Maurice R Fleisher
Maurice is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ADVC-100 Analogue Capture Problem wallofsound ADVC 6 02-03-2009 07:15 PM
Analogue Audio Capture BG Bengtsson Editing with EDIUS 4 08-10-2008 07:16 PM
Analogue capture query skier-hughes Editing with EDIUS 2 09-25-2007 12:26 PM
Analogue capture problem skier-hughes Editing with EDIUS 11 06-22-2007 01:22 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:35 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.