Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-13-2016, 03:40 PM   #1
Rover
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 36
Default Storm 3G - SDI Out

The HDMI connector has come off my Storm 3G Board and to have it repaired is going to be either impossible or extremely expensive.

I am currently trying to connect my external TV Monitor to the board via an SDI to HDMI converter (BNC SDI Input and HDMI Output) - (Made by Synic)

I have connected this to the SDI Output Connector on the Storm Card (the monitor is conneced via HDMI cable) but I am not getting any signal

Both cables check out OK

Would be grateful for suggestions as to why this is not working


Edius Version is 7.51.55
Rover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2016, 03:50 PM   #2
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,683
Default

Did you make a new preset for SDI out?
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2016, 04:32 PM   #3
Rover
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 36
Default

No - I tried to modify existing Preview device Preset but not much seemed changeable .... clearly I am on the wrong track here

A few more pointers would be appreciated if possible
__________________
i7 3930K on Asus P9X79 WS Motherboard. 32GB RAM. Samsung 128GB SSD. 4 x 2TB Seagate Barracuda HDD (non-RAID). Asus GTX670 Graphics Card. Black Magic Intensity Pro 4k. Windows 7 Pro. Edius 7.53.10
Rover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2016, 08:20 PM   #4
Rover
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 36
Default

Device is actually called eSYNiC - not quite what I said. sorry

It can supposedly handle most formats from 480i up to 1080p including 1080p/50 and 1080p/60

The makers claim

Full HDMI 1080P supported with embedded audio, Synchronized output video and audio
Convert SDI device into hdmi output for HD Monitor 1080P display
Auto detect resolution of HD-SDI, SD-SDI and 3G-SDI for input
Support the industry's high-end 3G SDI signal and 1.485G SDI HD signal
Support PAL and NTSC with Auto Sensing



I have tried 1080/50i and 1080/50p without success

Before I decide that it might be faulty and return it , I want to be sure I am not doing something wrong, ( which I still think could well be the case)

I have been looking at the Preview Device Settings for the Storm 3G and for a start when I look at the Sync menu, ther are only 2 options for the "Sync Mode" pulldown

1) Ref Input Sync
2) Input Sync

Both indicate there is No Signal and No Sync (see attached screen shot)
Attached Images
File Type: png Capture3.PNG (44.7 KB, 7 views)
__________________
i7 3930K on Asus P9X79 WS Motherboard. 32GB RAM. Samsung 128GB SSD. 4 x 2TB Seagate Barracuda HDD (non-RAID). Asus GTX670 Graphics Card. Black Magic Intensity Pro 4k. Windows 7 Pro. Edius 7.53.10
Rover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2016, 08:42 PM   #5
Rover
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 36
Default

Thanks for replies

Yes - price is low, and agree this raises questions about reliability but before I return I want to ensure I have done everything correctly !!

On video output only "VITC" is changeable, everything else greyed out

Screen shot attached
Attached Images
File Type: png Capture 4.PNG (41.4 KB, 5 views)
__________________
i7 3930K on Asus P9X79 WS Motherboard. 32GB RAM. Samsung 128GB SSD. 4 x 2TB Seagate Barracuda HDD (non-RAID). Asus GTX670 Graphics Card. Black Magic Intensity Pro 4k. Windows 7 Pro. Edius 7.53.10
Rover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2016, 09:16 PM   #6
Rover
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 36
Default

Thanks again

No indication from the LED - it just confirms power is on

The manual is a folded sheet which opens up to about 24 x 7 cms and is just Features and Specification

Will try 1080/60p and see what happens

Unfortunately neither of my PC Monitors has HDMI inputs
__________________
i7 3930K on Asus P9X79 WS Motherboard. 32GB RAM. Samsung 128GB SSD. 4 x 2TB Seagate Barracuda HDD (non-RAID). Asus GTX670 Graphics Card. Black Magic Intensity Pro 4k. Windows 7 Pro. Edius 7.53.10
Rover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2016, 09:35 PM   #7
Rover
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 36
Default

Yes - I'll try another TV - pretty sure the one I have as monitor is Ok but you are right in making sure that it isn't that

Have swapped HDMI leads and the BNC - BNC is new (only one I have), and checks through on simple low voltage DC continuity test
__________________
i7 3930K on Asus P9X79 WS Motherboard. 32GB RAM. Samsung 128GB SSD. 4 x 2TB Seagate Barracuda HDD (non-RAID). Asus GTX670 Graphics Card. Black Magic Intensity Pro 4k. Windows 7 Pro. Edius 7.53.10
Rover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2016, 10:15 PM   #8
Rover
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 36
Default

Well - tried with another TV - nothing, so I "slightly manhandled" the converter (ie hit it) and got sound ! (the very thing I thought might be an issue)

Then went back to my newer , normal monitor which also now has sound

As far as video goes 1080/50p. 1080/50i and 1080/60p doesn't produce a picture but the monitor says "Invalid Format", so a slight improvment !

Then tried an SD Project 720x576 PAL 50i and that works OK

Clearly something is still wrong and I am still scratching around trying to think what else I can change as the settings for the Storm 3G card seem to be limited
__________________
i7 3930K on Asus P9X79 WS Motherboard. 32GB RAM. Samsung 128GB SSD. 4 x 2TB Seagate Barracuda HDD (non-RAID). Asus GTX670 Graphics Card. Black Magic Intensity Pro 4k. Windows 7 Pro. Edius 7.53.10
Rover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2016, 10:33 PM   #9
Rover
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 36
Default

Further to above 1280x720 seems to be the highest setting I can achieve so far

Might hit it again
__________________
i7 3930K on Asus P9X79 WS Motherboard. 32GB RAM. Samsung 128GB SSD. 4 x 2TB Seagate Barracuda HDD (non-RAID). Asus GTX670 Graphics Card. Black Magic Intensity Pro 4k. Windows 7 Pro. Edius 7.53.10
Rover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2016, 11:23 PM   #10
Rover
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 36
Default

HDMI cable is, like me, pretty thick

I did just try a shorter one on the offchance the other was too long, but no difference.

Looks like I shall be returning it on Monday

Many thanks for your help
__________________
i7 3930K on Asus P9X79 WS Motherboard. 32GB RAM. Samsung 128GB SSD. 4 x 2TB Seagate Barracuda HDD (non-RAID). Asus GTX670 Graphics Card. Black Magic Intensity Pro 4k. Windows 7 Pro. Edius 7.53.10
Rover is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Storm 3G Elite / Storm Mobile: Audio problem. MegaNLE EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 5 08-01-2015 03:17 PM
Storm 3G no audio on SDI capture Tomislav S Editing with EDIUS 6 09-28-2011 09:39 AM
Storm 3G Elite dies on SDI capture createmedia Editing with EDIUS 5 05-17-2011 12:01 AM
Storm 3G Elite v HD Storm Plus Khuz360` Editing with EDIUS 5 03-19-2011 02:16 AM
Storm 3G SDI capture pjsssss Editing with EDIUS 5 01-22-2011 06:21 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:47 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.