Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Third Party Products

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-17-2017, 11:23 AM   #1
George Glou
Senior Member
 
George Glou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Greece
Posts: 451
Default 50p & 23,98p

Hello everyone.,
quick question.....
Unfortunatelly I just got footage from a wedding. 2 cameras, 50p and the second 23,98p.
Whats the best way to convert the footage in order to sync it with Pluraleyes?
Finally, I suppose the project settings must be 23,98p?
Thank you
__________________
I5 4690 CPU
MOTHERBORAD GIGABYTE GA-Z97-HD3
RAM 8GB KINGSTON@1600
AMD RADEON HD 6800
2X2TB WD CAVIAR BLACK (RAID 1)
2X2TB WD CAVIAR GREEN (BACKUP)
1 OCZ SSD 128GB
Windows 7
Edius 9&8 Workgroup
George Glou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2017, 11:40 AM   #2
George Glou
Senior Member
 
George Glou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Greece
Posts: 451
Default

yes but what about synchronizing them?
__________________
I5 4690 CPU
MOTHERBORAD GIGABYTE GA-Z97-HD3
RAM 8GB KINGSTON@1600
AMD RADEON HD 6800
2X2TB WD CAVIAR BLACK (RAID 1)
2X2TB WD CAVIAR GREEN (BACKUP)
1 OCZ SSD 128GB
Windows 7
Edius 9&8 Workgroup
George Glou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2017, 12:05 PM   #3
George Glou
Senior Member
 
George Glou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Greece
Posts: 451
Default

OK. But in order to export AAF for Pluraleyes, both cameras must have same fps. So do I have to convert 50p to 25p, then import the converted files to Edius and then export to AAF? Remember I wrote that its a 2 camera wedding? I NEED to sync them, because otherwise sync them manually it will take ages.
Is there any other way, desides Pluraleyes, that I can sync them?
__________________
I5 4690 CPU
MOTHERBORAD GIGABYTE GA-Z97-HD3
RAM 8GB KINGSTON@1600
AMD RADEON HD 6800
2X2TB WD CAVIAR BLACK (RAID 1)
2X2TB WD CAVIAR GREEN (BACKUP)
1 OCZ SSD 128GB
Windows 7
Edius 9&8 Workgroup
George Glou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2017, 04:36 PM   #4
DigitalDave
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Basildon UK
Posts: 2,302
Default

I would say you are "up [enter name] creek without a paddle".
If you change the speed the audio will be faster and so it will NEVER sync***, not even in Quadruple Eyes or anywhere else for that matter.
You are going to have to use the 23.97 as is and Manually sync from the waveform. If it takes "ages" which I dont see why if the cameras are running together, better still if they have locked TC and if they dont, then put it down to experience...work all night and hopefully it will never happen again.
***For Clarification with another source. It will be "in sync" with its own pictures.

Last edited by DigitalDave; 07-17-2017 at 05:19 PM.
DigitalDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2017, 07:31 PM   #5
George Glou
Senior Member
 
George Glou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Greece
Posts: 451
Default

Without a paddle for sure.....:-)
If they have locked TC? They dont even know what fps to use and they will have locked TC? I think they just know how to press Rec & Stop. And that I;am not sure of !!!
Anyway....so manually it is...... Coffee....a lot of coffee, and I will let you know when I will finish synchronizing...it will takes ages ............
Thanks for your ideas!!!!
__________________
I5 4690 CPU
MOTHERBORAD GIGABYTE GA-Z97-HD3
RAM 8GB KINGSTON@1600
AMD RADEON HD 6800
2X2TB WD CAVIAR BLACK (RAID 1)
2X2TB WD CAVIAR GREEN (BACKUP)
1 OCZ SSD 128GB
Windows 7
Edius 9&8 Workgroup
George Glou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2017, 04:47 PM   #6
David Clarke
Senior Member
 
David Clarke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Uk
Posts: 2,736
Default

You could try something I have just used on a similar set up using Resolve. Get the free version of Resolve 12.5.6.
  1. Start a project.
  2. Make sure that the project is set to the frame rate of the project you are going to use in EDIUS - i.e. if making a 50P EDIUS project make a 50P Resolve project.
  3. Save the Resolve project.
  4. Import your clips. When you do this Resolve might say it wants to change the frame rate of the project. Don't let it.
  5. Select the clips in the bin and create a new multicamera project based on the audio.
  6. Look at the multicamera timeline and see if things are synced.
  7. Create a new timeline and copy the clips from the multicamera timeline to the new one. I am not sure if this is essential but I found that if you try and tidy up the Resolve multicamera timeline it sometimes deletes stuff you don't want it to.
  8. Now export an XML file - not an FCP XML, just an XML.
  9. Start EDIUS and import it and hopefully it works.

EDIUS won't export AAFs with mixed frame rates but it does import XMLs with mixed frame rate clips. This will fail if the original frame rate of the XML - which comes from the Resolve project - does not match the EDIUS project frame rate.

I have used this a couple of times and it worked for me. It may or may not work for you - I would be interested to see what happens.

This will all fail horribly, of course, if Resolve won't load your clips. In my case I was using a mix of 24P and 50P Gh5 clips with separate audio recording and it all synced nicely.
__________________
EDIUS silver certified trainer.
Main edit laptop: DVC Kaby Lake desktop processor laptop, 32GB RAM, 3.5Ghz i5 desktop processor, nVidia 1060, Windows 10.
Desktop: 4Ghz 9900K processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1660TI GPU, Windows 10.
Desktop: 2Ghz 12 core Xeon processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1060, BM Intensity Pro, Windows 10
David Clarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2017, 05:42 PM   #7
DigitalDave
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Basildon UK
Posts: 2,302
Default

David, what is the advantage in going into Resolve? Why not just manually sync and multicam in Edius?
DigitalDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2017, 06:04 PM   #8
David Clarke
Senior Member
 
David Clarke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Uk
Posts: 2,736
Default

Resolve can sync on the sound like PluralEyes. I have never used PluralEyes myself but I am willing to bet it does a better job than Resolve on hard-to-sync clips. My recent project was on a couple of songs and it managed to sync those.

Since it is in the free version of Resolve I thought it was worth a try rather than manually syncing.
__________________
EDIUS silver certified trainer.
Main edit laptop: DVC Kaby Lake desktop processor laptop, 32GB RAM, 3.5Ghz i5 desktop processor, nVidia 1060, Windows 10.
Desktop: 4Ghz 9900K processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1660TI GPU, Windows 10.
Desktop: 2Ghz 12 core Xeon processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1060, BM Intensity Pro, Windows 10
David Clarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2017, 06:54 PM   #9
DigitalDave
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Basildon UK
Posts: 2,302
Default

Understood.
We just did a shoot today that included a two camera interview so at some point I will try that. Incidentally, I tried Beta 14 and it refused to start so I am back to 12.5.6.
DigitalDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2017, 09:57 PM   #10
David Clarke
Senior Member
 
David Clarke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Uk
Posts: 2,736
Default

It was 12.5.6 I used as I have had problems with the beta as well.
__________________
EDIUS silver certified trainer.
Main edit laptop: DVC Kaby Lake desktop processor laptop, 32GB RAM, 3.5Ghz i5 desktop processor, nVidia 1060, Windows 10.
Desktop: 4Ghz 9900K processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1660TI GPU, Windows 10.
Desktop: 2Ghz 12 core Xeon processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1060, BM Intensity Pro, Windows 10
David Clarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Third Party Products
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
24p and 23.98p Bill Pryor Editing with EDIUS 5 03-19-2016 12:20 AM
48Khz audio - 24p and 23.98p xeberdee Editing with EDIUS 6 06-24-2013 03:08 PM
HDSpark Output with 23.98p digivision Editing with EDIUS 3 11-09-2012 09:16 AM
Importing & Editing 23.98 FPS 16:9 NTSC Footage has jerky cadence damonvd Editing with EDIUS 7 12-03-2008 01:43 AM
1920x1080 23.98p? Rusty Editing with EDIUS 9 12-25-2007 12:19 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:22 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.